[SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby jay » 2010-08-10 19:07

hey ya'll, Iinstalled googleearth without any problems on my sid amd64 box, and everything appears to work fine, the program runs and apparently works, the only thing is that the map is not visible, where the earth's globe should be I can only see the black background, I have the nvidia drivers installed and my box works beautifully except for this little thing.

any ideas on what I could do?
thanks.
Last edited by jay on 2010-08-16 18:28, edited 1 time in total.
Debian Sid 2.6.37-2-amd64
User avatar
jay
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2010-01-07 02:04

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby sedonix » 2010-08-10 21:54

Doesn't work and I doubt anyone's going to do anything about it. But, hey, don't let me stop you. Misery loves company! I also have sid/64AMD/Nvidia.
I'm old and my participation in this forum is proof of the miracles of modern medicine!
sedonix
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2009-11-15 22:34

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby StanTheMan » 2010-08-10 22:47

Google-Earth is a proprietary application. I have never been able to install it on Lenny or Squeeze. The only disro I have installed it on is Linux-Mint .
StanTheMan
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 2009-03-04 18:02
Location: British Columbia

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby 93_Burrito » 2010-08-11 00:22

Jay, how did you install the Nvidia drivers? Google Earth is a 32-bit app, and requires Nvidia's 32-bit compatibility libraries to work properly on your amd64 setup.

Google Earth works fine on my 64-bit Squeeze box. I installed the Nvidia drivers manually for my 9800GT...
93_Burrito
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-04-16 18:50

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby bmc5311 » 2010-08-11 00:40

works for me too - testing amd64, i installed the nvidia 32bit libs as well.
macbook air /sid amd64/gnome shell
broken hpdv6200 motherboard screwed to the wall in my garage /sid amd64/gnome shell
http://img823.imageshack.us/i/garagecomputer.jpg/

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.
User avatar
bmc5311
 
Posts: 537
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby craigevil » 2010-08-11 00:42

install ia32-libs-gtk lib32nss-mdns ia32-libs lib32ncurses5 packages.
Use the googleearth-package to build the .deb then dpkg -i to install the .deb

See http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=510548
viewtopic.php?p=214470
http://blog.irwan.name/?p=283
Also see http://basicubuntu.blogspot.com/2009/07 ... earth.html
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5158
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby meho_r » 2010-08-11 13:24

craigevil wrote:install ia32-libs-gtk lib32nss-mdns ia32-libs lib32ncurses5 packages.
Use the googleearth-package to build the .deb then dpkg -i to install the .deb

I had the same problem (all these packages were installed). But after I did as noted before and installed nvidia-glx-ia32 package, GE finally worked.
User avatar
meho_r
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 2009-02-20 01:17
Location: BiH

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby jay » 2010-08-15 18:19

I had done everything posted above except for meho_r's solution, that solved the issue and GE works great now, thanks.
Debian Sid 2.6.37-2-amd64
User avatar
jay
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 2010-01-07 02:04

Re: unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby eric1959 » 2010-08-16 15:23

Thanks too !
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330
eric1959
 
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: [SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby bazcor » 2011-06-12 13:03

Yeah meho_r's solution worked for me too, near to giving up on this one. Thanks meho_r, really appreciated.
.. Barry
bazcor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-06-12 12:56

Re: [SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby stevepusser » 2011-06-12 15:29

Google now supplies a deb package for GE that will also add a repository for the program, much like Chrome.
stevepusser
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: [SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby Chili.Willy » 2011-09-02 20:00

Thanks, craigevil and meho_r.

Now I can get on with my plan for world domination.
Chili.Willy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2009-10-01 01:57
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: [SOLVED]unable to see map on googleearth amd64

Postby Kevin Seise » 2011-09-08 00:16

For those of us on AMD/ATI systems, install the fglrx-glx-ia32 package. It works for me after months of hunting, this fix worked! Thank you so much!
Kevin Seise
 
Posts: 122
Joined: 2009-09-12 13:21
Location: New Jersey, USA


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

fashionable