Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby No_windows » 2017-04-24 18:35

phenest wrote:
No_windows wrote:Sorry, if I seem short, I'm getting frustrated that I'm not being understood, and I'm trying to be as plain as I can be.

I'm sure you're getting frustrated. Who wouldn't? But, it seems no one else is seeing this. I've installed the latest Oracle VirtualBox 5.1.20 for Jessie AMD64 and tried with XFCE. One VM, one button, etc.

Sorry I can't be of help. Except mine was a clean install of Jessie with XFCE for testing this. If that means anything.


Thank you for your attention, and trying to replicate it. I'll join Oracles Vbox forums and see if they have any ideas.
No_windows
 
Posts: 375
Joined: 2015-08-05 03:03

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby tekstr1der » 2017-05-13 14:32

As of vbox 5.1.20 I have the same issue with XFCE showing two instance per VM running.

I described the problem on the vbox forum - it's identical to OPs issue - but no reply yet:

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=82736&start=15#p391413

Also, the issue persists in 5.1.22, though that's expected as I've not filed, nor seen a bug filed, for this issue yet.
tekstr1der
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-12-05 18:23

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby phenest » 2017-05-13 19:04

I created a test scenario. I installed Debian Jessie in a VM. In that I installed XFCE and VirtualBox 5.1.20 from Oracle. I started VB and created 2 VM's which I then started.

Result: 3 taskbar buttons. 1 for VB and 1 button for each VM.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby tekstr1der » 2017-05-13 19:28

phenest wrote:I created a test scenario. I installed Debian Jessie in a VM. In that I installed XFCE and VirtualBox 5.1.20 from Oracle. I started VB and created 2 VM's which I then started.

Result: 3 taskbar buttons. 1 for VB and 1 button for each VM.


Thank you for taking time trying to reproduce this!Assume you used the Window Buttons panel item? Had you fully updated the guest Jessie packages as well and/or installed via the Debian 8.8 media?

Interesting indeed that this is not affecting everyone with Jessie/XFCE/Window Buttons. I tried adjusting a number of the Windows Buttons options to no avail. This issue persists after reboot, logout, and outright killing xfce4-panel.

I don't believe it's got anything to do with Debian as this occurred as of only 5.1.20 Virtualbox, and I have been on the 5.1.x series since 5.1.8. Not seeing anything obvious process-wise either:

Code: Select all
$ ps -ef | egrep -i "[v]box|[v]irt"
root      7610     2  0 11:10 ?        00:00:00 [iprt-VBoxWQueue]
root      7614     2  0 11:10 ?        00:00:00 [iprt-VBoxTscThr]
xxxx      7696     1  0 11:10 ?        00:00:02 /usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxXPCOMIPCD
xxxx      7701     1  0 11:10 ?        00:00:07 /usr/lib/virtualbox/VBoxSVC --auto-shutdown
xxxx      7735  7701  2 11:11 ?        00:08:13 /usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox --comment Win10 --startvm 27c39c3f-53e0-4fb4-886b-b4fc60d757ca --no-startvm-errormsgbox


One other thing to note is that this only occurs with running VM instances - the manager window only has a single panel item.

Thanks again for looking at this.
tekstr1der
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-12-05 18:23

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby phenest » 2017-05-13 19:40

I'd like to add that, as each VM was started, a 2nd button did appear but immediately disappeared.
NEC Spirit 550 P4 3.8GHz HT - 2GB RAM - nVidia 7600GT - Pioneer BDR-209DBK
ASUS Sabertooth P67 i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - 2x nVidia 660GTX SLI'd
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby No_windows » 2017-05-14 16:31

I have not explored this much further, but I'd like to note that this only happens when full screen. It seems to be the Virtualbox popup panel that creates the second XFCE panel button. I believe this because the extra panel button can be closed, which results in no pop-up Virtualbox panel when you have that VM full screen.
No_windows
 
Posts: 375
Joined: 2015-08-05 03:03

Re: Virtualbox upgrade causes second entry in Xfce taskbar

Postby tekstr1der » 2017-05-14 18:35

No_windows wrote:I have not explored this much further, but I'd like to note that this only happens when full screen. It seems to be the Virtualbox popup panel that creates the second XFCE panel button. I believe this because the extra panel button can be closed, which results in no pop-up Virtualbox panel when you have that VM full screen.


Thanks, yes I should have mentioned that I've suspected the mini toolbar changes are the culprit, in particular this changelog item:

Changelog for VirtualBox 5.1 wrote:• GUI: several mini-toolbar fixes in full-screen / seamless mode (X11 hosts only)


https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Changelog
tekstr1der
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-12-05 18:23

Previous

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable