Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

HDMI Output not working correctly

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Message
Author
Sanzen
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#16 Post by Sanzen »

hakerdefo wrote:Please post the results of the following,

Code: Select all

lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'
Cheers!!!

Code: Select all

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107 [GeForce GT 650M] (rev a1)
I already changed the Bus ID to 01:00.0 in the /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia

User avatar
hakerdefo
Posts: 258
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#17 Post by hakerdefo »

In your '/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia' change the line,

Code: Select all

BusID "PCI:01:00.0"
to,

Code: Select all

BusID "PCI:01:00:0"
Save the file, reboot and then run,

Code: Select all

optirun pwd
Cheers!!!

Sanzen
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#18 Post by Sanzen »

hakerdefo wrote:In your '/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia' change the line,

Code: Select all

BusID "PCI:01:00.0"
to,

Code: Select all

BusID "PCI:01:00:0"
Save the file, reboot and then run,

Code: Select all

optirun pwd
Cheers!!!
alright, so I got a little bit of a smack in the face tonight. I was on the irc in #debian and apparently I've been running without the headers to my linux system

optirun pwd outputs /home/fubar


bumblebeed --debug

Code: Select all

 bumblebeed --debug
[  161.419660] [DEBUG]bbswitch has been detected.
[  161.419722] [INFO]Switching method 'bbswitch' is available and will be used.
[  161.419742] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  161.419760] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  161.419806] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  161.419835] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/nvidia
[  161.419854] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  161.419881] [DEBUG] pidfile: /var/run/bumblebeed.pid
[  161.419906] [DEBUG] xorg.conf file: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia
[  161.419929] [DEBUG] xorg.conf.d dir: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.d
[  161.419947] [DEBUG] ModulePath: /usr/lib/nvidia,/usr/lib/xorg/modules
[  161.419968] [DEBUG] GID name: bumblebee
[  161.419987] [DEBUG] Power method: auto
[  161.420037] [DEBUG] Stop X on exit: 1
[  161.420067] [DEBUG] Driver: nvidia
[  161.420088] [DEBUG] Driver module: nvidia-current
[  161.420110] [DEBUG] Card shutdown state: 1
[  161.420263] [DEBUG]Process /sbin/modprobe started, PID 3665.
[  161.420344] [DEBUG]Hiding stderr for execution of /sbin/modprobe
[  161.422072] [DEBUG]SIGCHILD received, but wait failed with No child processes
[  161.422126] [ERROR]Module 'nvidia-current' is not found.
so apparently nvidia-current isn't the driver. It must be "nvidia". So I change it back to nvidia and run bumblebeed --debug again and this:

Code: Select all

 bumblebeed --debug
[  265.858737] [DEBUG]bbswitch has been detected.
[  265.858797] [INFO]Switching method 'bbswitch' is available and will be used.
[  265.858818] [DEBUG]Active configuration:
[  265.858836] [DEBUG] bumblebeed config file: /etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf
[  265.858873] [DEBUG] X display: :8
[  265.858890] [DEBUG] LD_LIBRARY_PATH: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/nvidia:/usr/lib/nvidia
[  265.858926] [DEBUG] Socket path: /var/run/bumblebee.socket
[  265.858957] [DEBUG] pidfile: /var/run/bumblebeed.pid
[  265.858983] [DEBUG] xorg.conf file: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia
[  265.859004] [DEBUG] xorg.conf.d dir: /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.d
[  265.859024] [DEBUG] ModulePath: /usr/lib/nvidia,/usr/lib/xorg/modules
[  265.859046] [DEBUG] GID name: bumblebee
[  265.859066] [DEBUG] Power method: auto
[  265.859087] [DEBUG] Stop X on exit: 1
[  265.859109] [DEBUG] Driver: nvidia
[  265.859129] [DEBUG] Driver module: nvidia
[  265.859150] [DEBUG] Card shutdown state: 1
[  265.859306] [DEBUG]Process /sbin/modprobe started, PID 3678.
[  265.859400] [DEBUG]Hiding stderr for execution of /sbin/modprobe
[  265.861232] [DEBUG]SIGCHILD received, but wait failed with No child processes
[  265.861286] [DEBUG]Configuration test passed.
[  265.861387] [ERROR]Daemon already running, pid 2292
So.....what's the problem now? lol
Maybe the X Display? should I change it to 2?

User avatar
hakerdefo
Posts: 258
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#19 Post by hakerdefo »

What happens when you run,

Code: Select all

optirun pwd
Cheers!!!

Sanzen
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#20 Post by Sanzen »

hakerdefo wrote:What happens when you run,

Code: Select all

optirun pwd
Cheers!!!
optirun pwd

Code: Select all

/home/fubar

User avatar
hakerdefo
Posts: 258
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#21 Post by hakerdefo »

Well that means it's a success!
You can run games and applications with heavier graphics requirement via terminal like this,

Code: Select all

optirun <program-name>
Cheers!!!

User avatar
hakerdefo
Posts: 258
Joined: 2014-05-05 05:31

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#22 Post by hakerdefo »

And yes don't forget to thoroughly read the following,
Bumblebee Multi-monitor Setup
Cheers!!!

Sanzen
Posts: 21
Joined: 2013-01-13 23:20

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#23 Post by Sanzen »

hakerdefo wrote:And yes don't forget to thoroughly read the following,
Bumblebee Multi-monitor Setup
Cheers!!!
Thank You sooooooooooooooo much!!!!
I really appreciate the help!

mastyleki
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-02-08 15:41

Re: HDMI Output not working correctly

#24 Post by mastyleki »

Hi, I have the same problem
lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 591b (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] (rev a1)

There is no way to connect to the HDMI for a second monitor...it worked on ubuntu but Debian seems impossible...

Thanks in advance!

Post Reply