Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[SOLVED] No 5.1 HDMI sound on Netflix

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
MH

[SOLVED] No 5.1 HDMI sound on Netflix

#1 Post by MH »

I have been using Linux exclusively for well over 10 years. Audio has always been a problem. Now it seems video has become a problem. I have been running a Debian-based HTPC for more than 8 years. Every time I upgraded I had to spend hours fussing with pulseaudio to get it to output to my 5.1 audio system. Eventually, I managed to solve the problem. The same remains true to this day.

Recently, I subscribed to Netflix. The first time I tried it, there was no sound. After much searching, I discovered that Netflix apparently uses an audio codec that will not pass over S/PDIF. I decided to upgrade my video card (NVidia) to a newer version that supports audio out over HDMI. This was supposed to solve the issue. It did not. I had to upgrade to a newer NVidia driver that supported my new video card. This meant upgrading to Debian Testing (Buster).

Afterwards, all was good. Sort of. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the video. The window manager (sddm) displayed a black screen. By chance, I discovered I could still login by typing my password into the black screen. After logging in, my KDE desktop would load and I was good to go. Both Kodi and VLC would play movies and output 5.1 surround over HDMI to my AVR which redirected video to my TV.

At some point, an upgrade caused the HDMI connection to simply fail. Black screen, unable to login. There is no problem connecting directly to a monitor via HDMI (or VGA or DVI), but the NVidia driver will no longer pass either audio or video over HDMI.