SDDM doesn't work with Plasma

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

SDDM doesn't work with Plasma

Postby kdeready » 2018-02-27 11:50

I installed Debian Sid in Virtual Box and wanted to use minimal Plasma on it. Unfortunately SDDM doesn't start at all with Plasma installed. My exact steps:
1. sudo aptitude install xserver-xorg sddm -R
Everything works at this point, after reboot SDDM shows up.
2. sudo aptitude install plasma-desktop plasma-workspace kde-runtime kwin-x11 -R
Now after reboot I see standard text console as if SDDM didn't exist, even though systemctl status shows sddm.service as active and running.
If i try to start it manually by typing "sddm" it says:
DAEMON: Initializing...
DAEMON: Logind interface found...
DAMEON: Starting...
and nothing happens.

If I use LightDM instead, everything's fine.
kdeready
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-02-27 11:27

Re: SDDM doesn't work with Plasma

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-02-28 12:04

Try to install both SDDM and Plasma at the same time:
Code: Select all
apt install xorg plasma-desktop sddm
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: SDDM doesn't work with Plasma

Postby kdeready » 2018-02-28 20:34

I did that the first time and result was the same. However I did the same steps on an actual PC and it works, but I noticed something - SDDM starts at tty7 which I couldn't acces on virtual machine (only 1-6 was available). Anyway I'm not going to dig any further, so case closed.
kdeready
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-02-27 11:27


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable