Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Message
Author
Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#1 Post by Deblib »

I have a Canon DR-F120 scanner, Debian 8 64-bit and I've read quite a few tutorials on the internet about wine, PlayOnLinux, winetricks ... but I still have not managed to make it work. With sane, either. I also do not know if you can compile a source code that works on Debian 7 for Debian 8 or how to do it. Any help is good to make it work in ADF and flatbed. I'm pretty lost. Thank you.

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#2 Post by shep »

A Google search shows there is/was a bug for this particular model: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1540706

It is also not clear from your post if sane does not find the scanner or if it is found but will not scan. Assuming the scanner is found, if you start your front-end in a terminal, the terminal should show the errors.

You also may want to think about potential fixes. Debian 9, due out within several weeks, vs Backport vs Patching Debian 8.

arochester
Emeritus
Emeritus
Posts: 2435
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#3 Post by arochester »

Have you tried the Linux Driver from Canon? Not available from the main Canon sites, but still listed en e.g. Canon Asia - http://support-asia.canon-asia.com/inde ... e=download

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#4 Post by Deblib »

I think xsane find the scanner, but it says "Failed to start the scanner. Wrong argument" when scan.
Yes, I have tried the Linux driver from Canon. It doesn't work with xsane. :(

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#5 Post by stevepusser »

I also do not know if you can compile a source code that works on Debian 7 for Debian 8 or how to do it.
I can do that most of the time, also most of the time I can build Debian 9 packages on Debian 8. It depends on whatever this "code" is you're talking about.

You could also try another distro's live session with more recent packages to see if this gets it working; then you can see if it should be possible in Debian.
MX Linux packager and developer

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#6 Post by shep »

Some other basic things to clarify Scanner wiki.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#7 Post by Deblib »

Code: Select all

ventolero@ventol:~$ sane-find-scanner

  # sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
  # result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
  # scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

  # No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
  # you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.

could not open USB device 0x1d6b/0x0002 at 002:001: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
could not open USB device 0x1d6b/0x0002 at 001:001: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
could not open USB device 0x1058/0x107c at 004:002: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
could not open USB device 0x1d6b/0x0003 at 004:001: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
could not open USB device 0x5986/0x055c at 003:004: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
found USB scanner (vendor=0x1083 [Language Error], product=0x1654 [Language Error]) at libusb:003:005
could not open USB device 0x1d6b/0x0002 at 003:001: Access denied (insufficient permissions)
  # Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
  # SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage.

  # Not checking for parallel port scanners.

  # Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
  # can't be detected by this program.

  # You may want to run this program as root to find all devices. Once you
  # found the scanner devices, be sure to adjust access permissions as
  # necessary.
ventolero@ventol:~$

Code: Select all

ventolero@ventol:~$ scanimage -L
device `v4l:/dev/video0' is a Noname BisonCam, NB Pro virtual device
ventolero@ventol:~$

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#8 Post by shep »

# You may want to run this program as root to find all devices. Once you
# found the scanner devices, be sure to adjust access permissions as
# necessary.

Scanning is dependent on
1) A data base entry consisting of a VendorID/DeviceID that get matched to a scanner
2) Read/write permissions to the scanner group. Your user should be part of the scanner group
Assigning permissions depends on the Version of Debian. In Debian 9, I recall that my Canoscan worked out of the box.
3) The correct driver for the device.

See
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=103323
Last edited by shep on 2017-06-09 14:17, edited 1 time in total.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#9 Post by Deblib »

Scanning is dependent on
1) A data base entry consisting of a VendorID/DeviceID that get matched to a scanner
I have added

Code: Select all

# Canon imageFORMULA DRF120
ATTRS{idVendor}=="1083", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1654", GROUP="scanner", ENV{libsane_matched}="yes"
to /lib/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules
But I'm pretty lost on whether I should create the scanner group and how to find out if I have the right driver

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#10 Post by shep »

Using a text editor on the file

Code: Select all

/etc/group
, you can add youself to the _scanner group.

There are also some tools that write the configuration settings for you.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#11 Post by Deblib »

I have opened /etc/group and I am already in scanner group, with saned

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#12 Post by shep »

The group is going to need error messages to help you sort this out. If you are part of the _scanner group xsane should find the scanner and open the configuration interface.

If xsane starts, look at the configuration interface. It has a myriad of options including scanning to an email or fax. If the fax interface is not set up it will generate errors.

I would also start xsane from a terminal as user. Any errors messages show up in the terminal and can be pasted into your post.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#13 Post by Deblib »

Code: Select all

ventolero@ventol:~$ xsane -V
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
ventolero@ventol:~$
When xsane starts and I try to scan, a window warn me: "Fails to open device. Invalid argument"

Code: Select all

ventolero@ventol:~$ scanimage -T
scanimage: sane_start: Invalid argument
ventolero@ventol:~$
How can I set up fax tab (this scanner hasn't fax)?

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#14 Post by shep »

There apparently are different gtk/gtk3 canberra modules 2012 forum thread.

I would check to see if which, if any canberra-gtk-modules you have with

Code: Select all

dpkg -l | grep canberra
. Consider a trial installation of the missing module.

The fax option in xsane is pre-configured to use hylafax. In the days of dial-up modem, the modems could also be utilized as a fax machine.

The

Code: Select all

scanimage -T
sanity check fail I'm not sure of.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#15 Post by Deblib »

I have installed the missing libcanberra-gtk-module and there is no longer

Code: Select all

Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
I have enter Xsane configuration but I don't know if I should change pre-configured fax options nor which of the others to choose.

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#16 Post by shep »

I have enter Xsane configuration but I don't know if I should change pre-configured fax options nor which of the others to choose.
Xsane can convert a scanned image to various formats (tiff, pdf, ps). I would test with the preview option which should avoid image conversion or read/write issues.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#17 Post by Deblib »

Xsane can convert a scanned image to various formats (tiff, pdf, ps). I would test with the preview option which should avoid image conversion or read/write issues.
Sorry, no idea what to test nor how to do it. :(

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#18 Post by shep »

Image.

In this interface you can select options to preview the scan, save the scan to an image file, print the image file and convert the image file (tiff, gif, jpeg).

You can also adjust the scan density, color, area etc.

I would start xsane from a terminal and would do a simple test scan (grey, 150 dpi) on preview. Keep your eye on the terminal for error messages and post any that come up.

Deblib
Posts: 119
Joined: 2016-05-14 14:41

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#19 Post by Deblib »

I have started xsane in the terminal

Code: Select all

ventolero@ventol:~$ xsane
I have tried a simple scan test on preview, and a window warn me: "Fails to open device. Invalid argument". That's what I get whenever I try to scan. No error in the terminal (nothing appears). However, it should be added that the name of the scanner that appears in xsane is "BisonCam, NB Pro:video0" and not Canon DR-F120 scanner.

shep
Posts: 423
Joined: 2011-03-15 15:22

Re: Not working Canon DR-F120 scanner

#20 Post by shep »

Image

Right now it is trying to scan with your webcam

If xsane does not offer the canon scanner as a device on start up then either the permissions on the device are wrong or the device is not configured.

Try searching your dmesg for canon

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep canon
and

Code: Select all

lsusb
If there is dmesg entry for the scanner then it is likely the permissions are incorrect. Post the lsusb output to help correct your udev rules.

Post Reply