Duplicates in Synaptic

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby TonyT » 2017-04-08 14:16

Is this a bug in Synaptic? If so, how to fix?
Debian Stretch.
Synaptic lists duplicate entries but only when selecting Origin (not yet installed).

Image
TonyT
 
Posts: 525
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby stevepusser » 2017-04-08 16:39

I can't really see any duplicates; can you point them out?

What is your compelling reason for mixing stable and testing repositories, which should only be done by experts?

(hoping that this install hasn't become the dumpster fire that this kind of sources.list can become...)
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby TonyT » 2017-04-08 18:49

I'm not mixing stable and testing. All testing except I'm using google chrome unstable downloaded as a deb from google dev channel. Google adds itself to the sources automatically and a recent update to it lists stable, beta and unstable to the stable source in the list on left.

You can see some duplicates in the right top frame.
TonyT
 
Posts: 525
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby pendrachken » 2017-04-08 20:14

stevepusser wrote:I can't really see any duplicates; can you point them out?

What is your compelling reason for mixing stable and testing repositories, which should only be done by experts?

(hoping that this install hasn't become the dumpster fire that this kind of sources.list can become...)



Unless the image was changed or something since your post, how about the four 0ad-data and 0ad-data-common 0.0.21-1 entries?


Would be interesting to see what exactly apt-cache policy would spit out for 0ad-data, maybe it is debu[1-9] versions that just haven't left the repo yet? That's where I would look first, see what the APT system itself is showing.
fortune -o
Your love life will be... interesting.
:twisted: How did it know?

The U.S. uses the metric system too, we have tenths, hundredths and thousandths of inches :-P
pendrachken
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: 2007-03-04 21:10
Location: U.S.A. - WI.

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby stevepusser » 2017-04-08 22:37

Oh, Google is acceptable--I see what you mean now about the 0ad duplicate packages. Can you easily find any other examples?

+1 for trying apt-cache. CLI FTW!
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Krita 3.3.2.1, Pale Moon 27.6.0, Audacity 2.2.0, mpv 0.27.0, Corebird 1.7.1, Firefox 57.0, SMPlayer 17.11.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby TonyT » 2017-04-09 12:14

Lots of other examples but only when viewing packages that have not yet been installed under Origin.
Do you think the duplicates are due to multi-architecture? (amd64 + i386)
But Synaptic does not differentiate the architectures.

~$ apt-cache policy 0ad-data
0ad-data:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: 0.0.21-1
Version table:
0.0.21-1 500
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian testing/main amd64 Packages
500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian testing/main i386 Packages
TonyT
 
Posts: 525
Joined: 2006-09-04 11:57

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby alex.theoto » 2017-06-12 06:33

This must be bug. Can someone fill a bug report?
alex.theoto
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2014-12-17 16:50

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby Thorny » 2017-06-12 11:32

TonyT wrote:Is this a bug in Synaptic? If so, how to fix?
Debian Stretch.
Synaptic lists duplicate entries but only when selecting Origin (not yet installed).

Does your system behave differently if you comment out the repository in your sources that is not an official one, http://www.deb-multimedia.org? [EDIT] Of course, then update (reload the package lists).

Christian Marillat's multimedia repository isn't an Official Debian repository, it was always a third-party repository that in the past was useful but generally not needed as often today and probably should only be used by people who know that they need it and why.
Thorny
 
Posts: 348
Joined: 2011-02-27 13:40

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby phenest » 2017-06-12 11:49

That has nothing to do with it. I only have one line in my sources.list for the Stretch repo, and I'm seeing the same thing.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby furquan » 2017-06-12 12:23

phenest wrote:That has nothing to do with it. I only have one line in my sources.list for the Stretch repo, and I'm seeing the same thing.


Strange, I'm not experiencing this bug. Perhaps because I'm using Sid (no unofficial repos, two lines in sources.list).
Image

The installed version of Synaptic on my machine is v0.84.2
Code: Select all
$ apt show synaptic
Package: synaptic
Version: 0.84.2
Priority: optional
...


TonyT wrote:Lots of other examples but only when viewing packages that have not yet been installed under Origin.
Do you think the duplicates are due to multi-architecture? (amd64 + i386)
But Synaptic does not differentiate the architectures.


Yes, I think this is the cause of the problem. My suggestion would be to not use Synaptic (despite how easy it makes to install software, learn to use the command-line, it'll never fail you) and instead use apt to install packages since this will save you the problem of installing an i386 package on an amd64 machine (not a problem per se but it does cause needless duplication). You can use apt install package:arch if you want to install the package for a particular architecture.

If you think you've added an arch by mistake then you can remove it like this (don't do this if you have installed packages for that architecture):
Code: Select all
# dpkg --remove-architecture i386
The source code for the kernel, library, etc. should fit on one diskette. Sources for the GNU utilities will vary (and will be big). The sources to GNU emacs will take at least 3 disks. -- Theodore Ts'o, 1992 (distributing the first Linux disks)
User avatar
furquan
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2017-05-10 11:57
Location: India

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby phenest » 2017-06-12 12:29

furquan wrote:Strange, I'm not experiencing this bug. Perhaps because I'm using Sid

It's the same version in Stretch. Also, try clicking on something other than "All".
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby MALsPa » 2017-06-12 12:30

furquan wrote:
TonyT wrote:Do you think the duplicates are due to multi-architecture? (amd64 + i386)
But Synaptic does not differentiate the architectures.


Yes, I think this is the cause of the problem.

I think so, too. Only amd64 here, and I'm not seeing the duplicates.

Code: Select all
$ apt-cache policy 0ad-data
0ad-data:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 0.0.21-1
  Version table:
     0.0.21-1 500
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
MALsPa
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby phenest » 2017-06-12 12:42

I booted up a VM running Jessie AMD64. Synaptic is not showing any duplicates. So I added the i386 architecture and updated. Still no duplicates. So I added the contrib & non-free sections, and updated. Still no duplicates.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby MALsPa » 2017-06-12 12:47

So much for that theory.
MALsPa
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2007-12-07 19:20
Location: albuquerque

Re: Duplicates in Synaptic

Postby phenest » 2017-06-12 13:05

NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Next

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable