Secondary Menu - GNOME DEBIAN 8

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Secondary Menu - GNOME DEBIAN 8

Postby Loro_Mendes » 2017-01-12 17:45

Dear All,

I recently installed Debian 8 on my desktop with the Gnome and I noticed that if I use the Firefox for long time, such as one or two hours, out of no where the secondary menu does not show anymore. It shows a black menu where I can not visualize the options.

The secondary menu that I mean, is for instance, the suggestions on the address bar of the Firefox while I write it. Also, on this moment, if I open any application, such as libre office writer, it open but it is black.

If I restart the section with an Alt+F2 and r it gets "Oh no! Something has gone wrong." and "A problem has occurred and the system can't recover. Please log out and try again."

I can't find something related on the web, have anyone saw something similar?

All the best,
Loro_Mendes
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2014-03-24 19:59

Re: Secondary Menu - GNOME DEBIAN 8

Postby pylkko » 2017-01-15 11:30

no. can you post a screen shot?have you installed any extensions from gnome web site?
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: Secondary Menu - GNOME DEBIAN 8

Postby Loro_Mendes » 2017-02-15 21:45

Dear Friend,

Sorry for my delay in answering your post I had serious issues here

Here are two screen shots. This first is the msg that I got

Image

This second is the black menu that I refer.

Image

As you can see it is totally black. I don't know if is my computer but as it is an old one (back to 2008) I thought it may not be the video the problem...

And I didn't install any extensions from gnome web site.

Any clues?

All the best
Loro_Mendes
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2014-03-24 19:59

Re: Secondary Menu - GNOME DEBIAN 8

Postby Loro_Mendes » 2017-02-18 17:47

Dear all,

After a black screen got it I moved to another tty and I got this from the dmesg command:
Code: Select all
[ 4070.494346] perf interrupt took too long (2504 > 2500), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 50000


What does it really means? Small swap size? Video related?
Loro_Mendes
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2014-03-24 19:59


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable