installing lamp

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

installing lamp

Postby Guest » 2004-08-02 17:46

Hello,

I want to install a webserver ( just b'cause I have a old pc standing in the corner that I want to give a new life), but I witch packages do I have to apt-get?
Our is it better to compile the sources?

Thx
Guest
 

Postby root04 » 2004-08-02 23:15

What is that u want to install? Apache is webserver and one of many installing tutorials is here:

http://www.sitepoint.com/article/instal ... e-tutorial
root04
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2004-06-23 03:20

Postby Guest » 2004-08-03 09:52

Sorry for my not so clear question.

But I want to install:
-Apache
-PHP4/5
-MySQL
(-PERL)
Guest
 

Postby lacek » 2004-08-03 13:59

Compiling the sources results in a somewhat faster execution, but you'll need to track the security updates and the like, so if you don't plan to run a server where speed is _really_ important, you can use the packages, thus saving yourself from some headaches...
The packages you need:
apache
mysql-server
php4
php4-mysql
perl is most probably installed already (if you mean the apache perl module, it is in the package libapache-mod-perl).

After you installed all these, you need to edit some files in order to actually use them (the install process _may_ be able to do these changes, but it doesn't hurt to look if everything is all right):

In /etc/php4/apache/php.ini, make sure you have
extension=mysql.so

In /etc/apache/httpd.conf (or /etc/apache/modules.conf in Sarge) make sure you have
LoadModule php4_module /usr/lib/apache/1.3/libphp4.so

In /etc/apache/httpd.conf, make sure you have this line:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

After these, restart apache (by calling /etc/init.d/apache restart), and you should be able to use all of these.

If you still have questions, feel free to ask...
lacek
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: 2004-03-11 18:49
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Postby root04 » 2004-08-03 17:27

I checked my php.ini and i dont have extension=msql.so on, but mysql database still works great. So, whats this Dynamic Extension really do?


; If you wish to have an extension loaded automatically, use the following
; syntax:
; ... or under UNIX:
; extension=msql.so
root04
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2004-06-23 03:20

Postby Guest » 2004-08-04 06:01

No more questions.

Thank you guys for the help!
Guest
 

Postby lacek » 2004-08-04 09:59

root04 wrote:I checked my php.ini and i dont have extension=msql.so on, but mysql database still works great. So, whats this Dynamic Extension really do?


Dynamic extension modules are what the name suggests. They are modules which can be loaded dynamically, either by a php script, or by a global config file. Now, if you don't have the
extension=mysql.so
line in your php.ini, and yet the mysql connections are working, then:

- You passed by the line, and it _is_ there :-)
- You are looking the wrong php.ini file (remember, the apache module and the cgi module have different config files)
- The php file which uses mysql loads the extension by itself (by using the dl() method)
- The mysql support is compiled into your php
- There is some woodoo magic I am not aware of :-)
lacek
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 769
Joined: 2004-03-11 18:49
Location: Budapest, Hungary


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

fashionable