Cannot get Gnome to load

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Cannot get Gnome to load

Postby PseudoXenon » 2019-10-03 05:13

HI There,
New to linux but have learnt heaps in the past few days, I have (successfully HA!) installed Debian onto this micro pc i have, it is called a flexicast terminator and is running an amd geode.

So my problem is it boots and says Gnome is working, and sits on the [ ok ] Started "" Page
I got to terminal and type start x
The screen loads for a second and my display searches for an input for a moment, then i get a black screen with just a cursor.
I have scoured the internet for hours and try a dozen different things with no success, I do have a terrible feeling that the micro pc just cannot physically display the desktop, however i am not ready to give up yet, so any help would be greatly appreciated
PseudoXenon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-03 05:08

Re: Cannot get Gnome to load

Postby PseudoXenon » 2019-10-03 05:14

Just more info,


If i try and do anything with Tasksel it sits there with a blinking cursor for ages

i have uninstalled and reinstalled gnome
PseudoXenon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-03 05:08

Re: Cannot get Gnome to load

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2019-10-05 15:20

Don't break DebianHow to report bugs

SharpBang GNU/Linux — a pre-configured Openbox/Tint2 desktop running on Debian stable
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 10613
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable