[SOLVED] KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[SOLVED] KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby aza-industries » 2018-08-20 00:17

Hi everyone, new to the forums.
I'm sorry to do this I normally try to solve problems myself but I've been stuck on this for a while.

So I managed to get Cisco Packet Tracer installed on a fresh debian system using KDE Plasma.

The problem I'm having is the UI doesn't seem right.
Everything seems extra large and the font colour/sizing is wrong.

I've tried finding a way of disabling theming and other stuff for individual apps to no avail, but I'm not even sure if that would fix the problem.
Something seems deeply broken.

Preview:
https://unsee.cc/c642929e/
Sorry I had to use some random temp host because attachments were causing an internal server error.

I've tried version 7.1 and 7.2.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your time.

EDIT: I seem to have fixed my problem, not sure what it was because I reinstalled a bunch of KDE/Plasma packages.
But I also commented out 2 lines at the bottom of /etc/profile
Code: Select all
#QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO=auto
#export QT_DEVICE_PIXEL_RATIO


So if anyone runs across this problem try that out first because it's the easiest fix.
Last edited by aza-industries on 2018-08-21 06:39, edited 1 time in total.
aza-industries
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-19 23:52

Re: KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby Dai_trying » 2018-08-20 05:49

I had a similar issue with VLC displaying with super large icons and could not fit it's window on my 1920x1080 display, the solution for me was to add the following line to /etc/environment I don't know if it would work for you too but it is part of a bigger problem with QT (as far as I understand it), and this fixed my VLC problem.
Code: Select all
QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 548
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby L_V » 2018-08-20 09:44

Do you use plasma-workspace only or plasma-workspace-wayland ?
Code: Select all
dpkg -l plasma-workspace* |grep '^i'
L_V
 
Posts: 799
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby aza-industries » 2018-08-21 06:38

Code: Select all
ii  plasma-workspace      4:5.8.6-2.1+deb9u1 amd64        Plasma Workspace for KF5
aza-industries
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-19 23:52

Re: [SOLVED] KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby L_V » 2018-08-21 09:03

Is your graphic card using the correct firmware ?

Code: Select all
lspci -k | grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'
dpkg -l firmware* | grep '^i'
―――――――――――――――――――――――――――
EDIT: I've seen you have solved your problem by reinstalling some plasma packages.
=> you should not have modified /etc/profile file.
Better use ~/.profile at user level (only if really necessary....)
L_V
 
Posts: 799
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: [SOLVED] KDE Plasma and Cisco Packet Tracer 7 GUI issues

Postby aza-industries » 2018-08-21 23:03

I'm only on integrated, no discrete gpu.

EDIT: I have fixed my problem with random prodding, but I'm following your line of thought to learn more.

Code: Select all
aaron@plasma:~$ lspci -k | grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 5917 (rev 07)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Device 225c
        Kernel driver in use: i915
aaron@plasma:~$ dpkg -l firmware* | grep '^i'
ii  firmware-iwlwifi      20161130-3   all          Binary firmware for Intel Wireless cards
ii  firmware-linux-free   3.4          all          Binary firmware for various drivers in the Linux kernel
aza-industries
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-08-19 23:52


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable