[Solved] HDMI Input

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[Solved] HDMI Input

Postby Del » 2020-02-16 12:56

Hi,

I have a desktop PC with an Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ motherboard. This has both HDMI output and HDMI input sockets. The output is plugged into my TV for watching videos or surfing the net from the comfort of my chair.

Does Debian support HDMI input for viewing video/audio from devices plugged into the PC via HDMI?
How is it enabled?
How do I watch the video?

I've searched the web, the Debian wiki and this forum to no avail.

I have a Roku Express which I would like to plug into my PC so I can use my PC (work, surfing etc) from my armchair and (picture-in-picture style) also watch TV without needing another screen.

Edit: Sorry I should've mentioned this is Debian Stable. It has onboard Radeon graphic card.
Please ask for more info or clarifications.
Last edited by Del on 2020-02-16 18:15, edited 1 time in total.
Del
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-06 07:26

Re: HDMI Input

Postby CwF » 2020-02-16 16:07

Sure, a capture card is required, start at the top.
https://www.magewell.com/products/pro-capture-quad-hdmi
CwF
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: HDMI Input

Postby Del » 2020-02-16 16:26

Thanks fpor the reply.

The motherboard akready has an HDMI input port as well as an HDMI output port.

I don't know how to enable or, if it doesn't require enabling, getting any video from it.
Del
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-06 07:26

Re: HDMI Input

Postby CwF » 2020-02-16 16:48

Del wrote: has an HDMI input port as well as an HDMI output port.


I should read! Cool,.. it seems the port may simply be an input switch and not actual capture hardware. So there is no stream for the computer to work with. It looks to simply connect your hdmi output to the gpu or the input.
CwF
 
Posts: 607
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

Re: HDMI Input

Postby Del » 2020-02-16 18:13

Don't apologise. I've found many threads on forums where others have made the same mistake.

CwF wrote:it seems the port may simply be an input switch and not actual capture hardware.

Sadly, you are right. I should've found and RTFMed earlier:
HDMI-IN
Connect two different devices to one monitor and toggle between the
primary and secondary screen without replugging the connectors every
time. Please set a hotkey for switching between the two devices.


In my defence Asrock's documentation is far, far better than many manuals I've read and from past experience I just didn't expect to find the answer in it.

Oh well. What you've never had, you never miss.

Thanks for your help :)
Del
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-06 07:26


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable