[Solved] Debian 10 - No sound card available to Pulseaudio

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[Solved] Debian 10 - No sound card available to Pulseaudio

Postby Azgu » 2019-08-07 18:37

Hey,

I have a problem with sound on my laptop that has Buster, which I upgraded to from Stretch. In Stretch I had no problem with sound.

My troubleshooting began, when I noticed that the sound output options only has "Dummy Output". After Ducking a bit I found that I should check the status of Alsa, but that gave me this result:

Code: Select all
root@buster:/# alsactl init
bash: alsactl: command not found


So it seems that for some reason I don't have Alsa - could someone help me with this problem? I've been unable to find any instructions as to what I should do.

Here are the outputs of some of the other commands, that might be useful:

Code: Select all
root@buster:/# lsmod | grep snd
snd_hrtimer            16384  1
snd_seq_midi           16384  0
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            40960  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                81920  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         16384  3 snd_seq,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi
snd_soc_skl           114688  0
snd_soc_skl_ipc        73728  1 snd_soc_skl
snd_soc_sst_ipc        16384  1 snd_soc_skl_ipc
snd_soc_sst_dsp        36864  1 snd_soc_skl_ipc
snd_hda_ext_core       28672  1 snd_soc_skl
snd_soc_acpi_intel_match    24576  1 snd_soc_skl
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     57344  1
snd_soc_acpi           16384  2 snd_soc_acpi_intel_match,snd_soc_skl
snd_soc_core          253952  1 snd_soc_skl
snd_hda_codec_generic    86016  1
snd_compress           24576  1 snd_soc_core
snd_hda_intel          45056  4
snd_hda_codec         151552  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core           94208  6 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_ext_core,snd_hda_codec,snd_soc_skl
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            61440  0
snd_mixer_oss          28672  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm               114688  9 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_ext_core,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_soc_core,snd_soc_skl,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              36864  4 snd_seq,snd_hrtimer,snd_pcm
snd                    94208  21 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,snd_compress,snd_pcm_oss,snd_soc_core,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore              16384  1 snd


Code: Select all
root@buster:/# lspci -nnk | grep -A2 Audio
00:1f.3 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio [8086:9d71] (rev 21)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio [17aa:3837]
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
   Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel, snd_soc_skl


Code: Select all
root@buster:/# dpkg -l alsa*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name           Version      Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================================
un  alsa-base      <none>       <none>       (no description available)
ii  alsa-tools     1.1.7-1      amd64        Console based ALSA utilities for specific hardwar
ii  alsa-utils     1.1.8-2      amd64        Utilities for configuring and using ALSA
Last edited by Azgu on 2019-08-10 12:18, edited 1 time in total.
Azgu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-01-31 11:52

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby ruwolf » 2019-08-07 18:55

As you can see it, you have not installed alsa-base package...
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install alsa-base
User avatar
ruwolf
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Slovakia, Banovce nad Bebravou, Matice slovenskej 1260/4-7

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-08-07 19:41

Azgu wrote:
Code: Select all
bash: alsactl: command not found

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=142973
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux® — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10695
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby sunrat » 2019-08-08 00:00

ruwolf wrote:As you can see it, you have not installed alsa-base package...
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install alsa-base


Package is deprecated - https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw ... ection=all
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby vbrummond » 2019-08-08 02:23

The command alsactl is in: alsa-utils
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby L_V » 2019-08-08 07:52

Azgu wrote:
Code: Select all
ii  alsa-utils     1.1.8-2      amd64        Utilities for configuring and using ALSA
alsa-utils => /usr/sbin/alsactl

Either launch /usr/sbin/alsactl
or
Code: Select all
PATH=$PATH:/usr/sbin/
alsactl
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-08-09 08:21

L_V wrote:Either launch /usr/sbin/alsactl
or
Code: Select all
PATH=$PATH:/usr/sbin/
alsactl

Or use the su command correctly, as explained in my [FAQ] link.
Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux® — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10695
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian 10 - Alsa missing

Postby Azgu » 2019-08-10 12:08

I was able to run the command, but that did not fix the problem:

Code: Select all
root@buster:~# alsactl init
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek Generic" "HDA:10ec0230,17aa3820,00100002 HDA:8086280b,80860101,00100000" "0x17aa" "0x3837"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method


It seems, that even thought the operating system sees the sound card, it is not available to Pulseaudio, for some reason:

Code: Select all
antti@buster:~$ pacmd list-cards
0 card(s) available.


Alsa-base is deprecated, so I can't re-install it. I tried purging and re-installing Pulseaudio, but that did not fix the problem.
Azgu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-01-31 11:52

Re: [Solved] Debian 10 - No sound card available to Pulseaud

Postby Azgu » 2019-08-10 12:20

After Ducking some more about this issue, I found a solution here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu ... g#No_cards

For some reason I had a program called Timidity installed on my machine, and it was hogging the snd-files, so they were not available to Pulseaudio. The issue was fixed thusly:

Code: Select all
apt remove timidity
Azgu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-01-31 11:52

Re: [Solved] Debian 10 - No sound card available to Pulseaud

Postby ShujaRafi » 2019-11-19 14:12

Azgu wrote:After Ducking some more about this issue, I found a solution here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu ... g#No_cards

For some reason I had a program called Timidity installed on my machine, and it was hogging the snd-files, so they were not available to Pulseaudio. The issue was fixed thusly:

Code: Select all
apt remove timidity


I've updated from Stretch to Buster, Sound didn't work, removing the timidity fixed my problem.
Thank you.
ShujaRafi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014-11-07 12:59

Re: [Solved] Debian 10 - No sound card available to Pulseaud

Postby sunrat » 2019-11-19 21:03

ShujaRafi wrote:I've updated from Stretch to Buster, Sound didn't work, removing the timidity fixed my problem.
Thank you.

Holy crap, that timidity problem was around over a year ago and I thought it was long gone so it didn't even cross my mind. There are several threads on this forum about it.
The issue then was that timidity would add itself to the audio group which made audio unavailable to anything else. Not sure if it's still the same issue - https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=901931
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

fashionable