Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby pcalvert » 2020-04-05 08:54

Scorpion wrote:
Why on earth do you need audio as the root user?

Because I am logged as root.


If you really do mean that you are logged in as the root user, are you not aware that doing so is a very bad practice from a security standpoint?

Phil
“Property is the fruit of labor; property is desirable; it is a positive good
in the world. That some should be rich shows that others may become
rich, and hence is just encouragement to industry and enterprise.”
— Abraham Lincoln
pcalvert
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: 2006-04-21 11:19
Location: Sol Sector

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby Scorpion » 2020-04-05 15:58

pcalvert wrote:
Scorpion wrote:
Why on earth do you need audio as the root user?

Because I am logged as root.


If you really do mean that you are logged in as the root user, are you not aware that doing so is a very bad practice from a security standpoint?

Phil

Yes I mean it.
I really like it, at lest so far...

https://www.garyshood.com/root/
https://bkhome.org/archive/puppylinux/t ... l/root.htm
https://xkcd.com/1200/

Is someone steals my laptop while I' m logged in, they can read my email, take my money, and impersonate me to my friends,

But at least they can' t install drivers without my permission.
User avatar
Scorpion
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 2018-10-17 11:38

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby stevepusser » 2020-04-06 05:17

Sure, but running as root sure makes it easier for a remote bad guy to steal all those things over the Net without having physical access to your machine. Plus good encryption means they can't get those things from your home account even if they do steal your machine.

Your arguments make no sense. I'd facepalm, but we're not supposed to touch our faces any more.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12124
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby Scorpion » 2020-04-06 06:31

I hope that run as root will be a supported option with encryption and all. For people who want to use root.

With encryption is only the /home encrypted?
I am using it only on the other pc.

Gnome log in by default doesn' t let you log in as root.
And it does not remember the root credential (name: root) and the selected GUI, unluckily this time by default you have wayland.
Can it be fixed?
Last edited by Scorpion on 2020-04-12 16:19, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Scorpion
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 2018-10-17 11:38

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-04-06 09:42

Scorpion wrote:Gnome login by default doesn' t let you login as root.
And it does not remember the root credential (name: root) and the selected GUI, unluckily this time by default you have wayland.
Can it be fixed?

It's not broken, Wayland doesn't allow a root user by design.

Here's a thought: perhaps the developers know better than you...
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12744
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby anticapitalista » 2020-04-06 10:23

There are none so blind as those who will not see. The most deluded people are those who choose to ignore what they already know.
antiX with runit - lean and mean.
https://antixlinux.com
anticapitalista
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2007-12-14 23:16

Re: Does pulseaudio have an alternative?

Postby Scorpion » 2020-04-06 14:44

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
Scorpion wrote:Gnome login by default doesn' t let you login as root.
And it does not remember the root credential (name: root) and the selected GUI, unluckily this time by default you have wayland.
Can it be fixed?

It's not broken, Wayland doesn't allow a root user by design.

Here's a thought: perhaps the developers know better than you...

Is not wayland is all gnome that by default don' t allow root to log in.
I had to edit the /etc/pam.d/gdm-password file.
Others GUI allows root by default.

On stretch wayland was not the default option.
I can' t use yad on wayland and it does not have the restart option.
User avatar
Scorpion
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 2018-10-17 11:38

Previous

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable