Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-26 20:35

THIS IS VEXING. MANY HOURS SPENT SEARCHING AND ATTEMPTING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM!

When I power up, I unlock my lvm crypt, then the boot strapping process appears to operate as normal. But then It stops and does nothing.Then there is the blinking cursor at the left top of my screen....nothing more happens.

I am running Linux Debian 9 (Stretch)

The first sign of trouble began when instead of my screen saver run, the login screen appeared.

Now the boot strapping process prints a long detailed list and then stops
There are four lines showing on the screen:
[ok] Stopped light display manger
starting light display manager
[ok] Stopped light display manger
[ok] Stopped light display manger
starting light display manger
[ok] Stopped light display manger

And below this: a blinking cursor

I am now running from a os from a live disk. This is how I am here now.

I have worked dozens of hours trying to fix this! MY LIFE HAS COME TO A HALT! I WANT MY LIFE BACK!

Here are some actions I have taken to try to fix my os:

1. Halted bootstrapping and went to setup utility. I thought that if i set the setup back to default settings that might fix this os. It didn’t.

2. Halted bootstrapping and went to grub command prompt. I was able to run some test, that’s it. I didn’t know what else I could do.

3. Halted bootstrapping and chose advance options. There were two recovery modes: 4.9.0-7 and 4.9.0-4. I had no idea which to pick and if it was relevant.

I chose 4.9.0-7.

From there, I unlock my lvm crypt. Then my os loaded and took me the the command prompt and was logged in as root.

From the command prompt, I was able to logout and login to my standard account. My home dir and its contents are there.

From the command prompt, I worked many hours (dozens) over the last three days and tried every thing I could think of. But nothing works. I am knowledgeable of the Linux Os and the command line, but not knowledgeable enough to fix my broken os.

I had the idea of connecting to the Internet from the command prompt and then using the apt-get command to update and upgrade, thinking that any broken and/or missing files would be restored. Having search the net using my live os, I found the cli commands to do this. I booted my broken os on recovery mode and tried to connect, but I couldn’t connect.

As a very last resort, I could reinstall my os from my live os, but this is the very very last resort. I don’t want to have to reinstall.

I will continue to try to make an Internet connection from my broken os and try upgrade and update (if that will even work) as I wait for an answer.

I’ve done nothing (That i can think of) that could have cause this problem. This is disturbing AND A VERY STRANGE THING THAT HAS HAPPEN! Is there a flaw, a bug somewhere? hmmmmmmnk.
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Loci.Cantos » 2021-03-27 00:34

010101 wrote:
I chose 4.9.0-7.

From there, I unlock my lvm crypt. Then my os loaded and took me the the command prompt and was logged in as root.

From the command prompt, I was able to logout and login to my standard account. My home dir and its contents are there.



It sounds like the OS and filesystem are sound and working. Is the problem that the GUI isn't presenting? Might you be stuck at the wrong run (init) level? You probably want to be at init 5, right? You get, X11, the GUI, networking, etc. Here a crib:

inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
the system in a certain run-level.

Default run (Init) level. The run levels are:
0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
1 - Single user mode
2 - Multiuser, without NFS
(The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
3 - Full multiuser mode
4 - unused
5 - X11
6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)

id:5:initdefault:
User avatar
Loci.Cantos
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-08-03 15:39

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Loci.Cantos » 2021-03-27 01:07

Changing the run level used to be a simple change in the /etc/initab file. But, I just went in to look at the /etc/initab file and there does not appear to be one on debian 10.8. The file structures for boot have changed.

/etc/sddm/Xsession has a reference at the bottom for a global X session run script. I'm not sure this will help but the command is:
. /etc/X11/Xsession

Maybe someone with fresher knowledge than mine can jump in here and help out.
User avatar
Loci.Cantos
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-08-03 15:39

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-03-27 06:59

Loci.Cantos wrote:Changing the run level used to be a simple change in the /etc/initab file.

For versions of Debian that do use /etc/inittab runlevels 2-5 are identical: https://wiki.debian.org/RunLevel

However for Debian buster they are simulated by systemd and runlevels 2,3 & 4 correspond to multi-user.target, which is a console (non-graphical) boot. So the OP can use 2 or 3 or 4 or systemd.unit=multi-user.target as a kernel command line parameter (applied from the GRUB menu) to prevent the graphical desktop from loading.

To connect from the command line use
Code: Select all
nmtui

010101 wrote:I’ve done nothing (That i can think of) that could have cause this problem

Are you using NVIDIA hardware and did you install the proprietary drivers directly from their website? If so then you'll have to rebuild the module every time the kernel is upgraded to stop this happening. It's better to stick with nouveau or use the NVIDIA driver package from the Debian repositories instead, the modules will be automatically rebuilt then.

Otherwise see https://wiki.debian.org/DontBreakDebian — did you add any foreign repositories?
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13450
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Loci.Cantos » 2021-03-27 15:29

That's a lot of good information, Head_on_a_Stick. Thank you.

Good luck, 010101.
User avatar
Loci.Cantos
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-08-03 15:39

Re: Loci.Cantos & Head_on_a_Stick

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-28 18:35

I thank you both for your replies. Much appreciated.

But...

This is all Greek to me. It will take a little time to go to a search engine to be able to understand your replies.

I will do my search and give it a try and then post what happened. It may be a little while though.

Thanks again.
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-29 14:31

OK, guys. I boned up on the boot strapping process, and now I can assimilate your replies. I will now study, research a little more, and then make notes, before I attempt this repair.

But know that I'm still a bit unsettled that this would happen for no apparent reason.

That the filing system is working and the GUI isn't running, makes sense. That's is what is appears to be happening.

I hope to hell that changing the Init will work. I want my freaking routine back. I want my freaking life back!


(edit)
I learn more on how my os works when it foals up! the irony, right? Funny how that works, but not in a "ha ha" kind of way
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Loci.Cantos & Head_on_a_Stick

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-30 00:03

I booted my broken and os and (Armed with new knowledge and the help of you) attempted to fix my broken os and failed.

As a reminder: I am running Debian 9 (Stretch)

From the command line I ran: init 5...my os rebooted. then scrolling lines. I waited for a long of time for it to finish, but it never did.
I assume it was the boot strapping process. each line look like this at the lest margin: [1.000000] with data after. I waited until the number rose to may 4 or five thousand, after about 15 minuet, before I called it quits.

I went to the "grub screen" after having press e and looked for what needed to change, but I saw nothing.

after rebooting, I check to what run level I was on by running who-r: It was run level 1 after I booted on recovery mode (4.9.0-7)

I tried to open my mouse pad to edit something (I forget what) and I got a message: Mousepad: 538: mousepad-
ERROR **:Can not open display:[148.006199]
traps: mousepad [538] trap int3 ip
7f962ec9b261 sp:7ffff5abb490
error:0 [ 148.006244 in libglib -2.0.
s0.0.5000.3 [7f962ec4b000+
112000

Lastly: I ran jouralctl -xb for the system log. I looked over the last boot but couldn't be sure what was important.

Could this be anything other than the run level?

PLEASE HELP! IVE BEEN DOWN FOR DAYS AND I WANT MY NORMAL LIFE BACK! THIS IS ALL HAVE.
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-03-30 17:21

Please don't shout.

I will ask one more time:
I wrote:Are you using NVIDIA hardware and did you install the proprietary drivers directly from their website?
[...]
did you add any foreign repositories?
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13450
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-30 18:11

Are you using NVIDIA hardware and did you install the proprietary drivers directly from their website?
[...] did you add any foreign repositories?


I'm not sure if I'm using NVIDIA hardware or not. No I did not install proprietary drivers there website

Foreign repositories? From there website? No.

I don't believe that this is the problem. Why? I've been running this os for a number of years with no problems. I can't imagine that all of a sudden The NVIDIA (if I have it) would suddenly cause problems now.

I am having doubts (having done hours of due diligents with search engines and this support site) that my problem is with the init run level.

I am now thinking that the problem might be with The The graphical display (X Window System).
What is your opinion on my diagnoses? Do you think I might be on the right track?

I have manage to get online from the cli, but I can't install from apt_get for some reason. I'm doing research now to figure it out.
But when I do figure it out, I will try an update & upgrade on the x window system and see what happens.

I was thinking about doing an update and upgrade on all packages, so as to maybe fix the problem.

What is your opinion? Am I wasting my time updating and upgrading?

P.S I ran from the cli "init 5" and my system (with the gui) would not boot. I got a never ending scroll line.
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-03-30 18:23

010101 wrote:I am now thinking that the problem might be with The The graphical display (X Window System).
What is your opinion on my diagnoses? Do you think I might be on the right track?

Yes, I agree.

Please run this command and post the returned URL:
Code: Select all
apt policy | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13450
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Head_on_a_Stick

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-30 19:01

Will do.

Thanks for your attention. Judging from your frequent activity on this board, I judge you to be a busy guy.

I will first do some more research on some cli commands before I reboot to my Debian 9, so I might not report until tomorrow.

Even if this doesn't turn out well for me, at least I learned something... at least that.

Hell, at this rate, I may be able to help others on this board! :shock: :roll:..................................... :lol:
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Head_on_a_Stick

Postby 010101 » 2021-03-31 20:31

With x11 gui in run, I am now logged into my account, after a week down and many Dozens and Dozens of hours of work…. AnD I DidN’T gO CraZzzzZy! (insert crazed giggling and a crazed thousand mile stare here)

But the problem is NOT solved. I still have a problem that needs to be fixed.

Here is what I did to get my pap login screen and logged into my account.

1. f12 to go to halt the normal boot process
2. Chose recovery mode
3. unlock lvm crypt
4. This time (for some reason) I decided to opted to press control-D to continue.

From there, to my surprise (and bewilderment) the x11 ran and took me to the pap login screen.
The last time I tried this was days ago, and it didn’t work.

The route I took to get here shouldn’t have been, so the problem is NOT fixed. Need to figure this out.

P.S while still in recovery mode, i entered in cli "x" and 'X windows'
I can't remember with command, but it took me to a black screen, not even a courser.
And the other did nothing but spit back something and took me back to prompt.


Please run this command and post the returned URL:

Code: Select all
apt policy | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io


I entered this command in the cli. Here is what it spat back:

bash: -f: command not found
bash: curl: command not found

WARNING: apt does not have a stable CLI interface. Use with caution in scripts.

Then I enter this cli command: ‘apt policy’

and this is what came back:

Package files:
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
release a=now
500 https://repo.windscribe.com/debian stretch/main i386 Packages
release o=. stretch,a=stretch,n=stretch,l=. stretch,c=main,b=i386
origin repo.windscribe.com
500 https://repo.windscribe.com/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
release o=. stretch,a=stretch,n=stretch,l=. stretch,c=main,b=amd64
origin repo.windscribe.com
500 http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable/main i386 Packages
release o=Vivaldi Technologies,a=stable,l=Official Vivaldi package repository,c=main,b=i386
origin repo.vivaldi.com
500 http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable/main amd64 Packages
release o=Vivaldi Technologies,a=stable,l=Official Vivaldi package repository,c=main,b=amd64
origin repo.vivaldi.com
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates/main i386 Packages
release o=Debian,a=oldstable-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main,b=i386
origin ftp.us.debian.org
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates/main amd64 Packages
release o=Debian,a=oldstable-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main,b=amd64
origin ftp.us.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates/main i386 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main,b=i386
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates/main amd64 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main,b=amd64
origin security.debian.org
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch/main i386 Packages
release v=9.13,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main,b=i386
origin ftp.us.debian.org
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
release v=9.13,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main,b=amd64
origin ftp.us.debian.org
Pinned packages:

Here is what I got when I enter a cli command ‘apt-get update’

Get:1 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates InRelease [53.0 kB]
Ign:1 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates InRelease
Ign:2 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch InRelease
Get:3 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates InRelease [93.6 kB]
Ign:3 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates InRelease
Ign:4 http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable InRelease
Get:5 http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable Release [3,831 B]
Err:5 http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable Release
Error writing to output file - write (28: No space left on device) Error writing to file - write (28: No space left on device)
Get:6 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates Release [51.4 kB]
Err:6 http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates Release
Error writing to output file - write (28: No space left on device) Error writing to file - write (28: No space left on device) [IP: 2a04:4e42:44::644 80]
Hit:7 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch Release
Get:8 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates Release [92.0 kB]
Err:8 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates Release
Error writing to output file - write (28: No space left on device) Error writing to file - write (28: No space left on device) [IP: 2620:0:861:1:208:80:154:15 80]
Hit:9 https://repo.windscribe.com/debian stretch InRelease
Reading package lists... Error!
E: The repository 'http://repo.vivaldi.com/stable/deb stable Release' does no longer have a Release file.
N: Updating from such a repository can't be done securely, and is therefore disabled by default.
N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.
E: The repository 'http://security.debian.org/debian-security stretch/updates Release' does no longer have a Release file.
N: Updating from such a repository can't be done securely, and is therefore disabled by default.
N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.
E: The repository 'http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch-updates Release' does no longer have a Release file.
N: Updating from such a repository can't be done securely, and is therefore disabled by default.
N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.
E: Write error - write (28: No space left on device)
E: IO Error saving source cache
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.

This last cli command output is puzzling to me.

I expect that the next time I logout, I will have to jump threw the same hoops.
And fear that I may not be able to login with my gui again.

I don’t think I should logout and power down until we fix this problem.

I was thinking is that when this apt-get problem is solved I would first do and update and upgraded on x11 so to know for sure that X windows was the problem.
010101
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2021-03-26 20:11

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby sunrat » 2021-03-31 22:24

Maybe this is your primary problem:
Code: Select all
E: Write error - write (28: No space left on device)
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Can't Boot Into OS. A Very Stange Thing Has Happen!

Postby Loci.Cantos » 2021-04-01 01:49

Hmmm. Perhaps

sudo apt autoremove

then

sudo apt autoclean

in sequence, may gain you a tiny bit of space to work with?
User avatar
Loci.Cantos
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2018-08-03 15:39

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

fashionable