Minitube: Could not open media source

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby kedaha » 2010-12-09 23:52

Minitube version 1.1-1 in Squeeze, which worked beautifully until a short time ago, doesn't work anymore. Seems Youtube has changed something... :x
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3121
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby TobiSGD » 2010-12-10 00:10

Same in Squeeze with minitube 1.2-1.
User avatar
TobiSGD
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2010-05-08 22:27
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby kedaha » 2010-12-10 00:17

TobiSGD wrote:Same in Squeeze with minitube 1.2-1.

Yes, I manually installed minitube_1.2-1_amd64.deb but it didn't work either. Maybe Youtube prefers everyone to use their "wonderful" flashplayer....
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3121
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby TobiSGD » 2010-12-10 00:31

Sorry, I meant of course Sid, not Squeeze.
User avatar
TobiSGD
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2010-05-08 22:27
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby friTTe » 2010-12-10 02:34

Yeah same here, helped a friend config his computer and i told him how good and fast Minitube was =)
every clip have him the error :lol:
User avatar
friTTe
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2010-11-18 22:08
Location: Sweden

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby stevepusser » 2010-12-10 21:14

Minitube 1.3 has fixed the YouTube problem. You can rebuild it yourself from the PPA sources, wait for it to appear in upstream Debian, or I can build packages (i386 and amd64) from the PPAs if anyone wants them.

Update: packages are here, plus sources for those that wisely don't trust just anyone on the net and want to build their own packages: https://sites.google.com/site/stevosfil ... be-1.3.zip

They are suffixed with "~stevo", which means that an official Debian 1.3-1 version will be seen as a higher version.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: LibreOffice 7.0.0~rc2, QMPlay2 20.07.04, Pale Moon 28.11.0, KeepassXC 2.6.0, Krita 4.3.0, Foliate 2.4.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11862
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby kedaha » 2010-12-19 20:59

stevepusser wrote:Minitube 1.3 has fixed the YouTube problem. You can rebuild it yourself from the PPA sources, wait for it to appear in upstream Debian, or I can build packages (i386 and amd64) from the PPAs if anyone wants them.

Update: packages are here, plus sources for those that wisely don't trust just anyone on the net and want to build their own packages: https://sites.google.com/site/stevosfil ... be-1.3.zip

They are suffixed with "~stevo", which means that an official Debian 1.3-1 version will be seen as a higher version.

Thanks, stevepusser, Minitube 1.3 is now up and running again as before on my machines. :D I suppose the broken version 1.1 will stay frozen in Squeeze's main repo for some time.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3121
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby stevepusser » 2010-12-20 03:18

Yeah, probably...unless a fixed version gets into squeeze-backports.

Sometimes you can build yourself a better package than Debian has, even. For example, I just built the new XBMC 10.0 release. Standard Debian policy is to have applications use system libraries instead of internal versions as much as possible, so the XBMC in debian-multimedia uses the external system ffmpeg and Python libraries. However, I copied the new 10.0 build from an Ubuntu PPA, and this built their patched and optimized internal ffmpeg and Python libraries. There is an amazing gain in performance when playing high-def video, much more even than mplayer-mt, at least on my Intel GM45 graphics, which has no vdpau or va-api acceleration. CPU use seems about 55-60% of what I see when I play the same video with VLC, xine, or mplayer-mt.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: LibreOffice 7.0.0~rc2, QMPlay2 20.07.04, Pale Moon 28.11.0, KeepassXC 2.6.0, Krita 4.3.0, Foliate 2.4.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11862
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby nadir » 2010-12-20 04:18

I removed minitube from the repository.
dowloaded the link you gave.
installed it with:
dpkg -i minitube_1.3-1~stevo_i386.deb
opened it and get this:
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8 +minitube
It plays music, but no video.
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.
User avatar
nadir
 
Posts: 5964
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby kedaha » 2010-12-20 14:33

I just downloaded the file with Iceweasel, opened minitube-1.3.zip with Archive Manager, then using the "Show the files" tab right-clicked on minitube_1.3-1~stevo_amd64.deb file to open with Gdebi Package Installer, which did the business.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3121
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby nadir » 2010-12-20 15:04

kedaha wrote:I just downloaded the file with Iceweasel, opened minitube-1.3.zip with Archive Manager, then using the "Show the files" tab right-clicked on minitube_1.3-1~stevo_amd64.deb file to open with Gdebi Package Installer, which did the business.

Are you telling me that the application works as expected when getting installed via gdebi instead of via dpkg?
Or are you telling me that the amd64 version works, in contrast to the 386-version?
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.
User avatar
nadir
 
Posts: 5964
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby TobiSGD » 2010-12-20 19:04

nadir wrote:
kedaha wrote:I just downloaded the file with Iceweasel, opened minitube-1.3.zip with Archive Manager, then using the "Show the files" tab right-clicked on minitube_1.3-1~stevo_amd64.deb file to open with Gdebi Package Installer, which did the business.

Are you telling me that the application works as expected when getting installed via gdebi instead of via dpkg?
Or are you telling me that the amd64 version works, in contrast to the 386-version?


I installed the packe via dpkg on an old laptop, i386, and it just worked. So no dpkg or version issue.
User avatar
TobiSGD
 
Posts: 859
Joined: 2010-05-08 22:27
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: Minitube: Could not open media source

Postby kedaha » 2010-12-20 20:14

nadir wrote:
kedaha wrote:I just downloaded the file with Iceweasel, opened minitube-1.3.zip with Archive Manager, then using the "Show the files" tab right-clicked on minitube_1.3-1~stevo_amd64.deb file to open with Gdebi Package Installer, which did the business.

Are you telling me that the application works as expected when getting installed via gdebi instead of via dpkg?
Or are you telling me that the amd64 version works, in contrast to the 386-version?

I successfully installed both the amd64 version on one computer and later the 386-version on another PC and a laptop via gdebi.
Maybe the dpkg error is because some dependency is missing like dbus-x11 or something.
"Please accept my resignation. I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member".—Groucho Marx
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 3121
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable