ALC 887 no audio

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

ALC 887 no audio

Postby dh1989 » 2021-02-20 02:21

Hello everyone,

I'm a recent convert to Debian from Ubuntu. I've been running Ubuntu and xUbuntu for the past several years so I have some decent familiarity with getting things running with Linux. I just installed Buster on a new build which has an Asus P8Z77-V LX2 motherboard running ALC 887 audio on board. Unfortunately the audio has not been working. Sometimes I get no audio at all, and some times I get a nonstop tick tick tick noise. If I play an audio file the noise changes to more of a buzz. Sometimes the speaker icon in Gnome flickers quickly while it makes the pop or buzz noises. I've tried repeatedly removing and reinstalling pulseaudio. I've also gone into the mixer and tried various settings. From what I understand, ALSA is now build into the kernel so there is no way to reinstall ALSA. I should note that in addition to the onboard rear audio jacks, there are front case headphone and mic jacks which are connected via a header on the board. Same issue is present when plugging headphones into the headphone port.

Here is some data:

Code: Select all
cat /proc/version
Linux version 4.19.0-14-amd64 (debian-kernel@lists.debian.org) (gcc version 8.3.0 (Debian 8.3.0-6)) #1 SMP Debian 4.19.171-2 (2021-01-30)

lspci -v | grep -A 8 -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
Subsystem: Giga-byte Technology Device a002
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 43
Memory at f7c10000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

lsmod | grep sound
soundcore              16384  1 snd

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: Generic Analog [Generic Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0