Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian 9 Mate - enabling compiz

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
programster

Debian 9 Mate - enabling compiz

#1 Post by programster »

Hello there,
This is my first time to use this forum, so be gentle :)

I decided to try and switch to Debian 9 Mate after trying deciding Ubuntu 18.04 wasn't for me. So far I am having great fun customizing the heck out of it but have hit a little problem enabling compiz.

I installed compiz from the steps described http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=133561.

I also installed mate-desktop-environment-extras package after seeing http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... iz#p655331

Compiz replace appears to work, except that I lose my window titlebars (window decoration).

If I run:

Code: Select all

gtk-window-decorator --replace
Then I will get the following error:

(gtk-window-decorator:14727): Gtk-ERROR **: GTK+ 2.x symbols detected. Using GTK+ 2.x and GTK+ 3 in the same process is not supported
Trace/breakpoint trap
Is there an easy way to resolve this?

programster

Re: Debian 9 Mate - enabling compiz

#2 Post by programster »

Okay so using the PPA looks like it was what was causing the issue. I removed it and uninstalled compiz-* before reinstalling it:

sudo apt-get install compiz compizconfig-settings-manager compiz-mate -y
I then enabling it through the mate tweak tool (under windows -> Window manager)

Compiz now fully works but the window decorations are far uglier. its a small price to pay for having much smoother resizing of Firefox and having the desktop wall back again.