Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

What is the right version

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
gm51856

#1 Post by gm51856 »

Hi to all!
I'm an other Gates fan (the m@$%&#@ f$%#@) and want to try Debian. I keep on reading and exploring the different options (distribution) that are available and so far I think Debian is where I want to get my hands on.
This is my first time that I will try to do this and really I don't know where to start from.
I build my own computers for some time now and I always use AMD processors. Here is my bigest question! What version of Debian do I need? If there is a link or an advice, I can use it.
I hope, I'm not asking to re-invent the wheel!

asimonelli

#2 Post by asimonelli »

Is this your first experience with GNU/Linux? Debian is a great distribution and includes thousands of programs, anywhere from being a production server to a home desktop and it is completely free.

Debian supports the most architectures I've ever seen and a good place to find out which one you will need is in the ports section. Then you can purchase the disks or download all of the ISO's using Jigdo or just the ISO's themselves; all 14 of them! :shock: .

If this is your first experience with GNU/Linux, you should probably start with some easier distributions that are Debian based such as Ubuntu (yes the name is different but it is good) and Mepis. Both come with "Live" versions that run without installing them on your harddrive so you can test them to see if you like them before installing them and also to test to see how it runs on your hardware.

#3 Post by Guest »

Thank you for your responce!javascript:emoticon(':lol:')