Connect to a network printer.

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Connect to a network printer.

Postby hack3rcon » 2019-10-09 09:43

Hello,
In "System->Administration", I can't see any "printing" for add a network printer. Which packages must be installing?

Thank you.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54

Re: Connect to a network printer.

Postby shep » 2019-10-09 10:22

There are 3 different print spoolers available: CUPS, LPR and LPRng. Setup depends on which one you are using.

CUPS is most common and GNOME, KDE and XFCE4 have setup gui's. You can also bypass the GUI's and use Firefox/Chromium to access the web interface or manually configure via the command line.

The web interface is described. step by step with screenshots, in the Debian wiki on System Printing

https://wiki.debian.org/SystemPrinting

There are several networking protocols, the default is ip://. The JetDirect port (socket://) also works well for printers that support it.
shep
 
Posts: 325
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Connect to a network printer.

Postby hack3rcon » 2019-10-12 06:15

shep wrote:There are 3 different print spoolers available: CUPS, LPR and LPRng. Setup depends on which one you are using.

CUPS is most common and GNOME, KDE and XFCE4 have setup gui's. You can also bypass the GUI's and use Firefox/Chromium to access the web interface or manually configure via the command line.

The web interface is described. step by step with screenshots, in the Debian wiki on System Printing

https://wiki.debian.org/SystemPrinting

There are several networking protocols, the default is ip://. The JetDirect port (socket://) also works well for printers that support it.

Thanks, but I want to know what is the name of below package?
Image
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54

Re: Connect to a network printer.

Postby shep » 2019-10-12 14:00

About 2/3 the way down in the above link
https://wiki.debian.org/SystemPrinting#Alternative_Configuration_Methods_and_Utilities
Choose the one appropriate for your desktop

In order to add printers, you need administration (root) privileges.

The gui's, usually started as a user, have not always prompted for root privileges. I think the reason the wiki recommends the web gui is that it works with any desktop and gives you more control.
shep
 
Posts: 325
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable