how to install gnome3 in debian

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby ashickurnoor » 2011-04-15 12:56

Can any body give me some quick tutorial how to install gnome in Debian 6.

I have again install Debian 6 yesterday in my desktop. Now have seen gome3 in fedora and OpenSuse. Now I want to install it Debian.

From above discussion I have not get any idea to how to install gnome 3.

Please help me.
ashickurnoor
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2011-02-13 10:52

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby alr11389 » 2011-04-15 14:42

bugsbunny wrote:
alr11389 wrote:I was thinking about if I can upload any package of gnome3 to debian experimental... or only can upload it the gnome team?

If I can upload it.. how I can do it? I have compiled gnome-shell with jhbuild tool and has around 100 packages. Do I need to package and upload it?

I would like to contribute

Journey of a new GNOME 3 Debian packager | apt-get install debian-wizard

Quoting from the article:
Help is still welcome

There’s still lots of work to do, you’re welcome to do like me and join to help. Come on #debian-gnome on irc.debian.org, read the documentation and try to update a package (and ask questions when you don’t know).


Thanks a lot :) I'm a little busy right now, but I expect upload some package in the next weeks.
alr11389
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-04-07 10:33

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby bolshevik » 2011-04-16 16:15

ashickurnoor wrote:From above discussion I have not get any idea to how to install gnome 3.

Please help me.


You probably should'nt be installing it then, right now it is in the experimental repos and it's likely you'll break something if you don't know what you're doing. At least wait until it trickles down to sid.
bolshevik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2011-04-08 04:08

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby ashickurnoor » 2011-04-16 16:19

bolshevik wrote:
ashickurnoor wrote:From above discussion I have not get any idea to how to install gnome 3.

Please help me.


You probably should'nt be installing it then, right now it is in the experimental repos and it's likely you'll break something if you don't know what you're doing. At least wait until it trickles down to sid.


Thank you for advice. How long it will take to be stable.
ashickurnoor
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2011-02-13 10:52

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby phenest » 2011-04-16 17:26

ashickurnoor wrote:Thank you for advice. How long it will take to be stable.

Oh, let me tell them. Please.

About 2 years.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby ashickurnoor » 2011-04-17 03:50

phenest wrote:
ashickurnoor wrote:Thank you for advice. How long it will take to be stable.

Oh, let me tell them. Please.

About 2 years.

you mean in Debian 7.
ashickurnoor
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2011-02-13 10:52

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby alr11389 » 2011-04-24 02:15

Do you miss the minimize button?

Try this:

$ gconf-editor

Go to "desktop - gnome - shell - windows"

On "button_layout" type, for example, ":close,minimize" if you want to put the minimize button at the right of close button and at the right of the window. If you want to put your buttons at the left like Mac OS, "minimize,close:" (the minimize button are at the left of close button). You can play with these values, only read the description on gconf-editor.

Your configuration doesn't save?

# apt-get install dconf-tools dconf-gsettings-backend

It deletes dconf, but works after restart :D
alr11389
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-04-07 10:33

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby mzilikazi » 2011-05-05 00:56

So libimobiledevice2 *just* became installable. This was holding up gvfs-backends which meant no network browsing in Nautilus. Looks like #620065 will be closed.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby fabrixx » 2011-05-05 20:11

How long between gnome 3 comes to testing?
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby michaelzap » 2011-05-05 23:40

fabrixx wrote:How long between gnome 3 comes to testing?

A number of packages still aren't even up-to-date in experimental or sid yet, so my guess is it will still be a matter of weeks:
http://www.0d.be/debian/debian-gnome-3.0-status.html
michaelzap
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-12-13 01:50

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby fabrixx » 2011-05-27 19:47

I have installed Gnome 3 from experimental but have an old style login screen.
What packeges i have to install to have Gnome 3 login screens style?
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby phenest » 2011-05-27 21:26

fabrixx wrote:I have installed Gnome 3 from experimental but have an old style login screen.
What packeges i have to install to have Gnome 3 login screens style?

Actually, that's unlikely. The login screen you have been using is from the package gdm3 which has been in Debian for a while and is actually from Gnome3. Check the package description:
Next generation GNOME Display Manager
GDM provides the equivalent of a "login:" prompt for X displays
...
This package contains the next generation GDM, which was developed
using the technologies on which GNOME 3 is based.

So, if you're not using it, then install gdm3.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D
User avatar
phenest
 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby fabrixx » 2011-05-29 15:19

Ok i will try to keep it from experimental:
http://packages.debian.org/experimental/gdm3
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby fabrixx » 2011-06-03 22:29

Gdm 3 from experimental (3.01) give me correct login:

Image

Other images: :wink:
http://www.osside.net/?p=6192

Thanks phenest for suggestion
User avatar
fabrixx
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2009-12-14 23:00

Re: how to install gnome3 in debian

Postby vbrummond » 2011-06-04 18:33

I am trying to compile the gnome-shell on testing and everything works fine except I get some sort of error I never encountered before:
Code: Select all
make[4]: Entering directory `/home/virgil/gnome-shell/source/json-glib/json-glib/tests'
  CC     array-test.o
  CCLD   array-test
/usr/bin/ld: array-test.o: undefined reference to symbol 'g_type_init'
/usr/bin/ld: note: 'g_type_init' is defined in DSO /home/virgil/gnome-shell/install/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0 so try adding it to the linker command line
/home/virgil/gnome-shell/install/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0: could not read symbols: Invalid operation
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [array-test] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/virgil/gnome-shell/source/json-glib/json-glib/tests'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/virgil/gnome-shell/source/json-glib/json-glib'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/virgil/gnome-shell/source/json-glib/json-glib'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/virgil/gnome-shell/source/json-glib'
make: *** [all] Error 2
*** Error during phase build of json-glib: ########## Error running make   *** [1/1]


Anyone else encounter this or have a solution? I am using JHBuild to be noted.
Always on Debian Testing
vbrummond
 
Posts: 4468
Joined: 2010-03-02 01:42

PreviousNext

Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

fashionable