[SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Everything about X, Gnome, KDE, ... and everything running on it

[SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby _nicolas_ » 2012-05-22 19:00

Many months ago I installed wheezy in my laptop and desktop pc, running xfce with compiz, both installed from the official repositories.

Now I had to reinstall my laptop and everything has been right with wheezy with the only exception being the lack of compiz in the repositories.
I've searched this forum and also google, and I haven't found anything regarding the absece of compiz from wheezy. From http://www.debian.org I see that compiz is available in the repositories of squeeze.

Where can I grab compiz from, to use it with wheezy?
Last edited by _nicolas_ on 2012-06-04 19:08, edited 1 time in total.
_nicolas_
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-05-22 18:55

Re: Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby craigevil » 2012-05-22 19:16

Package compiz

squeeze (stable) (x11): OpenGL window and compositing manager
0.8.4-4: all
sid (unstable) (x11): OpenGL window and compositing manager
0.8.4-5.1: all
experimental (rc-buggy) (x11): OpenGL window and compositing manager - metapackage
0.9.2.1+git20110226.f059fae9-4: all


compiz - Why is package X not in testing yet? - http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... age=compiz
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby _nicolas_ » 2012-05-25 18:50

Thanks for your clarification.
Does anyone have information about when this issue could be solved?
_nicolas_
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-05-22 18:55

Re: Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby craigevil » 2012-05-26 01:55

You can try installing it from sid, or backport it either one should be reasonably simple.

Howto get newer package versions for Debian Stable -
https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... ble-34611/


To install it from sid try doing:
Code: Select all
echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf, edit sources.list, copy your non-security testing lines and change one set to sid, then apt-get update.  Use apt-get -t sid install foo; to install foo from sid rather than testing as usual.  WARNING to SYNAPTIC users: Synaptic ignores Default-Release: set Preferences->Distribution
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby _nicolas_ » 2012-06-01 05:05

Thank you very much!

These steps (as described by you) worked for me:


Added this new line to /etc/apt/sources.list
## SID: to get compiz
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib

Then I did:
Code: Select all
sudo su
echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
apt-get update
apt-get install compiz


The last line worked for me just as that. Perhaps in other systems could be necessary to type instead:
Code: Select all
apt-get -t sid install compiz
_nicolas_
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-05-22 18:55

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby olegich84 » 2012-06-05 18:01

thanks from me too! it works! (the sid repo)
Debian Wheezy 3.2.0-2 amd64.
i5 2500k, Asus P8P67 M3 Pro, 8G G.Skill RAM, 1T WD Caviar Black SATA3 64Mb, Nvidia GTX460 1G.
User avatar
olegich84
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2012-03-04 08:27
Location: Ukraine

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby craigevil » 2012-06-05 18:03

It is missing from Wheezy because upstream development is at a stand still. it will not be in Wheezy when it releases and will most likely get removed from sid in the near future.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby microcore » 2012-08-12 08:10

Does compiz from sid works without issues?
It is possible to install compiz from squeeze to wheezy?
microcore
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-08-12 08:07

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby hhh » 2012-08-12 17:12

microcore wrote:Does compiz from sid works without issues?

Yes.
It is possible to install compiz from squeeze to wheezy?

I don't think so due to gcc, but it did for me from sid with no problems
hhh
 
Posts: 211
Joined: 2010-07-07 04:50

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby rfgiusti » 2012-09-20 13:02

craigevil wrote:It is missing from Wheezy because upstream development is at a stand still. it will not be in Wheezy when it releases and will most likely get removed from sid in the near future.


Sorry, I'm quite new to the terminology. What do you mean by "upstream development is at a stand still"? Compiz released a stable version just a few days ago. Why isn't it being packaged into Wheezy?
rfgiusti
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-11-26 20:52

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby Dr Adel » 2012-12-27 07:13

Thanks a lot.
Dr Adel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-04-17 11:16

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby layr » 2013-01-04 01:09

craigevil wrote:It is missing from Wheezy because upstream development is at a stand still. it will not be in Wheezy when it releases and will most likely get removed from sid in the near future.

Would you elaborate on that? What are the reasons for removing the packages from even sid's repos? Compiz is currently being rewritten; is it really a dead project?
User avatar
layr
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2011-10-11 15:07

Re: [SOLVED] Compiz is missing from Wheezy

Postby bk_ » 2013-11-13 10:16

Has anyone recently got this to work? I repeated the steps given by _nicolas_ and got this:
Code: Select all
root@PC:/home/user# apt-get install compiz
Reading package lists... Done
E: The value 'testing' is invalid for APT::Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources
root@PC:/home/user# apt-get -t sid install compiz
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Package compiz is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'compiz' has no installation candidate


Does anyone have any ideas?
Thanks
Debian 7.2 (Wheezy)
MATE Desktop
bk_
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2013-09-30 17:01


Return to Desktop & Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable