HDMI Output not working correctly

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-19 21:57

I've been having problems with my hdmi output not working since I first installed debian on my laptop(probably 2 years now). The reason the output wasn't working is because I can't turn my onboard graphics off in my bios.
So I had a bright idea, why don't I just blacklist the i915 driver? So I did, I updated the initramfs and restarted my computer. It started up showed the startup sequence on my laptop screen, my dell monitor(vga output) and on the tv(hdmi output) but then the start up sequence froze on the hdmi output while the other 2 screens continued to work.
I do lspci -v and the i915 driver still shows up for the vga controller.
I don't have the nvidia drivers setup and I don't have an xorg.conf setup at the moment because I get the no screens error when I do.
What should I do?
What do you guys need to properly asses this problem?

previous stuff:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=109483 <--- I have no clue how I got the hdmi output working when I posted that thread.
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-21 02:08

bump....
Does anyone have an answer or any idea as to what I should do?
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-21 08:34

What laptop model? What graphics cards? Hybrid graphics? What graphics drivers have you installed? What version of Debian? What desktop environment?
Cheers!!!
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-21 21:32

hakerdefo wrote:What laptop model? What graphics cards? Hybrid graphics? What graphics drivers have you installed? What version of Debian? What desktop environment?
Cheers!!!

Asus N56VZ Intel® Core™ i7-3740QM CPU @ 2.70GHz × 8 64 bit
Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GT 650M]
I have the nouveau and i915 drivers installed
Debian GNU/Linux 7.5 (wheezy)
Gnome 3.4.2
In the details program, for graphics, it says Intel Ivybridge Mobile
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby milomak » 2014-06-21 21:52

is this an nvidia optimus laptop?

if my suspicion is correct, you can install bumblebee and see how that works, or start reading here to remove the intel card
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-22 00:37

milomak wrote:is this an nvidia optimus laptop?

if my suspicion is correct, you can install bumblebee and see how that works, or start reading here to remove the intel card

If I remember correctly, I may have broken my system last time I did tried to use bumblebee. So what I am going to do is install debian on one of my other SSD's and test some things out.
I tried transfering it but then grub broke. I've tried reinstalling grub onto the old one using the livecd method but to no avail.

Could I uninstall the i915 drivers? Then the computer would have to run off the nouveau drivers by default, right?
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby milomak » 2014-06-22 01:17

from what you posted of your laptop, it seemed to me that it was a nvidia optimus one.

i have a laptop that suffers the same. hence why i was able to provide the link of removing the intel driver.

that said, i never did remove the intel driver. i was just providing possibly useful information that i came across.
Last edited by milomak on 2014-06-22 01:23, edited 2 times in total.
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-22 01:20

milomak wrote:from what you posted of your laptop, it seemed to me that it was a nvidia optimus one.

i have a laptop that suffers the same. hence why i was able to provide the link of removing the intel driver.

that said, i never did remove the intel driver. i was just providing possibly useful information that i came across.

Well, I installed bumblee and the nvidia drivers.
The documentation states "Please note that this configuration will break Xorg on Optimus systems. For such hardware, see Bumblebee instead."
What does that mean? What am I supposed to do with bumblebee?
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby milomak » 2014-06-22 01:30

Sanzen wrote:
milomak wrote:from what you posted of your laptop, it seemed to me that it was a nvidia optimus one.

i have a laptop that suffers the same. hence why i was able to provide the link of removing the intel driver.

that said, i never did remove the intel driver. i was just providing possibly useful information that i came across.

Well, I installed bumblee and the nvidia drivers.
The documentation states "Please note that this configuration will break Xorg on Optimus systems. For such hardware, see Bumblebee instead."
What does that mean? What am I supposed to do with bumblebee?


where it says Bumblebee instead is there a link?
iMac - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-22 01:43

milomak wrote:
Sanzen wrote:
milomak wrote:from what you posted of your laptop, it seemed to me that it was a nvidia optimus one.

i have a laptop that suffers the same. hence why i was able to provide the link of removing the intel driver.

that said, i never did remove the intel driver. i was just providing possibly useful information that i came across.

Well, I installed bumblee and the nvidia drivers.
The documentation states "Please note that this configuration will break Xorg on Optimus systems. For such hardware, see Bumblebee instead."
What does that mean? What am I supposed to do with bumblebee?


where it says Bumblebee instead is there a link?

https://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDrivers#configure
in the configuration part, it says "Please note that this configuration will break Xorg on Optimus systems. For such hardware, see Bumblebee instead."
So I am guessing I need to configure a special xorg.conf but everytime I used to try, I would break it.
Can you help me out with that? I'm tired of breaking my system or getting stuck in fallback mode because I configured xorg wrong, but I so want this to work. And I know it can, its just a matter of how.
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-22 08:11

First make sure to remove intel driver from the blacklist. Also undo any changes that you have made.
The following is the recommended procedure to install optimus support in debian,
Enable wheezy backports.
Run as root,
Code: Select all
dpkg --add-architecture i386 && apt-get update && apt-get -t wheezy-backports install bumblebee-nvidia primus primus-libs:i386

During postinstall you will see a debconf prompt warning you that you need to create a xorg.conf file, Don't allow debconf to create a xorg.conf file. And don't run nvidia-xconfig ever.
After installation run following commands as root replacing 'name' with your username,
Code: Select all
usermod -a -G bumblebee,video name

Next edit '/etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf' using your text-editor as root and change,
Code: Select all
KernelDriver=nvidia

To
Code: Select all
KernelDriver=nvidia-current

Reboot your computer.
Cheers!!!
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-22 23:44

hakerdefo wrote:First make sure to remove intel driver from the blacklist. Also undo any changes that you have made.
The following is the recommended procedure to install optimus support in debian,
Enable wheezy backports.
Run as root,
Code: Select all
dpkg --add-architecture i386 && apt-get update && apt-get -t wheezy-backports install bumblebee-nvidia primus primus-libs:i386

During postinstall you will see a debconf prompt warning you that you need to create a xorg.conf file, Don't allow debconf to create a xorg.conf file. And don't run nvidia-xconfig ever.
After installation run following commands as root replacing 'name' with your username,
Code: Select all
usermod -a -G bumblebee,video name

Next edit '/etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf' using your text-editor as root and change,
Code: Select all
KernelDriver=nvidia

To
Code: Select all
KernelDriver=nvidia-current

Reboot your computer.
Cheers!!!

This put me into gnome 3 fallback mode. Now I've no idea what to do.
I tried opening the nvidia x server settings and I got a popup saying I'm not using the nvidia driver.
In the details program it says VESA: Intel® Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics for driver and the experience is "Fallback"
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-23 04:47

Post the output of the following as root,
Code: Select all
service bumblebeed status

Run this one as a normal user,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!
You Can't Always Git What You Want
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby Sanzen » 2014-06-23 22:51

hakerdefo wrote:Post the output of the following as root,
Code: Select all
service bumblebeed status

Run this one as a normal user,
Code: Select all
optirun pwd

Cheers!!!

Sorry for the late reply, work has been hectic. I appreciate the help you have been giving me.

Code: Select all
service bumblebeed status

gives this:
Code: Select all
[ ok ] bumblebeed is running.


Code: Select all
optirun pwd

gives this:
Code: Select all
[   73.761768] [ERROR]Cannot access secondary GPU - error: [XORG] (EE) No devices detected.

[   73.761917] [ERROR]Aborting because fallback start is disabled.



Edit: I found something that said I should edit the xorg.conf.nvidia from the bumblebee directory in /etc
It said to uncomment the line where it has my graphics cards bus id. I restarted and nothing happened.
Sanzen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

Postby hakerdefo » 2014-06-24 04:14

Please post the results of the following,
Code: Select all
lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'

Cheers!!!
You Can't Always Git What You Want
User avatar
hakerdefo
 
Posts: 256
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable