Network connection not working anymore

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Network connection not working anymore

Postby aanuit » 2020-11-01 14:21

Hi,

A while ago I installed KVM on my Debian server. This all worked well. The host could connect to the network. All the VMs were able to connect to each other and the internet. I created a bridge network to achieve this.

Unfortunately, now the host is not able to connect to the network/internet anymore.
Don't know about the VMs, they are not running and I need to connect to the host first before I can start them up.

How to solve this?
What steps to follow for troubleshooting?

This is the information I have (I connect through HP ILO):
Image
Image
Image
aanuit
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-11-01 16:44

Please run this command and post any error messages that appear:
Code: Select all
# ifup eno1

I presume you've checked the routing?
Code: Select all
ip r
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby aanuit » 2020-11-01 19:10

Thank you for your answer.

ip r.......
Image
I don't know what this means.

ifup.......
That command is not recognized.
I tried: ip link set eno1 up
That command did not return anything, no error either.
Last edited by aanuit on 2020-11-01 19:18, edited 1 time in total.
aanuit
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-11-01 19:13

aanuit wrote:if up.......
That command is not recognized.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=142973

tl;dr:
Code: Select all
# /sbin/ifup eno1

EDIT: and please try to post the actual text (using code tags for terminal output) rather than pictures of text.

Related: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li ... in_clients
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby aanuit » 2020-11-01 21:40

Ifup command returns.....

interface eno1 already configured

Unfortunately I am not able to copy/paste text.
I am using the HP ILO interface.
I can't copy/paste from that, at least as far as I know.
As soon as I can use PUTTY again, I will copy/paste.
aanuit
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-11-04 17:19

aanuit wrote:Ifup command returns.....

interface eno1 already configured

Yes, of course, how silly of me. How about this:
Code: Select all
# ifdown eno1
# ifup eno1

aanuit wrote:Unfortunately I am not able to copy/paste text.

Yes, I know, that's why I posted the ArchWiki link about pastebin clients — you can use them to upload the output and then share the link here.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Network connection not working anymore

Postby ralph.ronnquist » 2020-11-05 09:37

I think the problem here basically is that eno1 is assigned an IP address whilst being a port of the bridge br0.
To avoid that you should change /etc/network/interfaces to bring up eno1 as "manual" rather than via "dhcp".
Specifically, the line "iface eno1 inet dhcp" should read "iface eno1 inet manual".
The rest could stay the same.
User avatar
ralph.ronnquist
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 2015-12-19 01:07
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

fashionable