[Solved] Debian Stretch - switching DE?

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[Solved] Debian Stretch - switching DE?

Postby turboscrew » 2018-01-24 20:17

I just installed Debian 9.3 to one of my machines. Out of curiosity I selected Gnome as the DE.
When I logged in the first time I pretty much paniced: As if I was staring to Win 8/10 or Unity. Or some other giant phone!

How do I switch to some other DE? Or is it the best way to reinstall the system now, that it's not used yet?
The other DE could be Cinnamon, MATE, xfce, ... pretty much any "non-phone" DE.
Last edited by turboscrew on 2018-01-24 21:13, edited 1 time in total.
De-bugging is for sissies, real men do de-monstrations.
turboscrew
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2009-03-23 09:17
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

Re: Debian Stretch - switching DE?

Postby arochester » 2018-01-24 20:19

Try*

Input to a Terminal:
Code: Select all
tasksel
arochester
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Debian Stretch - switching DE?

Postby turboscrew » 2018-01-24 20:48

Thanks. I'll try if I find a terminal somewhere... :)
De-bugging is for sissies, real men do de-monstrations.
turboscrew
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2009-03-23 09:17
Location: Nokia (town), Finland

Re: Debian Stretch - switching DE?

Postby turboscrew » 2018-01-24 21:12

Yep, Very effortless and worked fine. Thanks again!
I also realized, that classic Gnome would probably have been fine too, but not the "x11 default".
(Like I mentioned, I got into a panic at first... :) )
De-bugging is for sissies, real men do de-monstrations.
turboscrew
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 2009-03-23 09:17
Location: Nokia (town), Finland


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: babcat and 8 guests

fashionable