Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privileges

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-23 07:28

Just a note that this would not be called from a personal bin folder without a reboot (or maybe log out/in) as system does not check this folders existence (and add it to $PATH) in real time, only at startup
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-11-23 12:13

Dai_trying wrote:Just a note that this would not be called from a personal bin folder without a reboot (or maybe log out/in) as system does not check this folders existence (and add it to $PATH) in real time, only at startup

Just logging out & back in again should do it, ~/.profile adds ~/bin to PATH automatically if it exists.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11503
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Dai_trying » 2019-11-23 13:00

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Just logging out & back in again should do it, ~/.profile adds ~/bin to PATH automatically if it exists.


Yes, my point exactly :)
Dai_trying
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby manelinux » 2019-11-23 14:41

it's not necessary to logout or reboot,
first of all, in my laptop, the personal folder bin was recognized without any special action, the bash completion, in my case, recognize the bin personal folder
this is a part of user file .profile at home
------
# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/bin" ] ; then
PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/.local/bin" ] ; then
PATH="$HOME/.local/bin:$PATH"
fi
-------
in other case, just add the bin folder to the PATH and run:

source .profile

bye.
manelinux
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-11-23 14:46

manelinux wrote:it's not necessary to logout or reboot,
first of all, in my laptop, the personal folder bin was recognized without any special action, the bash completion, in my case, recognize the bin personal folder

Yes, that's because you already had ~/bin

manelinux wrote:in other case, just add the bin folder to the PATH and run:

source .profile

That won't work for all shells:
Code: Select all
E485:~$ source ~/.profile
loksh: source: not found
E485:~127$

Better to suggest the POSIX version:
Code: Select all
. ~/.profile

But even then you would have to run that command for every new shell that was opened so it would be better to log out & back in again.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11503
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby manelinux » 2019-11-23 15:04

i dont know why your have not source command friend.
The source command can be used to load any functions file into the current shell script or a command prompt without logout before.
Used to refresh the current shell environment, the source command can also be used in order to import functions into other bash scripts or to run scripts into the current shell environment.

try it.
make a new directory called whatever, put there the file, add this directory to path and run source.
i'm not inventing nothing.

and in this case, we are only adding a folder to the path env var. nothing special.

bye
manelinux
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-11-23 15:30

manelinux wrote:i dont know why your have not source command friend.

It's a bashism and so is not supported by all shells. The POSIX equivalent of source is . (dot) and that is supported by all shells.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11503
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby manelinux » 2019-11-23 15:46

Yeah! nice note!

i see, loksh is a port of OpenBSD, that's recommended for a resource-constrained systems
Nice to know friend, Thx.

bye
manelinux
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby rulet » 2019-12-28 12:59

I have Debian 10 installed and synaptic works under administrative privileges under wayland gnome session... How can it be?
Debian 10, 64 bit, Gnome 3.30.2, Intel Core i3-6100 CPU 3.70GHz, GT440, 8GB RAM.
rulet
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2011-11-25 18:54

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-12-28 14:44

rulet wrote:How can it be?

Are you sure that Wayland is running? https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... being-used

Synaptic will start under Wayland in my buster system but it runs without root privileges.

EDIT: I can start synaptic as root by using
Code: Select all
xhost +local:
sudo synaptic

But don't try this at home folks! :mrgreen:

And if you do then remember to reset the permissions afterwards:
Code: Select all
xhost -local:
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11503
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby rulet » 2019-12-28 16:59

The session which was choosed is Gnome Wayland, but command output shows:
r@prime:~$ loginctl show-session "$XDG_SESSION_ID" -p Type
Type=x11
So, I think if even to choose wayland session while installed nvidia driver it will defaults to x11(maybe that's because I'm using old nvidia driver(cause video card is pretty old).
Debian 10, 64 bit, Gnome 3.30.2, Intel Core i3-6100 CPU 3.70GHz, GT440, 8GB RAM.
rulet
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 2011-11-25 18:54

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

Postby trinidad » 2020-01-03 16:06

Running synaptic under wayland is a good way to break stuff. That said: to run synaptic under wayland you need an x11 backend as well as an x11 frontend and you must run from root.
So it follows:
Code: Select all
trinidad@debianamd1:~$ Xephyr -br -ac -noreset -screen 1150x850 :8


Then in a new terminal:
Code: Select all
trinidad@debianamd1:~$ su
Password:
root@debianamd1:/home/trinidad# DISPLAY=:8 GDK_BACKEND=x11 synaptic


This will open synaptic in a wayland session under root but I would definitely not use it. Most everything you have a problem with in wayland, that used to run under x11, will work like this, but it is almost never a good idea. The rare exception is x11 forwarding with SSH where it comes in handy.

https://www.dbts-analytics.com/notesxfwdgb.html

Simple concepts to remember: client needs x11 frontend, host needs x11 backend. I feel like a saboteur providing this info... So one more concept to remember: wayland doesn't break things, x11 does.

TC
You can't believe your eyes if your imagination is out of focus.
trinidad
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 2016-08-04 14:58

Previous

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable