Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 13:22

Hi,

I have fresh Stretch installation and kde-plasma-desktop installed into it. I have 4k screen and when I try to make DPI bigger from Displays - Scale Display, it does not affect to DPI settings.
Do you know how to fix it? I using backports reposititories.
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby bw123 » 2018-01-19 15:44

There is a 'font' dpi setting in the systemsettings, but on my big crt I use this
Code: Select all
xrandr --dpi 100

in ~/.config/autostart-scripts/whatever.sh

the xdpyinfo command will tell you more about your setup.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3579
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 16:10

bw123 wrote:There is a 'font' dpi setting in the systemsettings, but on my big crt I use this
Code: Select all
xrandr --dpi 100

in ~/.config/autostart-scripts/whatever.sh

the xdpyinfo command will tell you more about your setup.
Nothing happens when I give that command. :/
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby bw123 » 2018-01-19 16:17

j5h wrote:Nothing happens when I give that command. :/


Are you sure" Works fine here, although 100 is a very slight change from the default. You should read man pages before using commands from the internet.

Code: Select all
$ xdpyinfo | grep reso
  resolution:    96x96 dots per inch
$ xrandr --dpi 100
$ xdpyinfo | grep reso
  resolution:    100x100 dots per inch
$ xrandr --dpi 96
$ xdpyinfo | grep reso
  resolution:    96x96 dots per inch
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3579
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 16:27

Code: Select all
$ xrandr --dpi 120
$ xdpyinfo | grep reso
resolution:    120x120 dots per inch


I can change dpi value, but it wont change anything..
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby bw123 » 2018-01-19 16:47

j5h wrote:
Code: Select all
$ xrandr --dpi 120
$ xdpyinfo | grep reso
resolution:    120x120 dots per inch


I can change dpi value, but it wont change anything..


There are a lot of internet posts about it, one of the better ones is here.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/HiDPI#KDE

Setting dpi probably isn't what you want. What you want is to find good settings for font, icon, tray, and scale and that will take a little work and experimenting to find what you like.
Last edited by bw123 on 2018-01-19 16:48, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3579
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 16:48

Code: Select all
$ sudo apt install plasma-workspace-wayland


I think this is solution to this, but there's some problems after login to Wayland. Everything is too big and primary display is unknown. Something wrong with graphic card drivers I guess.
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 17:05

Has anyone used Wayland with Debian? This is totally new stuff for me, so I don't how to proceed. Does Wayland even use Xorg drivers or are drivers handled other way?
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby j5h » 2018-01-19 17:46

Seems that Wayland does not work with Debian or I just do not know how to configure it. It's a shame that only Gnome can handle 4k screens.
j5h
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-01-19 12:59

Re: Debian Stretch, KDE & DPI settings

Postby sunrat » 2018-01-19 22:28

j5h wrote:Seems that Wayland does not work with Debian or I just do not know how to configure it. It's a shame that only Gnome can handle 4k screens.

I've been using KDE Plasma 5 with a 4K monitor for over a year. It looks excellent. I set System Settings > Fonts - Force fonts DPI to 160 and resized the panel but don't remember exactly what else. The Arch wiki page bw123 posted is very helpful.
I did not use Wayland. It's still a bit too experimental.
4K support is also dependent on the capabilities of your video card and its driver.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2495
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable