Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Postby kerryhall » 2019-11-05 00:49

Trying to get soundfonts to play in reaper.

I've been looking at:

https://github.com/osxmidi/SFZero-X

But sadly the binaries don't work with Debian (needs libcurl3 and Debian 10 only has libcurl4)

And compiling it...well...just read the instructions for yourself.

I've been using fluidsynth to play soundfonts for midi input and it works great! But is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST for a DAW?

Or failing that, how can I play soundfonts with my DAW? Soundfonts are 30+ years old at this point, surely there is a way to use them with a DAW by now?
kerryhall
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2008-08-19 11:06

Re: Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Postby kedaha » 2019-11-05 07:04

Interesting.
I don't know if it would work but maybe you could simply remove libcurl4, if installed, and download libcurl3 directly from Debian packages and install it with dpkg or gdebi.
However I see libcurl4-gnutls-dev there as a dependency which looks incongruent with it needing libcurl3.
Simulate the command to see what would be removed with current libcurl4.
$ apt remove --purge -s libcurl4
Regarding getting it to work with a DAW, no idea, but if I anything occurs to me I'll post again.
Mate DE & OSSv4.
FreedomBox in Debian
ispmail
Debian Stable

Words, as is well known, are the great foes of reality. Joseph Conrad.
Kedaha's Conjecture
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3017
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Postby kerryhall » 2019-11-05 23:38

Thank you! I would honestly prefer to avoid any package hacking, I've had things break in the past trying to do that.

I would like to basically explore any other option that allows me to accomplish my goal (playing soundfonts in a daw).
kerryhall
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2008-08-19 11:06

Re: Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Postby kerryhall » 2019-11-11 20:42

Still looking but haven't found anything.

Is this possible? Does anyone have any suggestions here?

Thank you!
kerryhall
 
Posts: 132
Joined: 2008-08-19 11:06

Re: Is there a way to use fluidsynth as a VST plugin?

Postby sunrat » 2019-11-12 03:45

Fluidsynth (and Qsynth) work in Qtractor, Ardour, and Mixbus as LV2 plugins. Probably in Rosegarden too, maybe you could run it in Rosegarden or Qtractor and route the audio to Reaper with JACK.
I have no idea if Reaper supports LV2, or if Fluidsynth has a VST version.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable