Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby milomak » 2009-07-30 21:20

i'm now on 2.6.30.x on my laptop (which had the problem). problem fixed.
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby jackdaws » 2009-07-31 23:43

I also seem to have no sound, using Squeeze AMD-64. When I type in as user or as root:

Code: Select all
aplay ring.wav


I get

Code: Select all
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1008:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:608: audio open error: Device or resource busy


When I type in:

Code: Select all
alsactl init


I get

Code: Select all
alsactl: parse:1639: Unable to open file '/usr/share/alsa/init/ca0106': No such file or directory


And when I type in as user:

Code: Select all
dcop kded mediamanager fullList


I get

Code: Select all
call failed


I'm using a soundblaster audigy 24bit, which worked fine using lenny when it was in testing phase.
Perfectionism is an imperfection
User avatar
jackdaws
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 2006-04-17 16:01
Location: The Glens of Antrim

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby pendrachken » 2009-08-01 15:37

Murz wrote:Same problem on Debian Squeeze & alsa:
Code: Select all
# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "VIA VIA VT1708B 8-Ch" "HDA:1106e721" "0x1043" "0x82ea"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method


But in KDE (4.2) I hear the startup sound!

What is the number of bug in the tracker for subscribe?


If this is an UPGRADE from KDE3.5 it is a know bug that system sounds work but normal app sounds don't, it is because of a missing dependency package. I filed a bug like 2 months ago and it has been ignored so far.... see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....
fortune -o
Your love life will be... interesting.
:twisted: How did it know?

The U.S. uses the metric system too, we have tenths, hundredths and thousandths of inches :-P
pendrachken
 
Posts: 1325
Joined: 2007-03-04 21:10
Location: U.S.A. - WI.

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby Murz » 2009-08-03 12:03

pendrachken wrote:see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....

Thank's for link to this bug! After installing gstreamer0.10-alsa package kde sound goes to work (amarok and other kde applications).
But alsa is still broken:
Code: Select all
# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "VIA VIA VT1708B 8-Ch" "HDA:1106e721" "0x1043" "0x82ea"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
Murz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-07-22 14:33

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby wd0bqm » 2009-08-11 04:12

Murz wrote:
pendrachken wrote:see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....

Thank's for link to this bug! After installing gstreamer0.10-alsa package kde sound goes to work (amarok and other kde applications).

I had to do the same thing. Sound worked great for months, but for the past couple of weeks, every time I upgrade I lose sound again and have to remove and reinstall gstreamer0.10-alsa package to get it back.
Debian Squeeze 32-bit, Pentum 4 2.4 GHz.
IRLP Node 3942
wd0bqm
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-10-17 01:30
Location: Mitchell, NE

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby uj2n » 2009-08-12 13:42

Hello. I have encountered the same problem on my squeeze. No sound, all volumes are up and I can't run alsaconf. I have tested EVERY different setting in system-references-sound while playing music in both kaffeine and totem simultaneously. suddenly when I started rythmbox they all started working. kind of a miracle
uj2n
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2009-06-14 08:11

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby Wed » 2009-08-23 15:46

Penguin Skinner wrote:Try running 'alsactl init' (and BTW don't be surprised if it returns some kind of error message saying it can't identify your card and is guessing at the settings; it guess pretty good. :) )


Mine guessed PC speaker. That leaves a bit for improvement. But I have from good authority (lspci), and previous installs that the sound hardware is based on the 82801-chip. How can I convince ALSA about that fact?

I miss alsaconf ...
Wed
 
Posts: 167
Joined: 2005-12-21 03:35
Location: Sweden

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby ironcitadel » 2009-08-26 14:40

I believe the problem is with pulseaudio and not alsa. I noticed that the sound was totally muted each time I logged in to Gnome. I googled around a bit for an answer and found something that works for me. In the file /etc/pulse/default.pa I commented out the line "load-module module-console-kit", rebooted and the system sounds started playing.
ironcitadel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-08-26 14:30

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby Wed » 2009-08-26 18:46

Didn't work for me. The PC speaker is still the selected one, volumes are up. But no sound
Wed
 
Posts: 167
Joined: 2005-12-21 03:35
Location: Sweden

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby bmc5311 » 2009-09-04 00:04

squeeze - amd64 2.6.30-1
- gnome

had all the same problem as most of you today.
i tried all of the suggestions in this thread, no joy.

here's what i did
- i had amarok installed
- apt-get autoremove amarok
- logged out and logged back in again and my sound was back to normal.
is kde the culprit? i only run a few kde apps, k3b and k9 copy, was giving amarok a try because songbird has been broken since i upgraded to squeeze.
i'm not smart enough to know why it worked.... hopefully it'll provide another piece of the puzzle for one of you smart folks :D
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby wikapuki » 2009-10-24 17:14

uname -a
Linux jilldando 2.6.30-2-486 #1 Sat Sep 26 00:03:46 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

I do Updates daily as they come out, as of 23/10/2009 my sound stopped working, in my /etc/modprobe.d/als-base.con file I added the following to enure sound worked:

alias snd-card-2 snd-intel8x0m
options snd-intel8x0m index=0

alias snd-card-0 snd-usb-audio
options snd-usb-audio index=1

I always do the following to check whether things have changed and then edit the above if necessary:
1) In case of USB sound stuff being plugged in:
Code: Select all
lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:08b2 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 4000
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 05e1:0408 Syntek Semiconductor Co., Ltd
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


2a) Find out my proper sound card:
Code: Select all
lspci | grep audio
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

2b)
Code: Select all
cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Controlle      ]: USB-Audio - USB 2.0 Video Capture Controlle
                      Syntek Semiconductor USB 2.0 Video Capture Controlle at usb-0000:00:1d.7-4, hig
 1 [U0x46d0x8b2    ]: USB-Audio - USB Device 0x46d:0x8b2
                      USB Device 0x46d:0x8b2 at usb-0000:00:1d.1-1, full speed
 2 [I82801DBICH4   ]: ICH4 - Intel 82801DB-ICH4
                      Intel 82801DB-ICH4 with ALC650E at irq 17




I plugged in a new USB device (Bluetooth dongle), Box frooze, so rebooted, still had sound on reboot.

Code: Select all
lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:08b2 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 4000
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 05e1:0408 Syntek Semiconductor Co., Ltd
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


Did an update and a reboot for another reason and no sound, ah must be some dam audio on that bluetooth dongle, but as can be seen its not appearing in any hardware audio checks.

These are the updates, can't see what would effect the sound:
Code: Select all
2009-10-23 15:59:19 upgrade libselinux1 2.0.85-4 2.0.87-3
2009-10-23 15:59:29 upgrade libgdbm3 1.8.3-6+b1 1.8.3-7
2009-10-23 15:59:30 upgrade di 4.13.dfsg.1-1 4.16.dfsg.1-1
2009-10-23 15:59:30 upgrade gdb 6.8.50.20090628-3 7.0-1
2009-10-23 15:59:31 upgrade libbit-vector-perl 7.0-1 7.1-1
2009-10-23 15:59:32 upgrade libxml-libxslt-perl 1.68-2 1.68-3

Was wandering if the alias is now not specific enough?

Have tried without bluetooth dongle plugged in, made no difference.
wikapuki
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-10-24 16:52

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby wikapuki » 2009-10-31 15:27

Had a mare of a week, due to removing Rear USB cable for testing etc a whole chain of events occurred resultng in the Zero Insertion Force CPU clips coming undone and had to wait for person to come and refit (I have a disablity which makes my arms weak.. weaker than ZIF apparently!!)

Decided to remove ALL USB devices and rebooted, WE GOT SOUND!


Code: Select all
lsusb ; lspci | grep audio ; cat /proc/asound/cards

Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:08b2 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 4000
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

 0 [I82801DBICH4   ]: ICH4 - Intel 82801DB-ICH4
                      Intel 82801DB-ICH4 with ALC650E at irq 17
 1 [U0x46d0x8b2    ]: USB-Audio - USB Device 0x46d:0x8b2
                      USB Device 0x46d:0x8b2 at usb-0000:00:1d.1-2, full speed



Strangely after putting the USB devices back in we still have sound, the contents of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf have not been altered by myself but seems to have no effect or is being ignored??


Code: Select all
# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq ; }
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-emu10k1-synth ; : ; }


alias snd-card-2 snd-intel8x0m
options snd-intel8x0m index=0


# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
# Keep snd-pcsp from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2

alias snd-card-0 snd-usb-audio
options snd-usb-audio index=1



So a solution might be, unplug ALL USB devices, reboot, if you got sound shutdown. Plug in USB devices and restart.
wikapuki
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-10-24 16:52

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby patuanan » 2009-11-02 05:03

I also had no sound. KDE 4.3, Squeeze, on iBook G4 (PowerPC). First, I think it was because Debian didn't load snd_powermac kernel module (classic problem for PowerPC). But even after I loaded it, the sound didn't come out.

The solution is to run
Code: Select all
alsactl init
. Voila, we have sound now! Thankfully it persists between reboot.

Interestingly, when I installed pulseaudio the sound disappeared again. It came back when I uninstalled it, and redid the alsactl command.
patuanan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-11-02 04:55

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby chozian » 2010-01-26 20:30

Hello Everyone,

I found the resolution to my sound problem with snd-hda-intel (ALC880) at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=803343 . I hope this works for you all as well.

Regards,,
Chris Hozian
User avatar
chozian
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-01-26 20:27
Location: Meridianville, AL

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Postby dalareo » 2010-01-28 14:06

I have solved that issue through sound mixer: phone out channel controller needs to be activated, asl long as pcm one. I am running Squeeze in a Laptop with external speakers and Intel soundcard.
dalareo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2010-01-28 14:02

PreviousNext

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable