Mate desktop is static

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Mate desktop is static

Postby corsairetc » 2018-02-07 05:34

Hello,
Yesterday I was login to my Debian 8 x64. WHen desktop show up everything looks as usually, until I want to click the system item nothing happened. So I try to click Places;Application nothing no menu was roll out. So I try click on computer icon on desktop situation is same nothing happened icon was be only highlighted. Now my mate desktop is only static picture withou interaction. I can only work via ssh. I try reinstall mate-desktop-enviroment, from ssh I run lightdm restart. Restart whole system.
Nothing help so far.
Does any one has this problem ?

Thank you for any help.
corsairetc
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2014-11-14 05:30

Re: Mate desktop is static

Postby bw123 » 2018-02-07 06:22

Does it happen when you create a new user and use that? A good thing to check when having problems using desktop environments. That way you know if it is a problem with config in home, or something more serious.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3532
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Mate desktop is static

Postby corsairetc » 2018-02-07 06:53

I try to cennect via VNC with different users and there is desktop works. So what could be wrong with my account ?
corsairetc
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2014-11-14 05:30

Re: Mate desktop is static

Postby debiman » 2018-02-07 18:35

why via VNC? don't you have direct access? can't you do what was suggested in the last post? is this some sort of server?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3035
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Mate desktop is static

Postby corsairetc » 2018-02-08 04:55

I fix it. I was open the terminal and type:
Code: Select all
sudo tasksel
and uninstall and again reinstall the MATE. Now is working.
corsairetc
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2014-11-14 05:30


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable