Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby kiyop » 2015-10-12 12:23

Pressing left, middle and right button of mouse at bottom and right edges or bottom left, top right and bottom right corners of the screen does not work with fittstool-2.0 on openbox in debian jessie with dual monitor.

Pressing left, middle and right button of mouse at top and left edges and top-left corner on the screen works correctly.

I use openbox on debian jessie. I do not install any desktop environment explicitly.
In the jessie, I installed gcc, make, libglib2.0-0, pkg-config, libcairo2-dev and libxcb1-dev.
I downloaded https://fittstool.googlecode.com/files/ ... 0.2.tar.gz and confirmed that the sha1sum value of the downloaded file matches sha1sum value given at https://code.google.com/p/fittstool/dow ... z&can=2&q=
I expanded the downloaded file by
Code: Select all
tar -xvf fittstool-2.0.tar.gz

into fittstool-2.0 directory.
I executed with an ordinary (non-root) user:
Code: Select all
cd fittstool-2.0
make

I executed with root privilege on the fittstool-2.0 directory
Code: Select all
make install

I executed the following with the ordinary user:
Code: Select all
fittstool

and ~/.config/fittstool/fittstoolrc was generated.
I modified it as
Code: Select all
[TopLeft]
LeftButton=gnome-terminal
MiddleButton=pcmanfm
RightButton=iceweasel

[TopCenter]
LeftButton=lowriter
MiddleButton=localc
RightButton=loimpress

[Left]
LeftButton=jpilot
MiddleButton=icedove
RightButton=virtualbox

[TopRight]
LeftButton=lowriter
MiddleButton=localc
RightButton=loimpress

[Right]
LeftButton=lowriter
MiddleButton=localc
RightButton=loimpress

[BottomLeft]
LeftButton=lowriter
MiddleButton=localc
RightButton=loimpress

[BottomCenter]
LeftButton=lowriter
MiddleButton=localc
RightButton=loimpress

[BottomRight]
LeftButton=leafpad
MiddleButton=xclock
RightButton=loimpress

and modified ~/.config/openbox/autostart as
Code: Select all

The PC has two monitors. One is Sharp LL-T19D1-H connected with DVI. The other is EIZO FlexScan L885.
I executed:
[code]xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1280x1024 --output HDMI1 --mode 1280x1024 --left-of VGA1[/code]

[code]xrandr

gives:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2560 x 1024, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA1 connected 1280x1024+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 408mm x 306mm
1600x1200 60.00 +
1280x1024 75.02* 60.02
1280x960 75.04 60.00
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 85.00 75.08 70.07 60.00
832x624 74.55
800x600 85.06 72.19 75.00 60.32 56.25
640x480 85.01 75.00 72.81 66.67 60.00
720x400 70.08
HDMI1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
1280x1024 60.02*+
1280x960 60.00
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.08 70.07 60.00
800x600 72.19 75.00 60.32
640x480 75.00 72.81 60.00
720x400 70.08
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


I don't have enough time. I will add more detail later.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby oswaldkelso » 2015-12-12 19:45

I have just this minute added a better graphics card and second monitor to my Dragora desktop and was searching for a similar query.

It works fine if I set the monitors one above the other, but side by side the secondary monitor
doesn't work

I use zarfy to position my monitors.

I suspect I will need to play around with my xorg.conf
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby kiyop » 2015-12-13 01:01

oswaldkelso wrote:It works fine if I set the monitors one above the other, but side by side the secondary monitor doesn't work

Thank you for reporting this.
I use xrandr to position my monitors.

To tell the truth, I uninstalled fittstool. My openbox can show root menu (registered applications menu) by Alt+q and can show menu with all the opened windows by Alt+Tab. Furthermore, my openbox can show root menu by right clicking on any place on the desktop (not on any window) and can show menu with all the opened windows by middle clicking on any place on the desktop. Thus I need not fittstool. Furthermore, my desktop is too large to move the mouse cursor quickly to the edge of two windows.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby oswaldkelso » 2015-12-13 11:05

Thus I need not fittstool. Furthermore, my desktop is too large to move the mouse cursor quickly to the edge of two windows.


I can understand this as an issue.

Personally I find having the most widely used application even just on the top and left edges is worth it for me. I'm testing several different window managers for Dragora and having a consistent system wide launcher is a god send during the configuration stage.

Back to dual screens. I have tint2 and notice that my 8 desktops have become 16. 8 on each monitor. If I can get them down to 4 on each I suspect I shall have cracked it. Interestingly my left and right hand fbpanels are correctly positioned.
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby kiyop » 2015-12-13 11:10

Thank oswaldkelso for posting the above :)
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby oswaldkelso » 2015-12-13 11:18

Unfortunately the tint configuration was easy to fix and not related to the problem
https://code.google.com/p/tint2/issues/detail?id=47
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby oswaldkelso » 2015-12-13 14:10

Fixed but not perfect as it screws up zarfy but that's not an issue on this machine. I modified my xorg.conf and when I startx I get my desktop set up as I wanted (side by side) and fittstool works on all outside edges as before as if it's one big screen. The wallpaper now spans both screens where as before I got two separate wallpapers.

snipped
Code: Select all
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "Multihead layout"
   Screen         "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
   Screen         "Screen1" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
   Option       "Xinerama" "on"
   Option       "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "ViewSonic"
   HorizSync    31.5 - 65.0
   VertRefresh  50-70
   Option       "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor1"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "dell"
   HorizSync    31.5 - 65.0
   VertRefresh  50-70
   Option       "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Videocard0"
   Driver      "nouveau"
   VendorName  "Nvidia"
   BoardName   "GeForce 9500 GT"
   VideoRam     8192
#       BusID       "PCI:1:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Videocard1"
   Driver      "nouveau"
   VendorName  "Nvidia"
   BoardName   "GeForce 9500 GT"
#   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Screen      1
EndSection



Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Videocard0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1280x1024"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"
   Device     "Videocard1"
   Monitor    "Monitor1"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1280x1024"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby kiyop » 2015-12-13 14:15

Thank oswaldkelso for posting the above. :)
I may do similarly as you did in my free time.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby kiyop » 2015-12-31 01:37

oswaldkelso sent me a private message. Thank oswaldkelso :)
oswaldkelso wrote:I find a few bugs with fittstool disabling xrandr. Mostly from applications that expect it to be the default and only way! Personally I can live with it.
Openbox, JWM: Jessie, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox), 10
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 3984
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Bottom & right corners not work: fittstool dual monitor

Postby oswaldkelso » 2015-12-31 02:04

It may not be fittstool but the fact that manually setting an Xorg.conf file is now looked on as heresy. Or user dis-empowerment depending on your pov :twisted:
Ash init durbatulûk, ash init gimbatul,
Ash init thrakatulûk agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.
User avatar
oswaldkelso
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: 2005-07-26 23:20
Location: UK


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable