Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby gediminasel » 2017-08-27 16:43

Hello.
I want to install `plasma-nm 5.10`(at least 5.9.5), but the current version in apt-get is `5.8.6`. How can I do that?
gediminasel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-08-27 16:38

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby deborah-and-ian » 2017-08-27 16:56

Debian GNU/Linux 9 Stretch w/Gnome 3.22

Acer Aspire E5-521G
AMD A8-6410 APU
4 GB RAM
integrated AMD Mullins
dedicated AMD Hainan Radeon R5 M240 2 GB
240 GB Toshiba Q300 SSD
Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 ethernet
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 wireless
deborah-and-ian
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2016-07-13 08:40

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby gediminasel » 2017-08-27 17:13

And there isn't any other way to install it exept `apt-get`?
gediminasel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-08-27 16:38

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-27 18:01

You could also try compiling it and installing it from the source code, but this has many pitfalls along the way for someone unfamiliar with doing that. Backporting it from upstream "debianized" source packages removes most of those, but either way is a lot of work for you and the computer. Since upstream Debian only has 5.8.7, you'd have to try and get debianized source from Ubuntu or KDE Neon.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8802
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby deborah-and-ian » 2017-08-28 07:56

The gist of it is: Debian uses tried and tested packages which tend to lag behind the upstream. They're usually more stable, but don't have the latest features.

Short term solution: Install KDE Neon (Ubuntu LTS base) or Netrunner (Debian base).
Long term solution: KDE has started packaging with flatpak. So, I can picture a scenario where you'll be able to just install the entire latest KDE stack on Debian Stable in the very near future (flatpak is ready to use in Stretch).
https://community.kde.org/Guidelines_and_HOWTOs/Flatpak
Debian GNU/Linux 9 Stretch w/Gnome 3.22

Acer Aspire E5-521G
AMD A8-6410 APU
4 GB RAM
integrated AMD Mullins
dedicated AMD Hainan Radeon R5 M240 2 GB
240 GB Toshiba Q300 SSD
Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 ethernet
Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 wireless
deborah-and-ian
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2016-07-13 08:40

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby sunrat » 2017-08-29 01:18

gediminasel wrote:Hello.
I want to install `plasma-nm 5.10`(at least 5.9.5), but the current version in apt-get is `5.8.6`. How can I do that?

Sounds like this may be an A-B problem. Why do you think you need a different version than what apt provides? Are you having network issues? Post what problem you are having rather than how to implement an inappropriate solution.

`plasma-nm 5.10` would be an integrated part of Plasma 5.10 which is not part of any Debian version yet. It is coming to unstable soon, but as you had to ask you shouldn't go there. You will encounter dragons.

Your question doesn't match your title either. plasma-nm is the network manager. If you meant you wish to install the entire Plasma 5.10 environment, as above. Not available yet, dragons.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby stevepusser » 2017-08-29 01:40

I cooked up a backport of Cinnamon 3.4 for MX Linux this afternoon, but that's just a small side dish compared to backporting KDE!

I'll put that Cinnamon in an OBS repository for Jessie and Stretch users tomorrow.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8802
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby None1975 » 2017-08-29 11:34

gediminasel wrote:Hello.
I want to install `plasma-nm 5.10`(at least 5.9.5), but the current version in apt-get is `5.8.6`. How can I do that?

According Debian wiki
The reason that Debian Stable is so reliable is because software is extensively tested and bug-fixed before being included. This means that the most recent version of software is often not available in the Stable repositories. But it doesn't mean that the software is too old to be useful! Before attempting to install the newest version of some software from somewhere other than the Debian Stable repositories, here are some things to keep in mind:
The latest version of the software you're trying to use might also have new bugs.
Installing software from places other than official Debian repositories are not covered by ?https://www.debian.org/security/.
OS: Debian 9.2 / WM: Awesome WM
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 165
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby bester69 » 2017-09-13 19:05

gediminasel wrote:Hello.
I want to install `plasma-nm 5.10`(at least 5.9.5), but the current version in apt-get is `5.8.6`. How can I do that?


You can use Netrunner repositories to install KDE 5.10 , They're based on debian testing, you can install KDE 5.10 in strecth without any trouble. I did it with success, and Now Im using KDE 5.9(Netrunner).

I think you must use #Netrunner-Backports branch for installing KDE 5.10 with success.

Code: Select all
#Netrunner: 20170530 Testing Snaphoot (Stretch)
deb http://deb.netrunner.com/dci/packages/netrunner/ netrunner-1706 backports calamares ds9-artwork ds9-common extras frameworks kde-applications netrunner-desktop netrunner plasma plasmazilla qt5 


Code: Select all
#Netrunner-Backports Testing (Buster)
deb http://deb.netrunner.com/dci/packages/netrunner/ netrunner-backports backports calamares ds9-artwork ds9-common extras frameworks kde-applications netrunner-desktop netrunner plasma plasmazilla qt5
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby bester69 » 2017-09-24 22:44

I checked last week, right way to install KDE 5.10 in stretch is using following repo.:
Code: Select all
#Netrunner
deb http://deb.netrunner.com/dci/packages/netrunner/ netrunner-1706 backports calamares ds9-artwork ds9-common extras frameworks kde-applications netrunner-desktop netrunner plasma plasmazilla qt5 


Then we do dist-upgrade:
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

if we got problems, we can use metapackage netrunner-desktop, to get the full plasma properly installed:
sudo apt-get install netrunner-desktop


I tested and it works very well erverithing, Netrunner 1706 is very compatible with stretch debian.
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby sunrat » 2017-09-24 23:01

The correct way to install Plasma 5.10 in testing or sid is now
Code: Select all
apt install plasma-desktop


If you want it in Stretch, try bester's Frankenstall. I'm sure he will guarantee your money back if it misbehaves. :lol:
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby stevepusser » 2017-09-25 17:55

Why do we need the Calamares installer to upgrade the KDE packages? And won't the apt system have a fit if you don't have a key for that repo?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.1.0, Pale Moon 27.5.0, Liquorix kernel 4.12-10, mpv 0.27.0, Kodi 17.3, 0ad 0.0.22, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8802
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby bester69 » 2017-09-25 20:46

sunrat wrote:The correct way to install Plasma 5.10 in testing or sid is now
Code: Select all
apt install plasma-desktop


If you want it in Stretch, try bester's Frankenstall. I'm sure he will guarantee your money back if it misbehaves. :lol:


What about installing Plasma 5.10 in Stretch??, Netrunner repos. gives you this possibility:
Netrunner 17.06 is built over Debian Testing 2017.05.30 (if im not mistaken this is Stretch in freeze period); In my opinion this installation its not a frankendebian kind of installation. Anyways KDE plasma gives not much problem with the system, you keept it stable and only use it to upgarde DE Plasma.

Im now using PLasma 5.9 for six months or so without any problem (very stable) by using Netunner 1703 repos.
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: Installing KDE Plasma 5.10

Postby bester69 » 2017-09-25 20:53

stevepusser wrote:Why do we need the Calamares installer to upgrade the KDE packages? And won't the apt system have a fit if you don't have a key for that repo?

I dont know whats that calamares, i just used the repos. that created the Netrunner installation, and I dont find the key, it must be somewhere :? , but i dont really care, one i upgraded the plasma, i comment it and leave only debian's repos.
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 903
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable