[Wont Fix] CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[Wont Fix] CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby bester69 » 2019-11-16 00:41

Hi,

There is something pretty wrong with this combination, When you are working with Gimp and have copyq running in background, and make copy/paste operations with gimp It just crashes, furthermore until crash happens, gimp works like kind of laggy when copy/paste... I tried with flatpak version. and also reproduce this issue, and when Copyq is closed doesnt happend anymore..

Do you know about this?
:shock:
Last edited by bester69 on 2020-03-09 16:28, edited 1 time in total.
bester69 wrote:You wont change my mind when I know Im right, Im not an ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby bester69 » 2020-03-07 11:54

I had to make a script as a workaround

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
#

killall copyq
#flatpak run org.gimp.GIMP "$@"
/usr/bin/gimp-2.8.run "$@"
copyq &
bester69 wrote:You wont change my mind when I know Im right, Im not an ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-03-07 12:52

I can't reproduce this problem in my Debian buster system so I think we'll have to chalk this up to your FrankenDebian. We did tell you so :mrgreen:

How bad is it, exactly?
Code: Select all
apt policy
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 11528
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby bester69 » 2020-03-07 16:12

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:I can't reproduce this problem in my Debian buster system so I think we'll have to chalk this up to your FrankenDebian. We did tell you so :mrgreen:

How bad is it, exactly?
Code: Select all
apt policy

ok, I forgot to tell Im with stretch yet, wont move to buster untill I buy a newer laptop...

I thing the only strange thing Ive in my debian installation it's i alway use ubuntu kernel, becouse I need to use a specific kernel version due to looking for maximun performance.. So In ubuntu i can find the debs ready for any version available and try them. After testing many many kernels, I always went back to 4.4.39 ..after that version on, more or less, newer version kernel gave me worse system performance ..
bester69 wrote:You wont change my mind when I know Im right, Im not an ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby sunrat » 2020-03-07 21:50

bester69 wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:I can't reproduce this problem in my Debian buster system so I think we'll have to chalk this up to your FrankenDebian. We did tell you so :mrgreen:

How bad is it, exactly?
Code: Select all
apt policy

ok, I forgot to tell Im with stretch yet, wont move to buster untill I buy a newer laptop...

I thing the only strange thing Ive in my debian installation it's i alway use ubuntu kernel,


You really should stop pretending you run Debian. It may have been when you first installed it but your regular posts about installing random stuff and running scripts say it's certainly not now.
And too shy to post apt policy?

Nice work on getting it to keep running as long as you have so far nevertheless! :mrgreen:
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2998
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby bester69 » 2020-03-08 00:02

sunrat wrote:
bester69 wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:I can't reproduce this problem in my Debian buster system so I think we'll have to chalk this up to your FrankenDebian. We did tell you so :mrgreen:

How bad is it, exactly?
Code: Select all
apt policy

ok, I forgot to tell Im with stretch yet, wont move to buster untill I buy a newer laptop...

I thing the only strange thing Ive in my debian installation it's i alway use ubuntu kernel,


You really should stop pretending you run Debian. It may have been when you first installed it but your regular posts about installing random stuff and running scripts say it's certainly not now.
And too shy to post apt policy?

Nice work on getting it to keep running as long as you have so far nevertheless! :mrgreen:


dude, I use btrfs snapshots since so long, in home and system volumes, I keep myself in the safe zone :mrgreen: Ive my own stable snapshoots to rollback if needed :P , nothing can goes wrong ... like Kimi Raikkonen would say, "let me alone, I know what im doing" 8)


I dont know what is that for (apt policy), but there you have, just in case can help with it

apt policy
Archivos de paquetes:
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
release a=now
500 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb stable/main amd64 Packages
release v=1.0,o=Google LLC,a=stable,n=stable,l=Google,c=main,b=amd64
origin dl.google.com
500 https://brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com stable/main amd64 Packages
release o=Brave Software,a=stable,n=stable,l=Brave Browser,c=main,b=amd64
origin brave-browser-apt-release.s3.brave.com
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/non-free i386 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=non-free,b=i386
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/non-free amd64 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=non-free,b=amd64
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/contrib i386 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=contrib,b=i386
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/contrib amd64 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=contrib,b=amd64
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/main i386 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main,b=i386
origin security.debian.org
500 http://security.debian.org stretch/updates/main amd64 Packages
release v=9,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian-Security,c=main,b=amd64
origin security.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates/main i386 Packages
release o=Debian,a=oldstable-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main,b=i386
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch-updates/main amd64 Packages
release o=Debian,a=oldstable-updates,n=stretch-updates,l=Debian,c=main,b=amd64
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/non-free i386 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=non-free,b=i386
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/non-free amd64 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=non-free,b=amd64
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/contrib i386 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=contrib,b=i386
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/contrib amd64 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=contrib,b=amd64
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main i386 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main,b=i386
origin deb.debian.org
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
release v=9.12,o=Debian,a=oldstable,n=stretch,l=Debian,c=main,b=amd64
origin deb.debian.org
bester69 wrote:You wont change my mind when I know Im right, Im not an ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15

Re: CopyQ and Gimp crashes!!

Postby bester69 » 2020-03-08 00:25

sunrat wrote:
You really should stop pretending you run Debian. It may have been when you first installed it but your regular posts about installing random stuff and running scripts say it's certainly not now.
And too shy to post apt policy?

Nice work on getting it to keep running as long as you have so far nevertheless! :mrgreen:


My installation might be very complex for some people, but it's in my opinion 95% debian stable.. I've every kind of things in my installation (snaps, flatpaks, libavcodec backported by Steve, ubuntus' kodi debs, ubuntu's kernel installed, vaapi-intel compiled, some non debian applications installed, btrfs snapshots, playonlinux applications, some debian multimedia packages installed, some updated backports packages, libreoffice non debian debs , some firmware, microcode debian packages holded..)..

so, I would say a pretty standard debian installation for an advanced user. :?, When I decide to install ubuntu's kodi, I know only two non debian packages goint to be installed, and know as well those two packages doesnt affect others ones and wont mess anything in debian stable... its all very controlled.. and if one day I have some references packages issue, Its easy for me to resolve.. Ive a lot of practice playing with ffmpeg depedencies hells and aptitude
bester69 wrote:You wont change my mind when I know Im right, Im not an ...
User avatar
bester69
 
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2015-04-02 13:15


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable