slow waking from hibernation

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

slow waking from hibernation

Postby morgon » 2020-10-25 20:16

Hi,

I run Debian testing on pretty old hardware (Phenom II x6) and until recently I only used the integrated graphics adapter and everything worked fine.
I hibernated via "systemctl hibernate" and waking up was usually fast.

Now I've added a GT 1030 GPU and now waking up from hibernation is much slower.

In fact waking up from hibernation as such seems to be pretty fast, as I can switch to the virtual text-consoles (e.g. via Ctrl-Alt-F2) early on but my X-Windows-session (on Ctrl-Alt-F7) takes a long time to become available - much longer than before.

So the behaviour is: I turn on the hibernated system and get a blank screen, I do e.g. Ctrl-Atl-F2 and get a working text-console, however Ctrl-Alt-F7 initially only gets me a blank screen and only eventually I can access my X-Session there.

Does anyone have an idea what that that may be or how I would investigate this?

I do not run a full desktop-environment but only run i3.

Many thanks!
morgon
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: slow waking from hibernation

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-10-25 20:40

Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: slow waking from hibernation

Postby morgon » 2020-10-25 20:51

I don't quite understand....

My system does boot, X does not fail, the system does return from suspend.

My problem is that the X-session becoming available is now much slower.

How does your link help me there?
morgon
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04

Re: slow waking from hibernation

Postby stevepusser » 2020-10-26 10:47

Is the use of the 1030 requiring more RAM?
What driver is it using?
Are you compressing the RAM image on disk?
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12136
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: slow waking from hibernation

Postby morgon » 2020-10-27 01:02

What do you mean "requiring more RAM"?

I only added the GPU, I did not increase the RAM-size and I did not notice any increase in RAM-consumption.

I am using the proprietary driver.

And I don't actually know about the RAM-compression on disk. I don't know what systemd is doing.
How could I find out?

All in all, all I did was adding the new GPU, which was detected and the drivers installed. I did not change any hibernation-related configuration.
morgon
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 2010-08-28 03:04


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arochester, ecp18 and 21 guests

fashionable