Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

installing lamp

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Guest

installing lamp

#1 Post by Guest »

Hello,

I want to install a webserver ( just b'cause I have a old pc standing in the corner that I want to give a new life), but I witch packages do I have to apt-get?
Our is it better to compile the sources?

Thx

root04
Posts: 18
Joined: 2004-06-23 03:20

#2 Post by root04 »

What is that u want to install? Apache is webserver and one of many installing tutorials is here:

http://www.sitepoint.com/article/instal ... e-tutorial

Guest

#3 Post by Guest »

Sorry for my not so clear question.

But I want to install:
-Apache
-PHP4/5
-MySQL
(-PERL)

lacek
Posts: 764
Joined: 2004-03-11 18:49
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

#4 Post by lacek »

Compiling the sources results in a somewhat faster execution, but you'll need to track the security updates and the like, so if you don't plan to run a server where speed is _really_ important, you can use the packages, thus saving yourself from some headaches...
The packages you need:
apache
mysql-server
php4
php4-mysql
perl is most probably installed already (if you mean the apache perl module, it is in the package libapache-mod-perl).

After you installed all these, you need to edit some files in order to actually use them (the install process _may_ be able to do these changes, but it doesn't hurt to look if everything is all right):

In /etc/php4/apache/php.ini, make sure you have
extension=mysql.so

In /etc/apache/httpd.conf (or /etc/apache/modules.conf in Sarge) make sure you have
LoadModule php4_module /usr/lib/apache/1.3/libphp4.so

In /etc/apache/httpd.conf, make sure you have this line:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

After these, restart apache (by calling /etc/init.d/apache restart), and you should be able to use all of these.

If you still have questions, feel free to ask...

root04
Posts: 18
Joined: 2004-06-23 03:20

#5 Post by root04 »

I checked my php.ini and i dont have extension=msql.so on, but mysql database still works great. So, whats this Dynamic Extension really do?


; If you wish to have an extension loaded automatically, use the following
; syntax:
; ... or under UNIX:
; extension=msql.so

Guest

#6 Post by Guest »

No more questions.

Thank you guys for the help!

lacek
Posts: 764
Joined: 2004-03-11 18:49
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

#7 Post by lacek »

root04 wrote:I checked my php.ini and i dont have extension=msql.so on, but mysql database still works great. So, whats this Dynamic Extension really do?
Dynamic extension modules are what the name suggests. They are modules which can be loaded dynamically, either by a php script, or by a global config file. Now, if you don't have the
extension=mysql.so
line in your php.ini, and yet the mysql connections are working, then:

- You passed by the line, and it _is_ there :-)
- You are looking the wrong php.ini file (remember, the apache module and the cgi module have different config files)
- The php file which uses mysql loads the extension by itself (by using the dl() method)
- The mysql support is compiled into your php
- There is some woodoo magic I am not aware of :-)

Post Reply