Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2020-07-03 13:32

I bought this 5" LCD: https://www.waveshare.com/5inch-HDMI-LCD-B.htm

I did install Debian 10 without GUI.
What is the right way to set the resolution?

I tried:
Code: Select all
~$ sudo nano /etc/default/grub

GRUB_GFXMODE=800x480
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

~$ sudo update-grub2


I also tried 1280x1024 but the Grub screen is messed up.

Code: Select all
~$ sudo hwinfo --framebuffer
02: None 00.0: 11001 VESA Framebuffer
  [Created at bios.459]
  Unique ID: rdCR.pRMQb3ydj2D
  Hardware Class: framebuffer
  Model: "Intel(R) VLV Mobile/Desktop Graphics Controller"
  Vendor: "Intel Corporation"
  Device: "Intel(R) VLV Mobile/Desktop Graphics Controller"
  SubVendor: "Intel(R) VLV Mobile/Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS"
  SubDevice:
  Revision: "Hardware Version 0.0"
  Memory Size: 61 MB + 960 kB
  Memory Range: 0x00000000-0x03deffff (rw)
  Mode 0x0360: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0361: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0362: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0363: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0364: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0365: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0366: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0367: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0368: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0369: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x036a: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x036b: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x036c: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x036d: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x036e: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x036f: 0x0 (+0), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0370: 0x0 (+0), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0371: 0x0 (+0), 24 bits
  Mode 0x033c: 1920x1440 (+1920), 8 bits
  Mode 0x034d: 1920x1440 (+3840), 16 bits
  Mode 0x035c: 1920x1440 (+7680), 24 bits
  Mode 0x033a: 1600x1200 (+1600), 8 bits
  Mode 0x034b: 1600x1200 (+3200), 16 bits
  Mode 0x035a: 1600x1200 (+6400), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0307: 1280x1024 (+1280), 8 bits
  Mode 0x031a: 1280x1024 (+2560), 16 bits
  Mode 0x031b: 1280x1024 (+5120), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0305: 1024x768 (+1024), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0317: 1024x768 (+2048), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0318: 1024x768 (+4096), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0312: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0314: 800x600 (+1600), 16 bits
  Mode 0x0315: 800x600 (+3200), 24 bits
  Mode 0x0301: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0303: 800x600 (+832), 8 bits
  Mode 0x0311: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x037d: 640x480 (+640), 8 bits
  Mode 0x037e: 640x480 (+1280), 16 bits
  Mode 0x037f: 640x480 (+2560), 24 bits
  Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown


Since there is no 800x480 in hwinfo, does that mean i can't run the LCD at its native resolution?
MrGlasspoole
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2012-12-22 21:34

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby eriefisher » 2020-07-03 15:20

What does hwinfo say about the monitor itself?
____________________________________________
There's a manual?
Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce4 4.14
User avatar
eriefisher
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 2008-06-04 03:49
Location: Ontario's South Coast

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby LE_746F6D617A7A69 » 2020-07-03 15:45

It looks like Your exotic display device has a broken EDID - it should report native resolution as a preferred one (then both GRUB and the KMS would work OOTB)
It will be hard to impossible to set the native resolution using standard tools, because non-standard resolutions need special timings and accurately set pixel clock value.

You can install fbset and try to set the resolution and correct pixel clock - expect many display "crashes" (not the OS -> the display device will mess up the picture if the settings are incorrect)

IMO the best option would be to override the EDID firmware from the display device with a customized version, which will have the 800x480 resolution defined in the first DTD block.
Bill Gates: "(...) In my case, I went to the garbage cans at the Computer Science Center and I fished out listings of their operating system."
The_full_story and Nothing_have_changed
LE_746F6D617A7A69
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2020-05-03 14:16

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2020-07-03 16:43

eriefisher wrote:What does hwinfo say about the monitor itself?

Code: Select all
~$ sudo hwinfo --monitor
19: None 00.0: 10002 LCD Monitor
  [Created at monitor.125]
  Unique ID: rdCR.uPEM4X6QhB2
  Parent ID: _Znp.5N34LjgNX_4
  Hardware Class: monitor
  Model: "LCD Monitor"
  Vendor: ADA
  Device: eisa 0x0004
  Resolution: 800x480@60Hz
  Size: 150x100 mm
  Year of Manufacture: 2007
  Week of Manufacture: 1
  Detailed Timings #0:
     Resolution: 800x480
     Horizontal:  800  840  888  928 (+40 +88 +128) -hsync
       Vertical:  480  493  496  525 (+13 +16 +45) -vsync
    Frequencies: 32.00 MHz, 34.48 kHz, 65.68 Hz
  Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
  Attached to: #16 (VGA compatible controller)


On a Raspberry you make the settings in the config.txt file:
https://www.waveshare.com/wiki/5inch_HDMI_LCD_(B)#Working_with_Raspberry_Pi
MrGlasspoole
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2012-12-22 21:34

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby eriefisher » 2020-07-03 21:53

This is about adding undetected resolutions. No idea if it will work on a pie.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xr ... esolutions
____________________________________________
There's a manual?
Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce4 4.14
User avatar
eriefisher
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 2008-06-04 03:49
Location: Ontario's South Coast

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2020-07-03 22:13

xrandr? That is over my head...

What i don't understand is that when the login comes up everything is sharp.
Its the BIOS boot (i guess there is nothing that can be done to fix this), GRUP and the part where it says "loading initial ramdisk" that is unsharp.

Its not a RPi.
Its a Supermicro X10SBA: https://www.supermicro.com/en/products/ ... ard/X10SBA
MrGlasspoole
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2012-12-22 21:34

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby eriefisher » 2020-07-03 22:28

With my laptop, the first couple lines of the boot output a large then it switches to the correct resolution.
____________________________________________
There's a manual?
Siduction
Debian Sid
Xfce4 4.14
User avatar
eriefisher
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 2008-06-04 03:49
Location: Ontario's South Coast

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2020-07-03 22:52

Everything i found with Google is talking about GRUB_GFXMODE and GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX

If the display is broken (EDID) there is no reason to tinker.
Instead i will send it back.
MrGlasspoole
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2012-12-22 21:34

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby LE_746F6D617A7A69 » 2020-07-04 11:38

MrGlasspoole wrote:What i don't understand is that when the login comes up everything is sharp.
Its the BIOS boot (i guess there is nothing that can be done to fix this), GRUP and the part where it says "loading initial ramdisk" that is unsharp.

This means that the EDID is correct, and the KMS works. The problem is that GRUB can only work with VESA modes, and 800x480 is not a VESA mode.
You can list available VESA modes from GRUB cmd line using vbeinfo or videoinfo, depending on the BIOS type.
Bill Gates: "(...) In my case, I went to the garbage cans at the Computer Science Center and I fished out listings of their operating system."
The_full_story and Nothing_have_changed
LE_746F6D617A7A69
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2020-05-03 14:16

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby MrGlasspoole » 2020-07-04 14:42

Image

I tried now:
Code: Select all
GRUB_GFXMODE=1920x1080
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep

Sure i do sudo update-grub2 after adding this to /etc/default/grub.

Before i already tried 800x600 and 1280x1024 but it always looks like this:
Image
MrGlasspoole
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2012-12-22 21:34

Re: Setting boot screen and console resolution?

Postby LE_746F6D617A7A69 » 2020-07-04 20:57

Obviously, the BIOS in Your device is broken -> that's not a surprise, because most of the BIOSes are broken in some way ...

Theoretically, the VESA BIOS extension should report the VESA-approved resolutions of Your display device - it usually works for "standard" monitors, but otherwise it's often broken.

In practice this means, that You should use the "default" resolution (usually the lowest one) or just instruct the GRUB to use a resolution below the display's limits.

Anyway: normally the GRUB menu is shown for 5-10 seconds, and then the default OS is booted - if this is the only problem with Your setup, then I would say: just let it go ... ;)

Regards
Bill Gates: "(...) In my case, I went to the garbage cans at the Computer Science Center and I fished out listings of their operating system."
The_full_story and Nothing_have_changed
LE_746F6D617A7A69
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2020-05-03 14:16


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable