mounting in fstab

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

mounting in fstab

Postby audiolover » 2020-05-18 11:03

Hello, as far as I remeber it used to work, I added a couple of lines to fstab in order to mount my NTFS disk:

/dev/sdb5 /home/moi/ntfs_files ntfs rw,auto,user,fmask=133,dmask=022,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0

Mounting is not the problem but all the files are read-only? I tried to use chown to correct this but chown also reports "read only"

What is it I overlooked?
audiolover
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-12-22 15:50

Re: mounting in fstab

Postby None1975 » 2020-05-18 11:13

OS: Debian 10.3 Buster / WM: xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 1019
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: mounting in fstab

Postby audiolover » 2020-05-18 11:23

I know that page but cannot find what it is I am doing wrong?
audiolover
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-12-22 15:50

Re: mounting in fstab

Postby audiolover » 2020-05-18 11:34

I found the solution: Windows was not shut down properly and "locked" the NTFS partitions! I told you it used to work :D :D
audiolover
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-12-22 15:50

Re: mounting in fstab

Postby eriefisher » 2020-05-18 14:45

I've heard stories of fastboot locking the disc after a windows update. Not sure how it was dealt with as I don't use windows so I have not looked into it. There is a way to correct it though.
____________________________________________
There's a manual?
Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce4 4.14
User avatar
eriefisher
 
Posts: 130
Joined: 2008-06-04 03:49
Location: Ontario's South Coast


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

fashionable