desktop problem debian 10.2

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-16 11:07

Hello,

i have installed debian buster 10.2 with LXDE and when I try to open clamtk with the terminal as root i receive this message:

Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: at /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl5/5.28/Gtk2.pm line 126.

If i try to open it from the menu or with the terminal but not as root, it works fine.

Before I used stretch 9.4 with LXDE and it worked fine in either way.

I also tryied to open other programs as root with the terminal and i receive other errors.

Is it possible to solve this problem??

Thanks. Bye.
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-20 13:51

somebody could help me?? :roll:
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby None1975 » 2020-01-21 12:55

For what purpose do you want to open applications as root? This is a very bad practice.
OS: Debian 10.3 Buster / WM: xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-21 14:19

Thanks for the reply
...usually i don't open programs as root but in this case (antivirus) i do it so it has the permission to scan all files on the the disk.
It works so also with bleachbit..if you want a deep cleaning you open it as root..
Thanks.Bye.
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-01-21 14:55

From the F.A.Q. of clamtk:
Code: Select all
ClamTk does not need to be run as root. As a matter of fact, MOST programs on Linux do not need to be run as root. If it is easier for you to update the system signatures this way, that is fine. But as much as you can, please run ClamTk as a regular user.
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-22 17:17

Sorry! :D
I didn't know...I thought it was a right thing...besides it worked fine with the previous version! :lol:
Anyway, if I want to scan with clamav all the files in the hard disk, i mean all, allso the ones protected or restricted without exceptions, what is the right procedure using the terminal?
Thanks for your help.
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-23 09:24

"if I want to scan with clamav all the files in the hard disk, i mean all, allso the ones protected or restricted without exceptions, what is the right procedure using the terminal?"
somebody knows how to do?? :?: :?
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby Chrisdb » 2020-01-23 09:36

rufuz wrote:"if I want to scan with clamav all the files in the hard disk, i mean all, allso the ones protected or restricted without exceptions, what is the right procedure using the terminal?"
somebody knows how to do?? :?: :?


Use sudo

"sudo" is a command which allows ordinary users to perform administrative tasks.


This is not the same as running your application with root.
Chrisdb
 
Posts: 273
Joined: 2018-04-10 07:16

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-01-29 11:37

Thanks Chris..sorry there is a problem if i use the command sudo i receive a message that i am not in the file sudoers.. i also followed some guide in internet to add me in the sudoers file but it doesn't work.. i receive that message
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby arochester » 2020-01-29 11:44

AS ROOT
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>

Replace <username> with your username to which you want to grant sudo access.

Now logout & login to get sudo access to those users.
arochester
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby CwF » 2020-01-29 15:23

Maybe file a bug report to request a polkit action file be included in its next update. You could probably make one yourself. I don't use this, and a search for "pkexec clamtk" yielded nothing, yet...
CwF
 
Posts: 641
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-02-03 22:12

arochester wrote:AS ROOT
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>

Replace <username> with your username to which you want to grant sudo access.

Now logout & login to get sudo access to those users.


Thanks arochester..doing this procedure i receive this error:

-bash: errore di sintassi vicino al token non atteso "newline"

I try to translate in english:

- bash: sintax error near unexpected token "newline")
Last edited by rufuz on 2020-02-04 22:19, edited 1 time in total.
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-02-03 22:20

CwF wrote:Maybe file a bug report to request a polkit action file be included in its next update. You could probably make one yourself. I don't use this, and a search for "pkexec clamtk" yielded nothing, yet...


thanks Cwf...I contacted the clamtk developers...they told me that it is not a problem of clamtk..they told me I probably drop and I don't have the
permissions as root to access my user desktop.
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-02-10 12:42

rufuz wrote:
arochester wrote:AS ROOT
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>

Replace <username> with your username to which you want to grant sudo access.

Now logout & login to get sudo access to those users.


Thanks arochester..doing this procedure i receive this error:

-bash: errore di sintassi vicino al token non atteso "newline"

I try to translate in english:

- bash: sintax error near unexpected token "newline")



:?:
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Re: desktop problem debian 10.2

Postby rufuz » 2020-02-15 12:05

arochester wrote:AS ROOT
apt-get install sudo
usermod -a -G sudo <username>

Replace <username> with your username to which you want to grant sudo access.

Now logout & login to get sudo access to those users.


following this procedure i receive this error: - bash: sintax error near unexpected token "newline"
what does it mean? how fix it?
rufuz
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-01-16 11:03

Next

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable