ia32-libs, please help

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

ia32-libs, please help

Postby andmon » 2010-09-09 18:10

Hello,

I've got Debian sid amd64 and today "aptitude dist-upgrade" returns the below messages related to ia32-libs package
Please could you help me to fix it?
Best,

Andrea

debian:/home/andrea# aptitude dist-upgrade
The following packages will be upgraded:
ia32-libs
1 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 33.6MB of archives. After unpacking 8,184kB will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n/?] Y
Get:1 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main ia32-libs amd64 20100908 [33.6MB]
Fetched 33.6MB in 1min 41s (330kB/s)
(Reading database ... 247635 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace ia32-libs 20090808 (using .../ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement ia32-libs ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/lib32/libnspr4.so.0d', which is also in package ia32-libs-libnspr4 4.8.4-0.0
configured to not write apport reports
dpkg-deb: subprocess paste killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
A package failed to install. Trying to recover:
andmon
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2008-06-24 07:12
Location: Milan (Italy)

Re: ia32-libs, please help

Postby craigevil » 2010-09-09 19:22

Either wait until it is fixed or force it.

The following problem arises again and again:
dpkg: Error when working on /var/cache/apt/archives/........dep ....
tries to overwrite ».....« , which is also in ..... package.
and the apt-get dist-upgrade stops.

To solve that one can do also:
dpkg --force-overwrite -i /var/cache/apt/archives/..........deb

Please exactly look what stands there after... /apt/archives/... and then next:
apt-get -f install
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: ia32-libs, please help

Postby peter_irich » 2010-09-09 19:24

I think that this library is not be in the ia32-libs package.
Try move this *.so in any directory, then install ia32-libs and after that place it back in /usr/lib32.
It is one of the methods.

Peter.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 921
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: ia32-libs, please help

Postby andmon » 2010-09-10 07:47

Thank you.
I have tried to move the *.so but still the problem remains, unfortunately.
andmon
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2008-06-24 07:12
Location: Milan (Italy)

Re: ia32-libs, please help

Postby mzilikazi » 2010-09-10 18:58

andmon wrote:Thank you.
I have tried to move the *.so but still the problem remains, unfortunately.

Stop moving files and use dpkg as mentioned earlier. That is the way to fix it, not moving files.

The problem is that one package wishes to overwrite something already provided by another package. You'll see this from time to time. I can't recall it ever being harmful. Until it's resolved properly, use dpkg.
Code: Select all
dpkg -i --force-overwrite /var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb
apt-get -f install
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: manuelperezf and 14 guests

fashionable