[SOLVED] KVM and wireless bridging

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[SOLVED] KVM and wireless bridging

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-12 02:18

I'm not able to start vmplayer on debian 9 testing.

Image




I tried:

root@debian:/home/rafal# apt-cache search linux-headers-$(uname -r)

linux-headers-4.14.0-3-amd64 - Header files for Linux 4.14.0-3-amd64

root@debian:/home/rafal# apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)

Image
Last edited by korbielow on 2018-03-02 06:57, edited 3 times in total.
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-12 06:55

Why are you using such a rubbish virtualisation system?

Try an upgrade:

https://wiki.debian.org/KVM

^ That contains no proprietary code and requires no custom kernel blobs for full performance.

EDIT: also, Debian 9 is stable, not testing.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7453
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-12 16:36

Dude thanks for your answer!

I have never heard about KVM but I would love to test it.
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby stevepusser » 2018-02-12 19:55

I also believe that VMplayer can't build its modules on the 4.14 kernel without being patched. If you try and install it in the terminal, don't you see any errors? I leave it to you to do the necessary research to see if my first theory is correct.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10, Pale Moon 27.9.1, Enlightenment 0.22, Calligra 3.1, VLC 3.0.2, Firefox 60.0, Krita 4.0.3
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9529
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-14 15:39

Can someone explain me how to configure connection in kvm between host(debian) and guest (winxp) ?
I added this to /etc/network/interfaces
Code: Select all
modprobe dummy
ip link add dummy0 type dummy
ip link add link dummy0 macvlan0 type macvlan mode bridge
ifconfig dummy0 up
ifconfig macvlan0 192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 up


I selected bridge macvtap.
Is it the right way ?
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-02-14 18:04

I can't, but maybe this can :
how to configure connection in kvm between host(debian) and guest (winxp) ?

The best one I see is :
https://wiki.debian.org/KVM
Setting up bridge networking
---- snip---Between VM host, guests and the world

In order to let communications between host, guests and outside world, you may set up a bridge and as described at QEMU page.

For example, you may modify network configuration file /etc/network/interfaces for setup ethernet interface eth0 to a bridge interface br0 similar as below. After the configuration, you can set using Bridge Interface br0 as the network connection in VM guests configuration.
---snip-- read it all ---


Also , many of the other results should be educational.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-14 18:52

Dude I already did what is written in here https://wiki.debian.org/KVM.
I did this
Between VM host and guests
To let communications between VM host and VM guests, you may setup a macvlan bridge on top of a dummy interface similar as below. After the configuration, you can set using interface dummy0 (macvtap) in bridged mode as the network configuration in VM guests configuration.


modprobe dummy
ip link add dummy0 type dummy
ip link add link dummy0 macvlan0 type macvlan mode bridge
ifconfig dummy0 up
ifconfig macvlan0 192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

I'm still not able to connect.
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-02-14 22:16

What is a Dude ? Didn't know , so I looked it up:What is a Dude ?, well at least it isn't really a insult, but certainly does not apply to me: This is the real me :https://youtu.be/fONXNEnwjBE

Dude,
With that said, Try reading a little more carefull:
by korbielow » I selected bridge macvtap.
Is it the right way ?

NO,
Again, the wiki says:
By default, QEMU uses macvtap in VEPA mode to provide NAT internet access or bridged access with other guest. Unfortunately, this setup could not let the host to communicate with any guests.

Read further down, :
Between VM host, guests and the world

In order to let communications between host, guests and outside world, you may set up a bridge and as described at QEMU page.

For example, you may modify network configuration file /etc/network/interfaces for setup ethernet interface eth0 to a bridge interface br0 similar as below. After the configuration, you can set using Bridge Interface br0 as the network connection in VM guests configuration.


Pay attention, where it say: " set up a bridge ", that is a link to
https://wiki.debian.org/BridgeNetworkConnections
you probably need to read that as well, I know , it is complicated, and a lot of reading, but I don't know of any simpler way to explain it all.
There is also a link to the "QEMU" page, that is important reading.
Another thing, the code shown on the wiki, is not intended to be copy pasted
into you configuration ,note it says:
of a dummy interface similar as below
, (similar,adjective
1.
showing resemblance in qualities, characteristics, or appearance; alike but not identical
)
, and just work.
Sometimes you need to modify it to fit your configuration. It is just a example.
Some important points from the "BridgedNetworConnections" link in the wiki, and shown above:
The program you’re going to need is called brctl and is included in bridge-utils. Find it in Synaptic, or install it using this command:

Do you have "bridge-utils" installed ?
Required debian packages for vlan and bonding:
Code: Select all
aptitude install vlan ifenslave
echo "8021q" >> /etc/modules


I'm still not able to connect.

No error messages ? or anything .... ???
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-15 07:08

Sorry about this OP, I must admit that I've only really used Debian guests in QEMU :oops:

I use Arch & Alpine Linux as hosts and they allow the guest to access the host at the IP address 10.0.2.2 so all I need to do is declare that as the gateway in /etc/network/interfaces

I managed to grab 10 minutes on the family Debian box yesterday and it does seem a little more complicated there (strangely) so I will have to investigate more next time the machine is free...
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7453
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian buster

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-15 08:30

I did this:

Code: Select all
source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*


iface eno1 inet static
        address 192.168.2.200
        network 192.168.2.0
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        broadcast 192.168.2.255
        gateway 192.168.2.1



auto br0
iface br0 inet static
        address 192.168.2.21
        network 192.168.2.0
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        broadcast 192.168.2.255
        gateway 192.168.2.1


auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


root@debian:/home/rafal# brctl show
bridge name   bridge id      STP enabled   interfaces
br0      8000.5c260a43bd7f   no      eno1


I'm able to ping from guest to host bot not able from host to guest.
After every reboot it's bridge is disappearing.
Last edited by korbielow on 2018-02-16 17:58, edited 2 times in total.
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian 9 testing

Postby stevepusser » 2018-02-15 19:45

Please remove the "9" from the thread title, too, as it makes no sense with that in there.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10, Pale Moon 27.9.1, Enlightenment 0.22, Calligra 3.1, VLC 3.0.2, Firefox 60.0, Krita 4.0.3
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9529
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian buster

Postby korbielow » 2018-02-21 15:20

I use this instruction https://specman1.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/wireless-bridging-virtual-machines-kvm/Still not working. Still not able to ping from host to guest
Code: Select all
root@debian:/sbin# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
default         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    600    0        0 wlp2s0b1
link-local      0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     1000   0        0 virbr1
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     600    0        0 wlp2s0b1
192.168.2.160   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.224 U     0      0        0 virbr1
root@debian:/sbin# ping 192.168.2.183
PING 192.168.2.183 (192.168.2.183) 56(84) bytes of data.


Image


Image

Image
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24


Re: [+]Not able to start vmplayer 14 on debian buster

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-28 15:15

Thanks for posting your solution and sorry I couldn't help you more with this.

Would it be possible to change the title of the thread to reflect the solution?

Something like "[SOLVED] KVM and wireless bridging" would really help other people find this.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7453
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: [SOLVED] KVM and wireless bridging

Postby korbielow » 2018-03-02 07:01

And also it's important to disable firewall on WIN guest to be able to ping from host to guest.
To copy pest between host guest it's needed to install spice-guest-tools-0.2.exe on guest /win xp/.
At the end setup static IP and disable DHCP on guest.
Image

Good luck!
korbielow
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2014-12-21 11:24


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable