Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privileges

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby 4joeyirosh1 » 2019-07-11 19:01

Wheelerof4te wrote:No need to modify any configuration files, just log in to Xorg session from GDM. And synaptic will work.


Kindly advise on how to
just log in to Xorg session from GDM
4joeyirosh1
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 2016-09-11 18:04

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-07-11 19:24

^Kindly click on that wheel on the log in screen and select "GNOME on Xorg".
"There is no such thing as truth in this world. That is our reality. Anyone can become a God or a Devil. All it takes is for someone to claim that to be the truth."
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1406
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby giaur » 2019-07-11 19:38

Hopefully, there are many opinions and I can choose what I want to use and what I don't want. You don't like any gui and you wish to do everything in terminal, ok your choice. I have never had any problems with updating with Synaptic, it always does the same packages upgrade as apt in cli.

Regarding to Wayland, please show me any noticeable improvement in user experience other than some stuff not compatible anymore. I think Wayland will eventually replace Xorg (unless other better solution will be created), but not yet. Afaik only Gnome3 and Plasma currently support Wayland. It's still being worked on and it's not stable yet.

Btw, regarding to Synaptic run as root - only installation process should be run as root, no need to run entire app as root, no root needed to browse packages.
giaur
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2013-03-08 07:03

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-07-11 19:51

giaur wrote: it always does the same packages upgrade as apt in cli.

It can't upgrade to another release, as it can't prompt you to accept new release suite change. It also has whacky dependency resolution, when compared to plain apt. That's why I avoided it, well other than security stuff.

Wayland itself is not a topic of this thread. Open a new thread if you want to discuss it, but I warn you we have 1000's of those already disquised as GNOME bashing threads.
giaur wrote:Afaik only Gnome3 and Plasma currently support Wayland.

Nah, there's also a whole pack of compositors based on wlroots, led by magnificent Sway.
giaur wrote: regarding to Synaptic run as root - only installation process should be run as root,

When you run synaptic to install packages, entire program runs as root. That's the problem.
"There is no such thing as truth in this world. That is our reality. Anyone can become a God or a Devil. All it takes is for someone to claim that to be the truth."
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1406
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Deb-fan » 2019-07-11 23:12

Kitten killer!! No worries, appreciate Synaptic for what it is, amazing work by whichever software dev(s). Though you won't catch me installing it, I don need no stinkin Synaptic! :)
Deb-fan
 
Posts: 231
Joined: 2012-08-14 12:27

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-07-13 07:54

giaur wrote:Regarding to Wayland, please show me any noticeable improvement in user experience

It manages tear-free compositing without inducing lag for window dragging operations.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10056
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby giaur » 2019-07-13 15:51

Sorry for offtopic, but I tried Plasma with Wayland on Sid. So I installed Plasma and plasma wayland related packages. Then I choosed Plasma from ligthdm menu (not even sure if wayland used? ) and I got broken desktop as a result, no window decorations, I am not even sure if Wayland used (how could it be while lightdm starts X session). Anyway, no more test performed, I uninstalled Plasma and returned to Cinnamon (my own 4.2.1 build), which works without any issues and it's not as fat as Plasma (install Plasma - 800 MB disk space used, Cinnamon 30 MB).
giaur
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2013-03-08 07:03

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2019-07-13 16:05

To install Wayland session on Plasma in Sid, you just need this command:
Code: Select all
apt install plasma-workspace-wayland

Then choose Plasma (Wayland) from SDDM.
giaur wrote:So I installed Plasma and plasma wayland related packages.

You clearly didn't. And as HoaS said, you keep being ignorant.
"There is no such thing as truth in this world. That is our reality. Anyone can become a God or a Devil. All it takes is for someone to claim that to be the truth."
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1406
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby giaur » 2019-07-13 16:21

And you keep being rude, no reason for that, calm down
giaur
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 2013-03-08 07:03

Previous

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable