Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

mdadm problems

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
synic
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005-03-27 00:23

mdadm problems

#1 Post by synic »

Hello,

I just recently attempted to use this method: http://synic.ath.cx/raid1.txt to create full software raid 1 on our server running debian testing. I replaced all the references to raidtools with mdadm.

It seems to be working, cat /proc/mdstat shows:

Personalities : [raid1]
md2 : active raid1 sda2[1] sdb2[0]
155308288 blocks [2/2] [UU]

unused devices: <none>

However, when I reboot, sda2 does not come up - I have to mdadm -a /dev/md2 /dev/sda2 to get it to come up. It has to rebuild, which takes about an hour.

My /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf looks like this:

DEVICE /dev/sda2,/dev/sdb2
ARRAY /dev/md2 level=raid1 num-devices=2 devices=/dev/sda1,/dev/sda2

How can I get /dev/sda2 to come up automatically?

Adam

labrador
Posts: 13
Joined: 2005-05-21 03:22

easy way to write mdadm.conf file

#2 Post by labrador »

I noticed this old thread. Hopefully it might help someone anyway.

To write out an mdadm.conf format for an existing raid array,
use --detail --brief flags from mdadm.

e.g.

Code: Select all

# /sbin/mdadm  --detail --brief  /dev/md0 /dev/md1 /dev/md2
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid1 num-devices=2 spares=1 UUID=134c8623:cff3ca51:e96bf5a4:0e3e72a9   devices=/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part1,/dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/part1,/dev/ide/host2/bus1/target0/lun0/part1

ARRAY /dev/md1 level=raid5 num-devices=3 spares=1 UUID=c073d8bd:02215d9e:48e358d0:2fb24420   devices=/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part5,/dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/part5,/dev/ide/host2/bus1/target0/lun0/part5,/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5

ARRAY /dev/md2 level=raid5 num-devices=3 spares=1 UUID=74d1bf46:741a7d77:dcb83bd9:74dce41f
devices=/dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part6,/dev/ide/host0/bus1/target0/lun0/part6,/dev/ide/host2/bus1/target0/lun0/part6,/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part6
Other than this, I'd suggest checking that the init script to bring up the raid is working OK.

Check the dmesg for any diagnostic. If the SCSI device driver is a module, try making it built
into the kernel. Also make the raid support as part of the kernel, not module.

labrador
Posts: 13
Joined: 2005-05-21 03:22

actually...

#3 Post by labrador »

If this is accurate:

Code: Select all

DEVICE /dev/sda2,/dev/sdb2
ARRAY /dev/md2 level=raid1 num-devices=2 devices=/dev/sda1,/dev/sda2 
The problem is that you have the config wrong.
I think you meant:

Code: Select all

DEVICE /dev/sda2,/dev/sdb2
ARRAY /dev/md2 level=raid1 num-devices=2 devices=/dev/sda1,/dev/sdb2 

Post Reply