Hplip doesn't work in sid

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-18 22:26

I installed hplip and hplip-gui from the repositories but when I try to run hp-toolbox I get the following error:

Code: Select all
error: Unable to locate models.dat file

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 0.0.0)
HP Device Manager ver. 15.0

Copyright (c) 2001-13 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/hp-toolbox", line 243, in <module>
    from PyQt4.QtGui import QApplication
RuntimeError: the sip module implements API v10.0 but the PyQt4.QtGui module requires API v9.2


I'm using sid. How can I fix this? Is the package broken?
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby dibl » 2013-06-20 13:32

hp-toolbox comes up correctly here, from Alt-F2 launcher or from user terminal. This is sid and KDE 4.10.4. Checking installed packages:

Code: Select all
root@imerabox:/# apt-cache policy hplip*
hplip:
  Installed: 3.13.4-1.1
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
 *** 3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     3.13.4-1+b1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
hplip-ppds:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: (none)
  Version table:
hplip-dbg:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
     3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
     3.13.4-1+b1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
hplip-doc:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
     3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
     3.13.4-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
hplip-data:
  Installed: 3.13.4-1.1
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
 *** 3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     3.13.4-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
hplip-cups:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
     3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
     3.13.4-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
hplip-gui:
  Installed: 3.13.4-1.1
  Candidate: 3.13.4-1.1
  Version table:
 *** 3.13.4-1.1 0
        500 http://packages.siduction.org/fixes/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     3.13.4-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
root@imerabox:/#


Apparently we have some fixed packages in the siduction repo -- you might want to give those a try.

Also, did you run hp-check -- does it have all mandatory dependencies?
Debian sid / siduction KDE
dibl
 
Posts: 528
Joined: 2009-10-13 19:50
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-20 20:04

I did a safe-upgrade. Now hp-toolbox complains about many missing files, but I already have hplip-data and hplip-gui installed:
Code: Select all
error: Unable to locate models.dat file

HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 0.0.0)
HP Device Manager ver. 15.0

Copyright (c) 2001-13 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

warning: Fax disabled.
warning: Fax disabled.
warning: Please install version 2.0+ of Reportlab for coverpage support.
error: Unable to locate models.dat file
error: Pixmap 'plus.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'minus.png' not found!
error: dBus initialization error. Exiting.
error: Pixmap 'hp_logo.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'fax2.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'refresh1.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'refresh.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'list_add.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'list_remove.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'settings.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'warning.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'troubleshoot.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'help.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'quit.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'battery.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'cancel.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'refresh.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'busy.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'busy.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'print.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'warning.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'warning.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'error.png' not found!
error: Pixmap 'ok.png' not found!


I tried running hp-check, it gives me this error:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/hp-check", line 892, in <module>
    core.init()
  File "/usr/share/hplip/installer/core_install.py", line 368, in init
    self.distro_name = self.distros_index[self.distro]
KeyError: 0
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby dibl » 2013-06-21 22:52

If it is important to get your hplip working again, you could temporarily enable the siduction repo, where the fixed packages are. Save this as "siduction.list" in your /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ directory:

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.siduction.org/base unstable main
#deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/base unstable main
deb http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main
#deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/extra unstable main
deb http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main
#deb-src http://packages.siduction.org/fixes unstable main


As root, in a terminal, run

Code: Select all
apt-get update


Then

Code: Select all
apt-get install --reinstall hplip hplip-gui


This should pull in the fixed packages that you need from the siduction repo. Then you need to immediately comment out the "deb ..." lines in the siduction.list file, to disable that repo again.

Hopefully your debian sid repo will receive fixed packages in the near future which will be installed during a routine upgrade.
Debian sid / siduction KDE
dibl
 
Posts: 528
Joined: 2009-10-13 19:50
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-22 02:49

I installed the packages from siduction, but it didn't fix anything.
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby dibl » 2013-06-22 14:51

Code: Select all
$ hp-check
shows no missing dependencies? You have python-qt4 and python-qt4-dbus installed? Also (from a 2012 ubuntu bug report) try this in a root terminal:

Code: Select all
apt-get update


Code: Select all
apt-get install --reinstall libsane-hpaio
Debian sid / siduction KDE
dibl
 
Posts: 528
Joined: 2009-10-13 19:50
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-22 15:35

hp-check still shows the same error as it did last time. I reinstalled libsane-hpaio but it didn't fix anything. python-qt4 and python-qt4-dbus are installed.
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby dibl » 2013-06-22 17:18

This bug looks relevant:

https://lists.debian.org/debian-printin ... 00025.html


Try renaming or deleting the hidden directory ~/.hplip, then restart X or reboot the computer, and try again with hp-check. No guarantees .....

Note that the bug report indicates that it might work once, and then fail the second time.
Debian sid / siduction KDE
dibl
 
Posts: 528
Joined: 2009-10-13 19:50
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-23 02:47

Tried that, didn't work. I don't know if it's relevant, but I had installed hplip before from the hp website, but since it broke frequently after updating I uninstalled the program following the instructions on the hplip website (which are pretty much removing the directories where it's installed) and installed it from the repos hoping I would avoid having to reinstall hplip all the time. Perhaps uninstalling hplip broke something?
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby dibl » 2013-06-23 13:22

I dunno -- it's a head scratcher. I suppose something about the prior installation could have done something that is still affecting the new hplip. I have never seen hp-check crash that way, and apparently not many other people have either, since there are so few examples of it on the 'net. Your original traceback suggests some issue in the python support structure, but your python-qt4 from the sid repo has to be the same as mine (4.10.2), and I've no such problem with hplip 3.13.4-1.1 from siduction, so there is obviously something different about your system's configuration that is triggering the crash, but it is very far from obvious what that difference might be. As a final attempt to be of some help, I will paste in the output from hp-check when it runs here, so you can manually verify that you have the dependencies installed (none of which should cause a crash, btw).

Code: Select all
--------------------------
|  External Dependencies |
--------------------------

 gs                   Ghostscript               REQUIRED        7.05            9.05            OK         -
 network              Network-wget              OPTIONAL        -               1.14            OK         -
 dbus                 DBus                      REQUIRED        -               1.6.12          OK         -
 scanimage            Shell-Scanning            OPTIONAL        1.0             1.0.22          OK         -
 policykit            Admin-Policy-framework    OPTIONAL        -               0.105           OK         -
 xsane                SANE-GUI                  OPTIONAL        0.9             0.998           OK         -
 cups                 CUPS                      REQUIRED        1.1             1.6.2           OK         'CUPS Scheduler is running'

-------------------------
|  General Dependencies |
-------------------------

 reportlab            Python-PDF-Lib            OPTIONAL        2.0             2.5             OK         -
 libcrypto            OpenSSL-Crypto-Lib        REQUIRED        -               1.0.1           OK         -
 pil                  Python-Image-Lib          OPTIONAL        -               1.1.7           OK         -
 pyqt4-dbus           PyQt4-DBUS                REQUIRED        4.0             4.10.2          OK         -
 libjpeg              JPEG-Lib                  REQUIRED        -               -               OK         -
 libpthread           POSIX-Threads-Lib         REQUIRED        -               2.17            OK         -
 python-dbus          Python-DBUS               REQUIRED        0.80.0          1.2.0           OK         -
 python-devel         Python-SDK                REQUIRED        2.2             2.7.5           OK         -
 pyqt4                Python-Qt4                REQUIRED        4.0             4.10.2          OK         -
 cups-devel           CUPS-SDK                  REQUIRED        -               1.6.2           OK         -
 sane-devel           SANE-SDK                  REQUIRED        -               1.0.22          OK         -
 libusb               USB-Lib                   REQUIRED        -               1.0             OK         -
 sane                 Scan-Lib                  REQUIRED        -               1.0.22          OK         -
 cups-image           CUPS-Image-Lib            REQUIRED        -               1.6.2           OK         -
 libnetsnmp-devel     SNMP-Networking-SDK       REQUIRED        5.0.9           5.7.2           OK         -
 python-xml           Python-XML-Lib            REQUIRED        -               2.1.0           OK         -
 python-notify        Desktop-notifications     OPTIONAL        -               -               OK         -

------------------------------
|  Compile Time Dependencies |
------------------------------

 gcc                  gcc-Compiler              REQUIRED        -               4.8.1           OK         -
 libtool              Build-tools               REQUIRED        -               2.4.2           OK         -
 make                 GNU-Build-tools           REQUIRED        3.0             3.81            OK         -

----------------------
|  Python Extentions |
----------------------

 cupsext              CUPS-Extension            REQUIRED        -               3.13.4          OK         -
 pcardext             PhotoCard-Extension       REQUIRED        -               3.13.4          OK         -
 hpmudext             IO-Extension              REQUIRED        -               3.13.4          OK         -

-----------------------
|  Scan Configuration |
-----------------------

 hpaio                HPLIP-SANE-Backend        REQUIRED        -               3.13.4          OK         'hpaio found in /etc/sane.d/dll.conf'
 scanext              Scan-SANE-Extension       REQUIRED        -               3.13.4          OK         -
Debian sid / siduction KDE
dibl
 
Posts: 528
Joined: 2009-10-13 19:50
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby Magnusmaster » 2013-06-23 22:06

Thanks for the help anyway. I'll try to install hplip manually again to see if it works.
Magnusmaster
 
Posts: 168
Joined: 2010-06-12 22:50

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-12-26 14:35

I don't think your situation is at all the same, this topic was for Debian SID , 5 years ago.
It would be better for you to start a newtopic, include the details about your system, any error messages, etc. Things have changed a lot in the last 5 years.
You might be better off just using the current Debian stable, Stretch, the hplip packages have been tested, are up-to-date, etc. and should work much better
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby piperdan » 2018-12-26 14:54

GarryRicketson wrote:I don't think your situation is at all the same, this topic was for Debian SID , 5 years ago.
It would be better for you to start a newtopic, include the details about your system, any error messages, etc. Things have changed a lot in the last 5 years.
You might be better off just using the current Debian stable, Stretch, the hplip packages have been tested, are up-to-date, etc. and should work much better


Actually, the hplip package in Stretch is version 3.16 (not the latest).
To get my fairly new HP wireless printer to work in my Stretch install, I had to backport the latest hplip 3.18 packages, which worked for me.

Instructions for backports: https://backports.debian.org/Instructions/

Good Luck! 8)
User avatar
piperdan
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2018-07-29 01:57
Location: USA

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby GarryRicketson » 2018-12-26 15:34

Thanks, and hope this helps the OP,
I tried to find any solution. But, nothing worked.

Kind of hard to help when we don't know what they tried, but maybe the solution you show is one that they did not try.
User avatar
GarryRicketson
 
Posts: 5877
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Hplip doesn't work in sid

Postby stevepusser » 2018-12-26 17:41

Anne335 wrote:Hello friend, I am also having this issue. Since,I installed hplip it isn't working. I tried to find any solution. But, nothing worked. I hope, I will get a better solution here.


Garbage in, garbage out. That means you have to make at least a little effort to supply us with information about what Debian, printer, and the hplip version you're using. Santa didn't bring me a new crystal ball this Christmas.

This assumes that you're not some spambot.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11260
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable