No Display Resolution Options [Solved]

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

No Display Resolution Options [Solved]

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-11 20:21

I am using Debian 9 on an Asrock B450 Pro4 board and the AMD Ryzen™ 3 2200G with Radeon™ Vega 8 Graphics. I selected Debian and Xfce desktop environments. When I try to change the resolution, there is only one choice and not active options.

The UEFI is set to 1024x768, which is what I prefer, but it did not come thru on the desktop after install.

Any help would be appreciated.
Last edited by KitchM on 2019-07-11 14:03, edited 1 time in total.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-11 23:14

Your amd gpu will need non-free firmware. An amd user will be able to help more. good luck.
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-11 23:33

Thank you.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-06-12 07:31

i have a Ryzen 5 2500u with Vega 8 graphics :)

There is no backported version of xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu, unfortunately, so I would recommend switching to Debian buster instead. It's due to be released as the next Debian stable version in July so it's nearly ready and I haven't had any problems with it.

RC1 installer here:

https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/unof ... 64/iso-cd/

Or wait until July and use the release installer instead.

EDIT: you'll need the firmware-amd-graphics and amd64-microcode packages as well.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12640
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 17:00

Thanks, Head...

I installed the latest Buster and it installed just fine. However, when I booted into it, there was a message that it needed firmware and then it went in hibernate mode. Ctrl+Alt+Del woke it up, shut down and rebooted the cycle again.

Where does one get the firmware? And how does one install it in the unbootable system?
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11


Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-06-13 17:22

^ The link I provided was to those images.

@OP: how did you transfer the image to the installation medium?

Did you verify the integrity of the image?

We have another thread ongoing from a Ryzen user and they had no problems with the RC1 installer.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12640
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 19:37

Thanks.

I used Disks to write the image to USB drive, but I did not do the integrity check.

I got the image from https://www.debian.org/devel/debian-installer/index.en.html and selected the very first one under
netinst for amd64. There was no verification information.

Now I've downloaded the one from the link. I did not realize it was the whole package. I verified it and will now write it to my install media.

I'll report back.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 20:35

Well, after all that work, it made no difference. It only says to go to wiki.debian.org/firmware. That flashes on the screen so fast I almost missed it. So I went there and got no help. It appears I will never get a Debian GUI interface to work on this hardware. Damn!

Debian installer = absolutely great! AMD APU = absolutely crap.

Thanks for all your efforts, folks.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-13 20:40

firmware-amd-graphics and amd64-microcode should be on the iso
can you get to terminal and dpkg them?
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 21:12

Sorry but I don't know what that means. However, looking at the flash drive in a file manager and going into the firmware directory shows a file by the name of amd64-microcode_3.20181128.1_amd64.deb and one named firmware-amd-graphics_20190114-1_all.deb.

Are these the correct ones?
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-13 21:19

yes, you can install them manually
it would make your life easier if you can copy those 2 files to your home directory first

Code: Select all
dpkg -i firmware-amd-graphics amd64-microcode
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 21:28

Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't think we understand each other. The system with the Debian Buster will not boot past the grub menu. I'm afraid I don't know what you mean for me to do. We are conversing on a different system.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby 4D696B65 » 2019-06-13 21:29

I misunderstood, ignore my post.
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: No Display Resolution Options

Postby KitchM » 2019-06-13 21:33

No worries, Good Buddy.

I'm beginning to think about sending back my new components and buying Intel, especially since there is no desktop any more.
KitchM
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 2019-06-11 18:11

Next

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable