Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Network connection not working anymore

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
aanuit
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Network connection not working anymore

#1 Post by aanuit »

Hi,

A while ago I installed KVM on my Debian server. This all worked well. The host could connect to the network. All the VMs were able to connect to each other and the internet. I created a bridge network to achieve this.

Unfortunately, now the host is not able to connect to the network/internet anymore.
Don't know about the VMs, they are not running and I need to connect to the host first before I can start them up.

How to solve this?
What steps to follow for troubleshooting?

This is the information I have (I connect through HP ILO):
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Please run this command and post any error messages that appear:

Code: Select all

# ifup eno1
I presume you've checked the routing?

Code: Select all

ip r
deadbang

aanuit
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#3 Post by aanuit »

Thank you for your answer.

ip r.......
Image
I don't know what this means.

ifup.......
That command is not recognized.
I tried: ip link set eno1 up
That command did not return anything, no error either.
Last edited by aanuit on 2020-11-01 19:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

aanuit wrote:if up.......
That command is not recognized.
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=142973

tl;dr:

Code: Select all

# /sbin/ifup eno1
EDIT: and please try to post the actual text (using code tags for terminal output) rather than pictures of text.

Related: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Li ... in_clients
deadbang

aanuit
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-11-01 13:50

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#5 Post by aanuit »

Ifup command returns.....

interface eno1 already configured

Unfortunately I am not able to copy/paste text.
I am using the HP ILO interface.
I can't copy/paste from that, at least as far as I know.
As soon as I can use PUTTY again, I will copy/paste.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

aanuit wrote:Ifup command returns.....

interface eno1 already configured
Yes, of course, how silly of me. How about this:

Code: Select all

# ifdown eno1
# ifup eno1
aanuit wrote:Unfortunately I am not able to copy/paste text.
Yes, I know, that's why I posted the ArchWiki link about pastebin clients — you can use them to upload the output and then share the link here.
deadbang

User avatar
ralph.ronnquist
Posts: 342
Joined: 2015-12-19 01:07
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Network connection not working anymore

#7 Post by ralph.ronnquist »

I think the problem here basically is that eno1 is assigned an IP address whilst being a port of the bridge br0.
To avoid that you should change /etc/network/interfaces to bring up eno1 as "manual" rather than via "dhcp".
Specifically, the line "iface eno1 inet dhcp" should read "iface eno1 inet manual".
The rest could stay the same.

Post Reply