Enlightenment DR17

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: Transparent terms & such for E17

Postby garrincha » 2006-12-30 15:30

mzilikazi wrote:You can use fake transparency in your terminals w/ esetroot but that's a bit of a hassle. Instead I like to use the Photo module to set the wallpaper which simutaneously sets the background for fake transparency.
Code: Select all
apt-get install emodule0-photo

So, add the photo module to a shelf, configure it and set a wallpaper. Now fire up a terminal and set transparency to Yes. It should work. This also works for conky. Heres a screen.


mzilikazi, I couldn't get the transparency to work in rxvt-unicode and aterm terminal, using photo module in E17.

The transparency worked fine in fluxbox but in E17, all I got was a kind of gray pixel-like background similar to the X screen just before the session login manager come on. I assumed from your screenshot that you're using gnome terminal? I don't want to use gnome terminal as it is slightly bloated.
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

Re: Transparent terms & such for E17

Postby mzilikazi » 2006-12-30 16:50

garrincha wrote:I assumed from your screenshot that you're using gnome terminal? I don't want to use gnome terminal as it is slightly bloated.

Nope that's xfce4-terminal. It's fast, has lots of features and isn't bloated. I configure my ephoto0-modules like so:
Right click the photo modules (after adding it to a shelf of course)
Configure Photo Module
Left click>Next picture
Middle click>Set as background

You must also feed some photos or wallpapers to the module.
Reload Picture Directories

Then just click w/ middle button on ephot0-module to set wallpaper. After the first time it should just work.
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Transparent terms & such for E17

Postby garrincha » 2006-12-30 18:16

mzilikazi wrote:Nope that's xfce4-terminal. It's fast, has lots of features and isn't bloated. I configure my ephoto0-modules like so:
Right click the photo modules (after adding it to a shelf of course)
Configure Photo Module
Left click>Next picture
Middle click>Set as background

You must also feed some photos or wallpapers to the module.
Reload Picture Directories

Then just click w/ middle button on ephot0-module to set wallpaper. After the first time it should just work.


Thanks mzilikaz. I could have swore that I did all of these steps last night when I was trying to make a transparent terminal in E17. I will check back later.
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

Postby hcgtv » 2006-12-31 17:21

The script I use to compile e17 just got updated:

https://omicron.homeip.net/?blog_id=44

Grab it here:

https://omicron.homeip.net/projects/#easy_e17.sh

I really like the new --update switch, just compiles what was changed in CVS.

What I've always liked about this script is that it keeps track of what has compiled in the current run. This way if dependency problem arises, you can go do an apt-get install and re-run the script and it picks up where it left off.
Bert Garcia - When all you have is a keyboard
User avatar
hcgtv
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 2006-11-17 23:03
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby garrincha » 2007-01-02 14:47

I came across this article while googling, it is a really good article about the DR17/E17 Enlightenment window manager. It is from the May 2006 issue #66 of Linux Magazine. There is an instruction for installing DR17/E17 in Debian/Sid (from the soulmachine repository) in the box on page 2:

pdf file:

http://www.linux-magazine.com/issue/66/ ... Review.pdf

Enjoy! 8)
Last edited by garrincha on 2007-01-02 19:33, edited 1 time in total.
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-01-02 16:19

I used the soulmachine repo long long ago before the edevlop repo was up. Is soulmachine still maintained?
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby hcgtv » 2007-01-02 16:25

mzilikazi, the soulmachine repo is not maintained, the current one is the one at edevelop.org.

Sid seems to be the only one though: http://edevelop.org/debian/dists/sid/
Bert Garcia - When all you have is a keyboard
User avatar
hcgtv
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 2006-11-17 23:03
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby garrincha » 2007-01-02 19:39

mzilikazi wrote:I used the soulmachine repo long long ago before the edevlop repo was up. Is soulmachine still maintained?


I have no idea as I have never used the soulmachine's repo. However, I'm using the edevelop.org's repo which seems to keep up with the updates. Some of my installations for E17 were upgraded today, I suspected that these were mostly bugs as I had a couple of them.

The article in my above post however is dated May 2006, so the edevelop.org must be in full active service if soulmachine is no longer maintained as hcgtv mentioned.
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-01-02 20:19

garrincha wrote:Some of my installations for E17 were upgraded today, I suspected that these were mostly bugs as I had a couple of them.

Falco has an automated build for E17 cvs. Usually we see 2 or 3 upgrades per week from edevelop. Sometimes it's worse than before! :) Usually it is an improvement.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby hcgtv » 2007-01-02 20:20

Here's a good site to determine what has changed in CVS:
http://cia.navi.cx/stats/project/e
Bert Garcia - When all you have is a keyboard
User avatar
hcgtv
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 2006-11-17 23:03
Location: Charlotte, NC

Automount USB media in E17.

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-01-02 21:40

You might already be familiar w/ pmount & ivman. It's a great way to automount your USB keys & such. Let me say that I only automount USB keys - I detest it when cd's &dvd's get automatically mounted.

ivman is *supposed* to be working when you log into your desktop, well for whatever reason it does not on e17. There might be less convoluted ways of getting this done but it works. Here's how to make it happen:
Code: Select all
apt-get install ivman rox-filer


You need the following 3 scripts. Put them all in ~/Scripts.
Be sure to change both instances of <USERNAME> to your actual username!

~/Scripts/startup.desktop

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=startup script
Comment=Programming editor
Exec=/home/<USERNAME>/Scripts/startup.sh
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/Sci48M.png
Categories=Application;Development;


~/Scripts/startup.sh

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
xmodmap -e 'remove Lock = Caps_Lock'
numlockx on
nvidia-settings -l
conky&
/home/<USERNAME>/Scripts/ivman.sh


~/Scripts/ivman.sh


Code: Select all
if pgrep -U $USER ivman >/dev/null 2>&1; then
 exit
  else
 exec ivman
fi


Now to get all of that to launch on login is pretty simple. Just create an .order file to launch your startup script:
~/.e/e/applications/startup/.order
Code: Select all
/home/<USERNAME>/Scripts/startup.desktop


So what does all of this do?
On login ~/.e/e/applications/startup/.order is read. It points to
/home/<USERNAME>/Scripts/startup.desktop
Which in turn points to:
~/Scripts/startup.sh
Which executes anything in that file like numlock or xmodmap or even another script. If you want to start more or fewer things simply edit ~/Scripts/startup.sh. No need to change anything else. My startup.sh turns numlock on, disable the CAPS lock, starts nvidia settings and conky & executes the ivman.sh script.

*NOTE* The ivman.sh script checks to see if there is already an instance of ivman running as $USER and if not it then starts ivman otherwise it exits. The ivman.sh script was seperated from the ~/Scripts/startup.sh because it was misbehaving and giving unpredictable results.

If you've made it this far you're almost done. You just need to edit a simple text file that tells ivman what do do when a USB key is inserted.
~/.ivman/IvmConfigActions.xml
Add a section like so:
Code: Select all
<!--start Rox filer when USB device is mounted-->
<ivm:Match name="hal.info.category" value="storage">
   <ivm:Match name="hal.storage.bus" value="usb">
         <ivm:Option name="exec" value="rox /media" />
      </ivm:Match>
   </ivm:Match>
</ivm:ActionsConfig>


So now try loggin out and back in, you should then have 2 instances of ivman running:
Code: Select all
$ ps aux|grep ivman
ivman     4889  0.0  0.3   4616  1444 ?        Ss    2006   0:00 /usr/bin/ivman
glenn    19755  0.0  0.4   4492  1664 ?        S     2006   0:00 ivman

Ivman runs as user ivman on boot, then as user on login.

Go ahead and insert a USB key. If all is well you should have rox filer pop up and open to the /media directory. Your USB key will be mounted therein at perhaps usbdisk or similar. To umount the USB key is very simple. Back out of your mounted drive directory and from the /media dir
Right click your USB key mount point>Eject.

Voila! Rox goes away and your USB key is ready to be removed. To be safe please issue mount in a shell to make sure it is umounted before removing your key!

I encourage you to read the ~/.ivman/IvmConfigActions.xml. There is quite alot you can do with it. Obviously you are not required to use rox-filer but I have no idea how well any other file maanger works in this instance.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby adi1334 » 2007-01-03 12:31

i say, e17 is in a class of its own ... most impressive, i've been using it for a couple of weeks now... sweet ....
adi1334
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2004-10-18 07:01
Location: Timisoara, Romania

Postby garrincha » 2007-01-04 06:38

I have never tried it, but if you're interested in using Enlightenment E16 or E17 as your window manager for Gnome, instead of the default Metacity, here's a good HOWTO from the Ubuntu forum:

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=54476&

And there is one for Xfce:

http://doc.gwos.org/index.php/EnlightenedXFCE
Maurice Green on Usain Bolt's 9.58: "The Earth stopped for a second, and he went to Mars."
User avatar
garrincha
 
Posts: 2340
Joined: 2006-06-02 16:38

DR17 on GDM login window

Postby chameleon » 2007-01-08 22:56

I have downloaded DR17 from;
Code: Select all
deb http://www.edevelop.org/debian unstable main


How do I get it to show up on my GDM login screen? :?
User avatar
chameleon
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 2006-12-31 14:37
Location: luxembourg

Re: DR17 on GDM login window

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-01-08 23:26

chameleon wrote:I have downloaded DR17 from;
Code: Select all
deb http://www.edevelop.org/debian unstable main


How do I get it to show up on my GDM login screen? :?

Did you do this:
Code: Select all
apt-get update && apt-get install e17 e17-extras emodules0-all

If so there should be a file to start E17.
Code: Select all
/usr/share/xsessions/enlightenment.desktop

Looks like this:
Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Enlightenment
Comment=Log in using Enlightenment (Version 0.16.999.035)
Type=XSession
<<<<<<< enlightenment.desktop.in
Exec=/usr/bin/enlightenment_start
TryExec=/usr/bin/enlightenment_start
=======
Icon=/usr/share/enlightenment/data/images/enlightenment.png
Exec=/usr/bin/enlightenment_start
TryExec=/usr/bin/enlightenment_start
>>>>>>> 1.4
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

PreviousNext

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable