Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Samba shares with LDAP user authentication

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
CharlesR

Samba shares with LDAP user authentication

#1 Post by CharlesR »

Hi all, unexperienced newbie here!

It is my goal to set up Samba shares and a LDAP server on Debian 10. To access the Samba shares from Windows machines, I want to be able to use the credentials of users in the LDAP directory for authentication. E.g. "Max" is a user in the LDAP directory and belongs to the "developers" group. He should be able to connect to the Samba share "development" using his username and password as specified in LDAP.

I followed this installation guide for OpenLDAP and the web interface phpLDAPadmin (I did not do the TLS encryption part). I had to manually download phpLDAPadmin, but everything seems to be working as intended, I can now create users and groups on the web interface.

Next I installed Samba and tested it by creating a new user on my Debian system, set smbpasswd for the new user and edited the smb.conf file accordingly. Also works. I can now connect a network drive on my Windows machine to a Samba share using the username and password of the new user. But obviously, that was not a user from the LDAP directory. I only did this for testing.

A quick Google search led me to this wiki page and I followed the steps in section "For Samba LDAP support" using the cn=config method because I don't have a slapd.conf file (not sure but afaik the slapd.conf is for older LDAP versions).