Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Message
Author
Typhoon
Posts: 66
Joined: 2007-04-18 05:49
Location: Australia

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#31 Post by Typhoon »

I discovered this thread after installing Squeeze. Guess what - no sound.

alant@stormy:~$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller


I was also having other troubles, like Iceweasel crashing at the drop of a hat. I realised that I had LOTS of configuration files left over from other installs (I keep /home on a separate partitition). I previously used Lenny, then tried the new Ubuntu for a few days (shame!) and yesterday installed Squeeze.

I went through and deleted every dot file that I wasn't sure about. If I wasn't entirely certain I moved the dot file out of the way (eg, .mozilla -> .mozilla.old). Reboot. Of couse all my personalised settings were gone, but I had sound.

Hope this helps somebody.

Cheers,
Typhoon
Blue Mountains, Australia

x303
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-05-08 16:33

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#32 Post by x303 »

For me almost everything the same, solution little bit different:

I downloaded the ALSA driver from the website. Compiled it. Ran

Code: Select all

sudo alsaconf
, choosed the first option when it asked me Intel or legacy. And that was it.

Hope will also work for others. (The compling process needs its time, so don't worry.)

lain
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-02-06 18:19

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#33 Post by lain »

Hi,
yesterday I have upgraded my squeeze. After reboot the sound dont' work and the KDE notification inform me that HDA Intel don't work :(

Code: Select all

# uname -a
Linux bemprt 2.6.32-3-686 #1 SMP Thu Feb 25 06:14:20 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux
$ sudo cat /proc/asound/cards                                                                                                                      
[sudo] password for bem:                                                                                                                                                            
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel                                                                                                                                         
                      HDA Intel at 0xfc020000 irq 17                                                                                                                                
 1 [pcsp           ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
                      Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_conexant    16265  1 
snd_hda_intel          16427  4 
snd_hda_codec          46002  2 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel
snd_pcsp                5219  3 
snd_hwdep               4054  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            28671  0 
snd_mixer_oss          10461  3 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                47362  5 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcsp,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              12258  2 snd_pcm
snd                    34363  17 snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcsp,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               3450  3 snd
snd_page_alloc          5041  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
The last year I have added PSCP to blacklist because it generate a terrible rustle

Code: Select all

# cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
blacklist snd_pcsp
If I deleted this entry the HDA Intel work but it generate (pscp) a terrible rustle.
What can I do?
many thanks to all!
Cheers
The day you stop upgrading your skills is the day you have actually started shrinking them

$ uname -a
Linux Lain 2.6.32-3-686 #1 SMP Thu Feb 25 06:14:20 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

lain
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010-02-06 18:19

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#34 Post by lain »

I have solved this issue.
Added User to Group audio

Code: Select all

usermod -G audio user
insert pscp to blacklist and reboot.
Now it working fine 8)
The day you stop upgrading your skills is the day you have actually started shrinking them

$ uname -a
Linux Lain 2.6.32-3-686 #1 SMP Thu Feb 25 06:14:20 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

User avatar
devianpctek
Posts: 206
Joined: 2009-04-01 00:04

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#35 Post by devianpctek »

chozian wrote:Hello Everyone,

I found the resolution to my sound problem with snd-hda-intel (ALC880) at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=803343 . I hope this works for you all as well.

Regards,,
Chris Hozian
that worked for me with snd-hda-intel AD198x Digital
The World Is Open Source
4.2-5.dmz.1-liquorix-amd64
Asus ROG Crosshair V formula-Z 16gb Corsair Vengeance AMD FX 8350 8 core unlocked black edition EVGA nvidia Geforce gtx 650 Corsair Hydro series H100i Logitech Dinovo Edge + Performance MX

darrenyeats
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-08-01 20:14

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#36 Post by darrenyeats »

I had this problem and tracked it down to squeeze not assigning my sound card device 0. Instead, the HDMI device was being set to default.

The .asoundrc below solves this problem. However, I haven't been able to get mixing to work which means only one app can access the sound card at a time. However, all the apps work individually including flash. You need to run cat /proc/asound/cards to find out the card identifier you want.

I hope this helps some people. If someone knows how to get mixing to work, chime in.
Darren

------------
.asoundrc with no eq (simple)
------------

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
    type hw
# Change to your card identifier!
    card VT82xx
}
ctl.!default {
    type hw
# Change to your card identifier!
    card VT82xx
}
------------
.asoundrc with eq (caps plugin)
------------

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "equalized";
}
ctl.!default {
    type hw
    card VT82xx
}

pcm.darren {
    type hw
    card VT82xx
}

pcm.equalized {
       type ladspa
       slave.pcm "plug:darren";
       path "/usr/lib/ladspa";
       plugins [
           {
               id 1773
               input {
# Change to taste! I use 25db boost in the bass for my open baffle computer speakers.
                   controls [ 0 -25 -25 -25 -25 -25 -25 -25 -25 -25 ]  
               }
           }
       ]
   }

the dsc
Posts: 100
Joined: 2007-08-18 22:14

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#37 Post by the dsc »

EDIT: I had made a question whose answer I saw after reading minimally carefully the previous post, but the rest of the post may provide some clues for these sound issues, from my experiences, even though it's not promising at all.[/b]



By the way, the issue I'm having is somewhat different, but probably related, I guess. I'll make a brief resume, perhaps it helps, who knows. Back in February I would have sound only every now and then -- I had a trial boot for a short while (win, debian, ubuntu), and I've found that if I rebooted directly from windows to linux (debian) I would have no sound, but if instead I turned the PC of for an instant, I'd have sound, albeit with no "universal" volume controls (alsamixer and its backends like kmix and etc), only on programs like mplayer and vlc. On ubuntu, however, the sound would work normally, if I recall correctly. But as I've searched a bit more today, apparently there are odd cases like just the gnome startup sounds working and nothing else -- but it may be a misunderstanding due to a cursorial reading.

I may have a somewhat "special" case, though, I had the impression that my sound card (VIA VT1708B, "Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller") is specially troublesome on linux.

When I do lsmod, there are quite a few sound related things appearing in a way that I think it's correct:

Code: Select all

snd_hda_codec_via      19285  1 
snd_hda_intel          16703  6 
snd_hda_codec          46002  2 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4054  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            28671  0 
snd_mixer_oss          10461  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                47214  5 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_midi            3576  0 
snd_rawmidi            12505  1 snd_seq_midi
joydev                  6771  0 
snd_seq_midi_event      3684  1 snd_seq_midi
usbhid                 27980  0 
snd_seq                35463  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
hid                    50629  1 usbhid
snd_timer              12258  4 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          3673  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq

Just today I've found about a specific config file (another one) that may be helpful, but again, I'm not yet sure on what to put there. The file is /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf, which I think is basically just a bunch of modprobes and some options. Some people on ubuntu forums have found that, for hda-intel at least, by putting the right settings on this file, they get everything working properly. It's all on the topic snd_hda_intel options database.

It's basically adding a line "options snd-hda-intel model=<model name>" on alsa-base.conf. They have a list of what you have to put there for a list of various boards, and there are some few options as well (whatever they might do).

For me, however, I couldn't find my one on the lists, the closest thing has been this site:

http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=caecf ... 211636a5cf#

I've found it googling for my motherboard (G31T-M7)and alsaconf or alsa. There is a part of the file that hints about alsa-base.conf-like options, but nothing blatantly clear on what I could use:

Code: Select all

!!Modprobe options (Sound related)
!!--------------------------------

snd-atiixp-modem: index=-2
snd-intel8x0m: index=-2
snd-via82xx-modem: index=-2
snd-usb-audio: index=-2
snd-usb-us122l: index=-2
snd-usb-usx2y: index=-2
snd-usb-caiaq: index=-2
snd-cmipci: mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
snd-pcsp: index=-2
I've made some change in this file somewhere (I keep forgetting to do backups or comments on configuration files), and everything remains the same, except for the error message I get from alsamixer. It used to be "amixer: Mixer hw:0 load error: Invalid argument", now it is "cannot open mixer: No such device". I'm not sure about the error messages that appeared during the boot though, I guess they'd remain the same, but I can't find them on dmesg's output right now.


Well, that's all folks. I hope that there's at least some "clue" on what I've said.

the dsc
Posts: 100
Joined: 2007-08-18 22:14

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#38 Post by the dsc »

Short piece of information. Curious, albeit it probably won't light a bulb over anyone's head, but just in case it does... my deleted question was on what to use for that .asoundrc file on the identifier. Without that, alsamixer would return the error message, "cannot open mixer: No such device". Now, with the file, and HDA-Intel as the identifier (which still does not fix everything, in fact, I lose sound on youtube, even though it remains on MPD/MPC), the error message is "cannot load mixer controls: Invalid argument". Sort of a mix between the two previous error messages.

Daniele
Posts: 15
Joined: 2006-09-17 18:13

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#39 Post by Daniele »

I have recently reinstalled Squeeze on my laptop.
Now and again, my sound disappears. I solve the issue with 'alsactl init'.
I get the error message, but my sound starts again nonetheless.

progga
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-09-30 13:31

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#40 Post by progga »

I have one of these Intel ICH6 sound cards. I was following this tutorial [0] to configure sound in Squeeze. It didn't work like most people has been complaining here. So I had to run "alsactl init" as root before running alsamixer and then everything worked fine :-)


[0] http://circuidipity.com/daniel/install_ ... #index16h3

basilio
Posts: 5
Joined: 2010-11-17 19:57

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#41 Post by basilio »

Got the same problem with no sound on my new Acer notebook. Some solutions from this thread were too complicated for me, others didn`t work exept the one - do as root in console alsactl init, and after that sound is ok. But I din't want to do that after every power off. So I put the string (alsactl init) in /etc/rc.local. It works for me. And maybe this is the less complicated way to get the thing done not just for me. At least no need to recompile anything.

I hope I will put that line out of my /etc/rc.local after next ALSA update...

Peace.

polymath
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-02 01:21

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#42 Post by polymath »

I had no sound when I initially installed Squeeze. The sound hardware was not detected and I think the problem was missing firmware.

I compiled the kernel from source with the config-2.6.32-5-amd64 that came in linux-image-2.6.32-5-amd64. After I installed the two resulting packages (linux-image-2.6.32 and linux-firmware-2.6.32) the sound worked fine. It dawned on me that there were two packages as opposed to one in previous versions. I purged those packages and reinstalled the stock image and firmware-linux.

It's possible that the sound is still working because the packages I installed were not fully purged. Someone please confirm that installing firmware-linux solves this issue. Note that if you excluded non-free packages when configuring your package sources, your hardware may still not work if it requires non-free firmware. [Debian splits the firmware into two packages (firmware-linux-free and firmware-linux-nonfree)]

tuxracer
Posts: 434
Joined: 2008-02-11 00:34

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#43 Post by tuxracer »

I had no sound until I enabled one of the audio channels, the 'analog/digital output jack.' I had to check a box. Might not help but I would check that. However, if you have compiled and added/removed stuff, it might not apply now.

deuxcroix
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-05-28 22:29
Contact:

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#44 Post by deuxcroix »

Hi guys, I sadly mst say none of the solutions given worked for me.
My on board sound chip is broken, so I installed a USB sound card, which I prefer not to change.
The USB sound card is listed in alsamixer, Gnome mixer, and wherever it may be, for I am certain the system knows about it.
I still cannot hear any sound, and my alsamixer's PCM volume meter is set at its maximum of -0.06. THIS is odd in the first place.

Let's take a look at the outputs:

Code: Select all

lspci | grep audio
00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)

Code: Select all

lsusb | grep audio
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 0c76:1607 JMTek, LLC. audio controller

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [ICH7           ]: ICH4 - Intel ICH7
                      Intel ICH7 with ALC850 at irq 17
 1 [Set            ]: USB-Audio - USB Headphone Set
                      USB Headphone Set at usb-0000:00:1d.1-1, full speed

Code: Select all

uname -a
Linux phobos 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Wed Jan 12 04:01:41 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux
UPDATE: I got my sound working after installing caps, but flashplayer is the only one getting it done, in google-chrome.
Sound card still selectable and adjustable from volume control applet, but no other output.

User avatar
grege
Posts: 214
Joined: 2009-08-13 11:10
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#45 Post by grege »

The problem is that your USB audio is the second sound card and most software will default to the first unless you fiddle.

Simplest solution is to go into you BIOS and disable the onboard sound, so that there is only one sound card in the system

Your onboard sound should work however .......

http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/Intel8x0

Always install Gnome-Alsamixer, many problems can be solved simply by systematically muting and unmuting all the parts of the system. Digital out is always a prime offender.

good luck

mosesx
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-02-08 22:39

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#46 Post by mosesx »

deuxcroix wrote:Hi guys, I sadly mst say none of the solutions given worked for me.
My on board sound chip is broken, so I installed a USB sound card, which I prefer not to change.
The USB sound card is listed in alsamixer, Gnome mixer, and wherever it may be, for I am certain the system knows about it.
I still cannot hear any sound, and my alsamixer's PCM volume meter is set at its maximum of -0.06. THIS is odd in the first place.
Had the same problem, my Solution is from:http://gstreamer-devel.966125.n4.nabble ... 77658.html

So actually gnome provides to set the default audio sink through the gstreamer-properties (which was/is (?) usually located under System>>Preferences>>Multimedia but is not there in Squeeze. You can call it from the command line.

Code: Select all

$ gstreamer-properties
Select your alsa as plugin and your usb-sound card as device. This will change the gconf key "audiosink". According to the thread mentioned Rhythmbox/totem/... will ignore that setting and use "musicaudiosink" instead which is not set by gstreamer-properties.

To adjust that open gconf (applications>>System Tools>>Configuration Editor) and under
system>>gstreamer>>0.10>>default
copy the value from "audiosink" (which was adjusted by gstreamer-properties) to "musicaudiosink".

Worked like a charme for me. There also is a bug report: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=598314

deuxcroix
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-05-28 22:29
Contact:

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#47 Post by deuxcroix »

Thank you @mosesx for the tip!

It worked well for me.
The problem I have now is with the concurrent access to sound card. It seems I can't have two audio outputs at the same time. And it is quite annoying.
I found somewhere a post about concurrency and /dev/dsp, I willl return and post if something goes well.
Do this problem applies for you, too?

mosesx
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-02-08 22:39

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#48 Post by mosesx »

The problem I have now is with the concurrent access to sound card. It seems I can't have two audio outputs at the same time. And it is quite annoying.
I found somewhere a post about concurrency and /dev/dsp, I willl return and post if something goes well.
Do this problem applies for you, too?
Yep. It's weird however, everything worked fine under Lenny. I would say it's not the right audiosink yet. My lenny entry in gconf for "musicaudiosink" was

Code: Select all

halaudiosink udi=/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_ccd_77_noserial_if0_alsa_playback_0
.

That however does not work anymore.

mosesx
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-02-08 22:39

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#49 Post by mosesx »

The problem I have now is with the concurrent access to sound card. It seems I can't have two audio outputs at the same time. And it is quite annoying.
Found this:
http://ptspts.blogspot.com/2009/03/how- ... -have.html

The first two paragraphs did it for me:
Use

Code: Select all

aplay -l | awk '/^card/{print$3}'|sort|uniq

in a terminal to find out the name of your usb sound device. As I realized this hw:1,0, or better the number assigned to the sound card can change from reboot to reboot but the name does not.

Than for global setting put

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.!card Headset
defaults.ctl.!card Headset
defaults.pcm.!device 0
defaults.ctl.!device 0
into /etc/asound.conf. Replace Headset by the name of your soundcard, in my case U0xcc0x77.

Than I reverted the changes in gconf and set all keys containing audiosink to autodetect. And you have to restart alsa by

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/alsa-utils restart
or restart the computer.

Now all gnome programs use the usb and mixing works. Hope that helps.

Short and useless general complain: Why is there now way to set the default soundcard via gnome-sound-properties as it used to be?

greyowl
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-02-12 15:05

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#50 Post by greyowl »

Penguin Skinner wrote:Try running 'alsactl init' (and BTW don't be surprised if it returns some kind of error message saying it can't identify your card and is guessing at the settings; it guess pretty good. :) )
Thank you! this made my sound work using vlc media player. Im using debian squeeze on emachine em350 intel atom450

lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek 163294 1
snd_hda_intel 16811 1
snd_hda_codec 46002 2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 4054 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 47226 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq 35463 0
snd_timer 12258 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 3673 1 snd_seq
snd 34375 10 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 3450 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 5045 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC272" "HDA:10ec0272,10250349,00100001" "0x1025" "0x0349"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method

Post Reply