Is Debian stable a good desktop distribution?

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Postby mfv » 2017-05-31 23:38

I have been using Debian and Ubuntu alternately for about 10 years. Now I'm with Ubuntu 16.04 in my main desktop computer, and I'm pretty pissed off by its instability. I will be switching to Stretch as soon as it comes out.

Ubuntu entices you with its latest versions of all programs, and everything looks beautiful with a simple interface and easy configuration for the end user. Eye candy.

Now when it comes to stability I have to say it is a piece of garbage.

I usually use audacity and man, it's unusable. Kdenlive also crashes often, and today even the GIMP segfaulted in my face.

In terms of stability Debian takes the cake, but software is usually dated and not updated. Maybe you could face the situation where you need a certain version of a program that isn't compatible with the system's glibc version and then you can't re-compile the whole system, so... you need a virtual machine. And good luck with that if you have a slow computer.

And in your experience, is it really so much more stable than Ubuntu?

I want to know what regular/somewhat advanced Desktop users could tell me about their experiences.

Any constructive input would be appreciated.
mfv

Re: Is Debian stable a good desktop distribution?

Postby dasein » 2017-05-31 23:46

Debian-vs-Ubuntu has been covered thousands of times in hundreds of venues over a period of >10 years. Go read all of that existing trollbait and report back if you have actual questions.

Install Debian in a VM, or on a spare hard drive, or burn a live medium. Experiment. Decide for yourself. Just be prepared to spend significantly more time and effort setting up Debian.
dasein

Postby sunrat » 2017-05-31 23:56

mfv wrote:And in your experience, is it really so much more stable than Ubuntu?

Yes. As long as you install packages made for Debian.