Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privileges

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Message
Author
Dai_trying
Posts: 1101
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#31 Post by Dai_trying »

Just a note that this would not be called from a personal bin folder without a reboot (or maybe log out/in) as system does not check this folders existence (and add it to $PATH) in real time, only at startup

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#32 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Dai_trying wrote:Just a note that this would not be called from a personal bin folder without a reboot (or maybe log out/in) as system does not check this folders existence (and add it to $PATH) in real time, only at startup
Just logging out & back in again should do it, ~/.profile adds ~/bin to PATH automatically if it exists.
deadbang

Dai_trying
Posts: 1101
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#33 Post by Dai_trying »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Just logging out & back in again should do it, ~/.profile adds ~/bin to PATH automatically if it exists.
Yes, my point exactly :)

manelinux
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#34 Post by manelinux »

it's not necessary to logout or reboot,
first of all, in my laptop, the personal folder bin was recognized without any special action, the bash completion, in my case, recognize the bin personal folder
this is a part of user file .profile at home
------
# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/bin" ] ; then
PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/.local/bin" ] ; then
PATH="$HOME/.local/bin:$PATH"
fi
-------
in other case, just add the bin folder to the PATH and run:

source .profile

bye.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#35 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

manelinux wrote:it's not necessary to logout or reboot,
first of all, in my laptop, the personal folder bin was recognized without any special action, the bash completion, in my case, recognize the bin personal folder
Yes, that's because you already had ~/bin
manelinux wrote:in other case, just add the bin folder to the PATH and run:

source .profile
That won't work for all shells:

Code: Select all

E485:~$ source ~/.profile
loksh: source: not found
E485:~127$ 
Better to suggest the POSIX version:

Code: Select all

. ~/.profile
But even then you would have to run that command for every new shell that was opened so it would be better to log out & back in again.
deadbang

manelinux
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#36 Post by manelinux »

i dont know why your have not source command friend.
The source command can be used to load any functions file into the current shell script or a command prompt without logout before.
Used to refresh the current shell environment, the source command can also be used in order to import functions into other bash scripts or to run scripts into the current shell environment.

try it.
make a new directory called whatever, put there the file, add this directory to path and run source.
i'm not inventing nothing.

and in this case, we are only adding a folder to the path env var. nothing special.

bye

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#37 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

manelinux wrote:i dont know why your have not source command friend.
It's a bashism and so is not supported by all shells. The POSIX equivalent of source is . (dot) and that is supported by all shells.
deadbang

manelinux
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-22 22:02

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#38 Post by manelinux »

Yeah! nice note!

i see, loksh is a port of OpenBSD, that's recommended for a resource-constrained systems
Nice to know friend, Thx.

bye

rulet
Posts: 63
Joined: 2011-11-25 18:54

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#39 Post by rulet »

I have Debian 10 installed and synaptic works under administrative privileges under wayland gnome session... How can it be?
Debian 10, 64 bit, Gnome 3.30.2, Intel Core i3-6100 CPU 3.70GHz, 8GB RAM.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#40 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

rulet wrote:How can it be?
Are you sure that Wayland is running? https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... being-used

Synaptic will start under Wayland in my buster system but it runs without root privileges.

EDIT: I can start synaptic as root by using

Code: Select all

xhost +local:
sudo synaptic
But don't try this at home folks! :mrgreen:

And if you do then remember to reset the permissions afterwards:

Code: Select all

xhost -local:
deadbang

rulet
Posts: 63
Joined: 2011-11-25 18:54

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#41 Post by rulet »

The session which was choosed is Gnome Wayland, but command output shows:
r@prime:~$ loginctl show-session "$XDG_SESSION_ID" -p Type
Type=x11
So, I think if even to choose wayland session while installed nvidia driver it will defaults to x11(maybe that's because I'm using old nvidia driver(cause video card is pretty old).
Debian 10, 64 bit, Gnome 3.30.2, Intel Core i3-6100 CPU 3.70GHz, 8GB RAM.

trinidad
Posts: 299
Joined: 2016-08-04 14:58
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privile

#42 Post by trinidad »

Running synaptic under wayland is a good way to break stuff. That said: to run synaptic under wayland you need an x11 backend as well as an x11 frontend and you must run from root.
So it follows:

Code: Select all

trinidad@debianamd1:~$ Xephyr -br -ac -noreset -screen 1150x850 :8
Then in a new terminal:

Code: Select all

trinidad@debianamd1:~$ su
Password: 
root@debianamd1:/home/trinidad# DISPLAY=:8 GDK_BACKEND=x11 synaptic
This will open synaptic in a wayland session under root but I would definitely not use it. Most everything you have a problem with in wayland, that used to run under x11, will work like this, but it is almost never a good idea. The rare exception is x11 forwarding with SSH where it comes in handy.

https://www.dbts-analytics.com/notesxfwdgb.html

Simple concepts to remember: client needs x11 frontend, host needs x11 backend. I feel like a saboteur providing this info... So one more concept to remember: wayland doesn't break things, x11 does.

TC
You can't believe your eyes if your imagination is out of focus.

User avatar
manyroads
Posts: 82
Joined: 2021-04-17 14:27
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Wayland,Synaptic continue without administrative privileges

#43 Post by manyroads »

Sorry for the necro-response... but I have found that starting synaptic from a terminal using the following command works:

sudo -E synaptic
Pax vobiscum,
Mark Rabideau- Prof Genealogist - http://many-roads.com
Linux BLOG https://eirenicon.org
spectrwm,i3wm,hlwm,bspwm,dwm
Linux User #449130

Post Reply